How To Get A Real Estate License In Nevada?

How Do I Get My Nevada Real Estate License?

  1. Step 1: Be at Least 18 Years of Age.
  2. Step 2: Register for the 90 Hours of Required Education.
  3. Step 3: Complete a Fingerprinting and Background Check.
  4. Step 4: Take the Nevada Real Estate Salesperson Licensing Exam.
  5. Step 5: Apply for Your Nevada Real Estate Salesperson License.

Contents

How fast can I get my real estate license in Nevada?

The biggest consideration is the time it takes to complete the Pre-Licensing coursework. Most students complete the education requirements in 3-4 months, while others complete the coursework in as little as a month.

What disqualifies you from getting a real estate license in Nevada?

You will be denied from obtaining your real estate license, or you may have an existing license revoked if you commit one of the following crimes: Forgery. Embezzlement. Obtaining money under fraudulent pretenses.

Can you get Nevada real estate license online?

The Works Nevada Real Estate Pre Licensing Online Only Course – The works pack includes the online only course and the test prep seminar through live instruction or via streaming video at a tuition of $199. The Online Course resources are available regardless of the option selected.

How long is the Nevada real estate exam?

The national portion of the Nevada Real Estate salesperson exam is comprised of 80 questions. In order to pass the exam an examinee must answer 60 out of the 80 questions correct to pass. The time limit allowed to complete the Real Estate Salesperson National Portion is 120 minutes.

How hard is the real estate exam in Nevada?

Remember, the Nevada real estate exam is hard to pass and over 50% fail the first time. Not only that, but it is expensive to try again. This course has everything you need to pass the first time at a price that is unmatched.

How much does the Nevada real estate exam cost?

Real Estate Exam They’ve been approved by the Nevada state real estate division to administer the test. The exam itself is $100, and you’ll have to get at least 75 percent of it correct in order to pass. Remember, the exam fee covers only one attempt.

How long does it take to become a real estate agent?

You can become a real estate agent in about four to six months, depending on where you live. Online prelicensing classes can speed up the process. Requirements vary by state, but the general steps are to take a real estate prelicensing course, take the licensing exam, activate your license, and join a brokerage.

Where can I take the Nevada real estate exam?

Testing can be scheduled through the Pearson VUE site OR via phone 888 248 8055. COVID 19 and Pearson VUE Testing in Nevada – The Pearson VUE testing center is a private 3rd party testing center. Though Key Realty School is not affiliated with Pearson testing, we are happy to provide public information that is known.

Is Real Estate Express accredited in Nevada?

All Real Estate Express courses are approved by the Nevada Real Estate Division. The 90 hours of pre-license education consists of 45 hours of Real Estate Principles and 45 hours of Real Estate Law (which includes 18 hours of Nevada law.) The state requires that your course final exam be proctored.

Does Nevada have real estate license reciprocity with other states?

Nevada State Reciprocity: Nevada has reciprocal agreements with the following states for real estate salesperson licenses: Arizona, Colorado, Delaware, Idaho, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Texas, Utah and West Virginia.

Is there math on the Nevada real estate exam?

The National portion of the Nevada licensing exam consists of approximately 8 to 10 questions directly related to real estate mathematics. The math exam prep seminar is offered once a month.

Is the Nevada real estate exam multiple choice?

A –The states testing company administers one final exam comprised of 120 multiple choice questions. This test contains 80 questions pertaining to National real estate principles and 40 questions pertaining to the state of Nevada’s real estate laws.

What does the Nevada real estate exam consist of?

The salesperson exam has two portions, general practice and State Law 80 general practice questions and 40 State Law questions. To determine a score a statistical procedure known as equating is used to correct for differences in form difficulty. The passing score of an examination was set after a comprehensive study.

Initial License Requirements

  1. Form 549
  2. Fingerprint Cards: one (1) fingerprint card and a cashier’s check or money order made payable to ” Department of Public Safety ” OR a verification form issued by an approved Fingerprint Vendor (Form 619)
  3. ApplicationForm 549
  4. Original state and national passing exam scores that were obtained during the recent 12 months. Within 30 days of application, a credit report will be completed
  5. In addition, you must provide documentation of 2 years of active full-time experience within the past 4 years (Form 509) and pay a $160.00 fee. Form 508 (Broker Checklist) should be reviewed. Education requirements are as follows:
  1. Proof of pre-licensing education must be provided in the form of verified transcripts or certificates. The following are the 64 semester college credits required:
  1. 45 hours or 3 college credits are equivalent to 45 hours. Real Estate Principles or licensed experience
  2. 45 hours or three college credits in real estate Experience in real estate law or as a licensed agent is required. (This must contain 18 hours of Nevada legal instruction from a Nevada institution)
  3. 45 hours or 3 college credits are equivalent to 45 hours. Take a real estate appraisal course or gain licensed appraisal experience. 45 hours or 3 college credits are equivalent to 45 hours. In addition to the Broker Management course (which is unique to Nevada), 15 college credits in other real estate-related courses such as business and economics
  4. Management
  5. Accounting, finance
  6. And marketing
  7. And 15 hours or 1 college credit in contracts in real estate transactions to the extent allowed in the capacity of the licensee are required.
  8. 15 hours or 1 college credit in agency, which must contain 3 hours of foundation of the relationship between the broker and the agent and 3 hours of risk reduction. (Licensed out-of-state candidates are not needed to attend this course. However, licensed candidates from other states are not obliged to complete this course.
  9. Credits for general college-level work from any accredited college or university include:
  1. First-time applicants who are not licensed receive 35 credits
  2. Licensed out-of-state candidates receive 37 credits.
  • Proving Your Experiential Qualifications: You may submit a combination of work experience and educational credentials in order to achieve the entire 64 semester credits requirement. If the work experience is not verified, college credits must be obtained.
  1. With the exception of the 45-hour Broker Management and the 18-hour Nevada real estate law courses, Nevada will grant 16 college credits for every two years of real estate licensed experience toward the education components of the licensing examination. The following credits are awarded for experience gained in two-year increments: 8 years is equal to 64 credits. Four years equals 32 credits. Six years equals forty-eight credits. 2 years = 16 credits
  2. 2 years = 16 credits You must provide confirmation that your experience was full-time and that your license is still valid. Please submit the following evidence:
  1. A copy of the original certified history of licensing (the history expires after 90 days)
  2. Form 509 (for experience as a salesperson or broker/salesman)
  3. And a copy of the original certified history of licensure. The experience must have taken place during the last 10 years
  4. The broker who was hiring at the time must verify the candidate’s experience.

Nevada schools that have been authorized are listed below (Form 502) For further in-depth licensing information, please see Form 501Exam Service (PDF) (Testing)

Becoming a Real Estate Agent in Nevada

Is there anything you’d want to know about the Nevada real estate exam? We’re here to assist you. The following are some of the most frequently asked questions about the real estate examination. Even if your concern isn’t addressed on this page, our Customer Support staff is available to assist you by live chat, email, or by phone at 888.827.0777. The team at iPass is committed to ensuring that you feel as prepared as possible for your forthcoming test. Purchase your Nevada Pre-Licensing Certificate »

Can you get a Nevada real estate license if you have a felony or misdemeanor?

Nevada Salesperson candidates must provide their fingerprints as part of the application process, and the state will conduct a background check on them. If you have a criminal record, it may be difficult for you to obtain a real estate license in the state of Nevada.

Can you get a Nevada real estate license online?

All Pre-Licensing courses can be completed online, but the education source must be certified by the Nevada Real Estate Division in order for it to be considered valid and effective. Visit this website on Nevada.gov for a full list of the state’s approved service and product suppliers.

How long does it take to get a real estate license in Nevada?

It takes an average of two to three months to obtain a Nevada Salesperson License, depending on a variety of circumstances. The most important factor to consider is the amount of time it will take to finish the Pre-Licensing curriculum. The majority of students finish their education requirements in 3-4 months, however some students complete their study in as short as a month. Following completion of the curriculum, there are a number of extra actions that must be taken into consideration. In addition to scheduling and completing the Nevada real estate exam, you will also need to complete the Nevada Salesperson application.

What are the requirements to get a Nevada real estate license?

In Nevada, there are relatively minimal qualifications to meet in order to become a real estate agent. Applicants must be over the age of 18 and willing to submit to a background check in order to be considered.

What courses are required for a Nevada real estate license?

Before getting their license, applicants must complete 90 hours of authorized Pre-Licensing instruction. This requirement applies to those who obtain their license before October 1st. After October 1, 2021, licensees will be required to complete 120 hours of pre-licensing education before they may be granted their license. Get detailed information on the many pre-license packages available and get started on your real estate career.

How old do you have to be to get your Nevada real estate license?

For you to be eligible for a Nevada real estate license, you must be at least 18 years old, according to the Nevada Real Estate Division.

Do you need to have a diploma or GED to get your Nevada real estate license?

For the Nevada Real Estate Division to consider you for a real estate license, you must show proof of successful completion of high school or an equivalent educational program. This comprises a high school diploma or a General Educational Development (GED).

You might be interested:  How To Get Your Real Estate License In Ny?

How much Continuing Education do I need as a Nevada real estate agent?

Every salesperson in Nevada is required to complete 24 hours of real estate training certified by the Nevada Real Estate Division before they can begin selling (only 12 hours can be taken online).

Every two-year license renewal term in Nevada necessitates the completion of continuing education courses. Continuing Education is also needed for brokers in Nevada every two-year license renewal term, albeit they are only allowed to complete 12 hours of it on the internet.

How much does it cost to get a Nevada real estate license?

The following are the fixed fees associated with obtaining a Nevada real estate license:

  • Nevada salesperson application price is $125
  • Technology charge for first and renewal licenses is $15
  • Nevada salesperson criminal background check fee is $40.25
  • Nevada salesperson test fee is $100
  • Nevada salesperson certification fee is $125.

What is the average salary for a Nevada real estate agent?

When determining typical real estate salary, a variety of criteria are taken into consideration, including the amount of real estate transactions completed each year and commission fees. According to ZipRecruiter.com, a full-time real estate salesman in Nevada may expect to earn between $50 and $98 per year on average. A Nevada real estate salesperson might make in excess of six figures per year if they are among the top earners in the state.

Does Nevada have real estate license reciprocity with any other states?

Nevada has reciprocity agreements with the following states: Arizona, Delaware, Illinois, Iowa, Louisiana, Oklahoma, Texas, Washington, Colorado, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Minnesota, South Carolina, Utah, and West Virginia. Arizona, Delaware, Illinois, Iowa, Louisiana, Oklahoma, Texas, and West Virginia. Individuals from these states will only need to attend one extra 18-hour course on Nevada law in order to complete their requirements. Before submitting an application for out-of-state license, agents should familiarize themselves with the available resources.

How Do I get a Real Estate License in NV

“How do I acquire a real estate license in Nevada?” or “Should I pursue a career in real estate?” are two questions that you may find yourself asking frequently. If this is the case, Key Realty School may be the ideal solution for you. Nevada real estate courses are available from Key Realty School, which may assist you in being licensed to practice real estate in the state of Nevada. Key Realty School, with its hands-on curriculum and knowledgeable instructors, is everything you should be searching for in a real estate school.

  1. Before a person may become a licensed real estate professional in the state of Nevada, the state of Nevada requires that he or she complete ninety hours of real estate education.
  2. Once the instruction period has over, a student can plan a time to sit for the Nevada real estate licensing examination.
  3. The exam is timed and includes a 30-minute break.
  4. You might be concerned about how students will complete the state’s 90-hour requirement.
  5. In the classroom or on their own time, Key Realty School provides a variety of options for students to complete their Nevada licensing and certification needs.
  6. In addition, we provide a blend of in-classroom and home study opportunities.
  7. We at Key Realty School aim to deliver the answers to anybody who has ever wondered, “How can I acquire a real estate license in Nevada?” We want to be the place where they can find the answers.

Key Realty School is the place to go the next time you’re wondering, “How can I acquire a real estate license in Nevada?” The answer is right here.

Nevada State Requirements: Salesperson

UPDATE OF IMPORTANCE: In order to be qualified to take their state licensing test and apply for a license, the Nevada Real Estate Division requires that students finish a 90-hour real estate salesperson pre-license course. As of October 1, 2021, the education requirement will rise from 90 hours to 120 hours each year of participation. In the case of previous education and training, Real Estate Express does not offer credit. Prior to October 1, 2021, you must finish the 90-hour course and submit a completed application to the Nevada Real Estate Commission in order to avoid being required to complete extra hours of educational requirements.

  • If an application is filed with missing or incomplete information before October 1, 2021, it will be denied, and the applicant will be required to complete the extra education hours.
  • Hours worked: 90 hours Nevada Real Estate Express Certification Course Hours Available: 90 hours per week APPLY RIGHT NOW!
  • Step 3.Complete a 90-hour Nevada real estate pre-license course that has been approved by the state.
  • Application for a Nevada real estate salesperson license is completed and submitted in Step 5.

How long does it take to get a Nevada real estate license?

Time required to obtain a Nevada real estate license varies depending on the pace at which you complete the 90 hours of pre-licensing coursework and pass your licensing examination, as well as the length of time it takes you to complete the application process and wait for the results of your background check and application.

What kind of information will I learn to help me get a real estate license in Nevada?

The Nevada Real Estate Division has authorized all of the Real Estate Express courses that are offered. The Nevada Real Estate License Exam will be available to you once you have finished the course requirements. According to Real Estate Express policy, salespersons must complete the 90-hour pre-license curriculum within six (6) months of the commencement date of the program. Pre-licensing education consists of 90 hours, including 45 hours of Real Estate Principles and 45 hours of Real Estate Law required for the first license (which includes 18 hours of Nevada law.) Your course final exam must be proctored according to state regulations.

Please see this link for more information on the proctoring procedure.

EXPLORE THE COURSES AND PACKAGES

How do I submit my fingerprints for the background check?

Applicants must submit a fingerprint verification form provided by a Fingerprint Vendor who has been approved by the department. Fingerprints are only valid for six (6) months after they are taken. You may get a list of authorized fingerprinting vendors by visiting this page.

How do I take the Nevada Salesperson licensing examination?

Candidates must register for an examination online at www.pearsonvue.com/nv/realestate in order to sit for the test. Those who pass one part of the test (which consists of both general and state components) but fail the other must repeat only the portion that they failed within twelve (12) months of passing the first time. Candidates who have not passed both components of the examination after twelve (12) months must repeat the full examination. For the exam to be considered successful, the state needs a score of at least 75%.

How do I submit my Nevada Salesperson application?

As part of their application, applicants who currently hold or have held a real estate license within the past ten (10) years in any state must submit a certified license history issued by the state in which they currently hold or previously held a real estate license, as well as proof of completion of a pre-licensing course and a passing score on the licensing examination. The history must be dated within ninety (90) days of the date on which your application was submitted. A waiver form from the Nevada Department of Public Safety is also required to be completed by applicants and must be included to the application.

Any applications filed on or after October 1, 2021, must include a minimum of 130 hours of educational experience in the field.

Does Nevada offer reciprocity?

Nevada has agreements in place with the following states at this time:

  • Arizona, Colorado, Delaware, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Washington, and West Virginia are among the states that have signed on to the agreement.

Out-of-state candidates must submit the following documents in addition to the standard application form:

  1. Certified license history dated within ninety (90) days of the application submission date
  2. Proof of passing scores on the Nevada state and general licensing exams obtained within the previous twelve (12) months of the application submission date Fingerprint verification form issued by a Fingerprint Vendor who has been authorised
  3. If you are not a Nevada resident, you must provide the notarized “Consent to serve of process.”

Regulatory Notes:

Limitations: Real Estate Express does not provide aid with job placement. Anyone participating in our program should be aware that job placement is neither guaranteed nor promised. The person who signs the enrollment agreement certifies that he or she has received a copy of the current catalog and enrollment agreement, as well as that he or she has read and understood the papers, and that the catalog is a part of the enrollment agreement. Obtaining a Certificate of Completion of the Course: When you have successfully completed the course and have been verified to have met the proctored test criteria, Real Estate Express will award you with an electronic certificate of completion in your account dashboard.

Because course completion dates are recorded in Central Standard Time, the time shown on your certificate will be the same as the time shown on your certificate.

The following is the website for the State of Nevada’s Real Estate Division: The following phone numbers and fax numbers are available: (702) 486-4033 and (702) 486-4275. The following address is in Las Vegas, Nevada: 3300 W. Sahara Ave., Suite 350, Las Vegas, Nevada 89102. APPLY RIGHT NOW

How Do You Become a Real Estate Agent in Las Vegas, Nevada

Real estate is a thriving industry that, for those who are devoted and industrious, may be a terrific road to financial independence. People will always have a need for housing, thus there will always be some form of market accessible, regardless of what occurs. Like purchasing a property, becoming a real estate agent, on the other hand, involves meticulous planning, dedication, and financial responsibility on the part of the one making the decision to do so. In order to work as an agent in Nevada, you must first complete your education and obtain your license.

Learn all you need to know about the cost of real estate school, as well as what it takes to begin your career as a licensed real estate agent in Nevada.

Finding a School

To figure out how much it will cost you to attend real estate school, you must first decide which school you want to attend. It is possible to attend certain institutions that have traditional classrooms, while others provide home-study or online courses. Sometimes you’ll discover colleges that provide a combination of the two, and every now and then you’ll find a school that offers all three. Most schools will incur a fee ranging from $200 to $600, depending on their needs. There are a few characteristics you should look for in a prospective real estate school to ensure that it can provide you with the training you want.

After that, though, you must choose a school that will continue to work with you even after you have completed your primary course of study.

Background Check and Fingerprinting

Because real estate is a highly regulated business, you’ll need to have a spotless criminal record in order to be certified. For this to be possible, you must pass a background check and have your fingerprints taken. Because most schools make it simple by having fingerprinting services come to the school, it is not uncommon for students to forget their identification. Unlike a background check, which is only active in terms of expense, a background check is fully passive. Remember that this verification is only valid for around six months, so be sure to complete it as soon as you can as you reach the completion of your education.

Real Estate Exam

After you’ve completed the required number of credit hours of education in line with Nevada requirements, you’ll be able to sit for the real estate examination. This is the final roadblock in the process of earning a real estate license. It is necessary to first register with Pearson Vue in order to sit for the test. In order to give the exam, they have been granted permission by the Nevada state real estate division. The exam itself costs $100, and you’ll need to get at least 75% of the questions accurate in order to receive a passing grade.

If you fail the exam and are required to retake it, you will be required to pay the exam cost once again.

Some schools incorporate exam preparation as part of their regular real estate education, while others do not. Keep this in mind while comparing the expenses of different types of education.

Brokerage Fees

In Nevada, you’ll have to work for several years under the supervision of an employing broker before the procedure is complete. They are mostly responsible for your day-to-day business expenditures, such as copying and maintaining an internet connection at your office, as well as providing insurance against errors and omissions (E&O) liability. It is necessary for you to work with one of these brokers in order to obtain your license since you will require their training and supervision, as well as their signature on your licensing application.

A monthly desk charge will be required in order to continue to use their services on a monthly basis.

In addition, the fees charged by different brokers might differ significantly.

Applying at the Real Estate Division

This is the final stage in the procedure, and it is the submission of your application. A one-year license will cost you $125, so be prepared to pay that amount up ahead. When you apply, you’ll need to present all of the required documentation, including a copy of your school certificate, fingerprints and a background check, as well as the results of each exam you took. Nothing further can be done once your application has been submitted to the real estate division other than wait for a response.

While you’re waiting, your broker can assist you in setting up your business so that you can legally practice real estate.

Ongoing Costs

The final step in the procedure is actually submitting your application to the appropriate authorities. The cost of a one-year license is $125, so be prepared to pay that amount up front. In order to be considered, you must present all of the required documentation, which includes your high school diploma, fingerprinting, a background check, and passing scores for each exam. Nothing further can be done after your application has been submitted to the real estate division but wait. If they’re on top of things, your broker will have your physical license in hand in as little as two weeks, although it can occasionally take up to two months.

Century 21 Americana Real Estate School

In the city of Las Vegas, the Century 21 Americana Real Estate School is the ideal place to go if you want to learn how to become a licensed real estate salesperson. For just $395, you may complete our 120-hour Nevada Pre-Licensing Course, which includes all textbooks (pay only $195 if you register by December 31, 2021!).

12 Months from the date of purchase). It is expected that you will attend 15 classroom sessions for a total of 45 hours of live teaching, in addition to 45 hours of guided home study, during this course. Make contact with us immediately to begin your road toward a successful real estate profession.

Nevada Real Estate Licensing FAQs and Requirements

Continuing education requirements for salespeople and brokers in Nevada are as follows: 30 hours of continuing education for the first licensing cycle, and 24 hours for each subsequent licensing cycle.

  • In order to obtain a license, you must complete three hours each of Agency Law, Contracts Law, Ethics Law, and Law Legislation, as well as eighteen hours of general courses (a maximum of 3 hours in personal development). At least 15 of these 30 hours must be completed through live teaching
  • For successive renewals, the standards for Salespersons and Brokers are slightly different than those for other license types. A total of 24 hours of continuing education courses are needed for all licenses each year.
  • In addition to general courses, salespersons must take three hours each of Agency, Contracts, Ethics, and Law, as well as twelve hours of general courses
  • Brokers must take three hours each of Agency and Law. contracts, ethics, and broker management
  • And a total of 12 hours in general education.
You might be interested:  What Is Subrogation In Real Estate?

Half of your continuing education may be accomplished online, but only half of it should be.

When do I need to renew my Nevada real estate license?

Those who hold Nevada real estate salesperson or broker licenses have two years from the date of their initial licensing to renew their credentials. The expiration date is stated on your license, or you may look it up using your license number on theLicense Lookup website.

How do I renew my Nevada real estate license?

The Renewal Application (Form 580) must be postmarked and sent, hand-delivered, or completed online (Online Services) before the license’s expiration date. Renewals must be received 45 days or fewer before the renewal date in order to be considered.

How much does it cost to renew my Nevada real estate license?

Renewal applicationForm 580 | $180 | Salesperson – Renewal application $200 | Renewal applicationForm 580 (Broker of Broker-Salesperson) $220

I missed the due date for my Nevada real estate license renewal, can I still renew?

Yes. A license that has expired may be renewed with a penalty for a period of up to 12 months after the expiration date. While your license has expired and has not been renewed, you are not permitted to engage in licensed activity. Form 580 should be used to renew a license that has expired (Application for Renewal of Real Estate License). It is deemed closed when you fail to renew your license within 12 months of the expiration date. For an original license, a new application must be filed together with updated test results, updated fingerprint verification, and any other paperwork that was necessary for the original license.

Do I have to complete any continuing education if my Nevada real estate license is inactive?

The submission of continuing education certificates is not needed for licensees who are on inactive status. However, in order to keep an inactive license current, the license must be renewed and the associated payments must be paid.

Does Nevada have reciprocity with other states?

Yes. An applicant who currently possesses a valid real estate license in another state may be eligible for the Nevada Salesperson License if they fulfill the other requirements. In addition to the information about the state and licensing levels stated below, the following information is necessary:

  • Form 549
  • A certified license history
  • A passing certificate from the Nevada real estate law test
  • And more. a copy of the fingerprints
  • Form 656 is filled out by a non-resident. Non-citizens must present a copy of their current work permit, permanent residency card, visa, or other documentation. Certificates of completion of educational programs are not necessary.

In order to be eligible for the reciprocal Nevada Salesperson license, applicants must have a current Salesperson or higher level real estate license in one of the states mentioned below:

  • Arizona, Colorado, Delaware, Idaho, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Texas, Utah, and West Virginia are among the states represented.

Candidates with a current broker, broker-associate broker, or broker-salesperson license in one of the states mentioned below are eligible to apply for a reciprocal Nevada Real Estate Salesperson license.

  • AZ, CA, CO, CT, DE, DC, FL, Idaho
  • KY
  • LA
  • ME
  • MD
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • NJ, NM, NY
  • OR
  • PA
  • RI
  • TEXAS
  • UTAH
  • VA, WV

Want to obtain a real estate license?

  1. Who is responsible for enforcing the laws and guidelines governing real estate brokers
  2. What sorts of licenses are accessible
  3. What options are available. What are the prerequisites for obtaining a license
  4. What level of schooling is necessary
  5. Is previous experience required? Exactly how much does it cost to become a licensed real estate agent? What is the benefit of becoming a broker-salesman as opposed to a salesperson
  6. And

Who enforces the laws and rules for real estate agents?

Each state has its own set of licensing regulations and standards that are unique to it. Real estate agents in Nevada are required to receive a license from the Nevada Real Estate Division. If you’re in Las Vegas, you may reach them at 702-486-4033. Form 501, which may be obtained on the Real Estate Division’s website, can be of assistance.

Back to Top

There are three different licenses available. The different kinds are as follows: Individuals interested in selling new time shares can get a Time Share Sales Agent license, which is also accessible.

Back to Top

In order to become a real estate broker, candidates must complete real estate pre-licensing courses, pass a state examination, locate a Broker with whom to hang his or her license, complete an application, and have their fingerprints taken. During the application process, the Division will look into any criminal records or past real estate violations that the applicant may have.

Back to Top

It all depends on the type of license you’re seeking for. All new salespeople must provide proof of completing a 120-hour pre-licensing course that includes the following topics:

  • 30-hour contracts and agency
  • 45-hour principles and practices
  • 45-hour real estate law, which includes 18-hours of Nevada law
  • And 45-hour contracts and agency.

Candidates who are currently licensed in other jurisdictions who are also pursuing a Nevada real estate license may not be subject to the 120-hour requirement at this time, depending on the circumstances. Only for candidates who are licensed out of state: 501 (c) (3) Applicants who have completed a 90-hour course consisting of 45-hours of Principles and Practices and 45-hours of Real Estate Law in a state other than Nevada are typically only required to complete 18-hours of Nevada law from a licensed school in order to become a salesperson, or both the 18-hour Nevada law and the 45-hour Broker Management course if they are applying for a broker or broker-salespersons license and have also completed the remainder of the requirements.

Additionally, applicants for the positions of Broker and Broker/Salesperson must demonstrate completion of 64 college credits and a 45-hour Broker Management course; the 64-college credit requirement includes 24 credits in real estate and business related topics and 40 credits in anything, or eight years of full-time experience in real estate or a combination of real estate and business.

In the United States, each two-year of experience is equivalent to 16 college credits.

Back to Top

To become a Broker, you must have at least two years of full-time experience. Broker-salespeople can continue to operate in this capacity until they have obtained the required two-years of experience. It is possible for a broker-salesperson to upgrade to a broker’s license without having to retest.

Back to Top

The associated expenses are as follows:

  • $299 for the requisite Nevada schooling
  • $100 for the state examination
  • And around $140 for the salesperson’s commission. Broker/Broker-Salesperson license application price of $160
  • Roughly $80 for fingerprinting (varies depending on the vendor)
  • Advertising fees (varies)
  • Office fees (varies – shop around)
  • And other expenses (varies).
Back to Top

A broker/salesperson has previously passed the broker’s state examination, rather than the salesperson’s state test, indicating that they are qualified to do business in that state. If the licensee decides to pursue a career as a broker in the future, after gaining the required 2-years of full-time experience, the applicant will not be required to retake the state test because he or she has previously passed the state examination. To become a broker, the licensee must submit an application for an upgrade.

Back to Top

The Approved Course is financed by its readers. If you make a purchase after clicking on one of our affiliate links, we may receive a small commission. The real estate industry will continue to be in high demand for the foreseeable future. It is a rewarding career option for individuals who are devoted and prepared to put in the necessary effort. In whatever economic climate, there will always be a need for homes, which will provide excellent chances for experts to fill those needs. Making the decision to become a real estate agent requires careful consideration and dedication as you progress through the many stages of becoming a professional expert.

An established procedure is followed in order to complete the process of becoming a licensed real estate agent.

It is the purpose of this article to explain the steps involved in obtaining a Nevada real estate license. You’ll get an understanding of what to expect in terms of prices, tests, regulations, and the various other aspects involved in obtaining a professional license. Let’s get started right away!

Requirements To Obtain a Nevada Real Estate License

The general prerequisites for obtaining a real estate license in Nevada may be stated in five steps, which are listed below:

Step 1: Legal Status and Minimum Education

To work as a real estate agent, you must be at least 18 years old, a citizen or permanent resident of the United States, and possess a high school diploma or an equivalent educational qualification.

Step 2: Complete 90 Hours of Education in a Nevada-Approved School

You must enroll in and complete 90 hours of education courses recognized by the Nevada Real Estate Division before you may sell your home. Your application will not be considered complete until you produce certificates of completion for the following curriculum:

  • Principles of Real Estate is worth three college credits or 45 hours of classroom time. A minimum of 18 hours of Nevada-specific law is covered by three college credits, or 45 hours, of Law in Real Estate. Applicants must complete pre-licensing courses, which may be accepted from another state that recognizes reciprocity. After receiving a license in Nevada, you must complete 30 hours of post-licensing education.

While there are numerous alternatives available for finishing your real estate education, there are certain things to consider. You’ll need to enroll in a Nevada real estate school that has been approved by the state of Nevada before you can begin your studies. Many companies provide a variety of package alternatives that range in terms of pricing and service.

Step 3: Complete a Background Check and Fingerprinting

The Nevada Department of Public Safety will need you to submit a background check as well as your fingerprints. Real estate agents are required by the state to submit to a thorough examination in order to rule out any potential criminal activity that may result in them being barred from operating in the business. In order to be authorized for a real estate license, you must not have a criminal record that includes convictions for crimes such as grand larceny or theft. The state of Nevada maintains a list of approved contractors that are able to conduct background checks and fingerprinting on behalf of the state.

It is necessary for you to submit your real estate agent application within 90 days after the completion of your background investigation and fingerprints.

It’s critical for you to plan ahead of time in order to minimize delays and unnecessary costs down the road.

Step 4: Pass the Nevada Real Estate Salesperson Licensing Exam

In order to pass the Nevada Real Estate Salesperson Licensing Exam, your school will provide you with the information and practice you need. You will need to register for the exam on the internet or in person at the provider’s office. Any reputable institution will be able to advise you on the schedule and procedure for registering for the exam. You will find it beneficial to seek further instruction if you believe it is required. The exam can be challenging because there are numerous right answers and you will have to choose which one is the best.

In order to be eligible for a Nevada real estate license, you must have passed both the Nevada and National examinations within the previous 12 months.

When you apply for your license, you will be required to provide documentation that you passed the exam. If you already hold a license in another state, you are not required to retake the national test, but you must provide documentation of your certification.

Step 5: Apply for the Nevada Real Estate Salesperson License

The charge for applying for a license in Nevada is $125, and you must meet all of the requirements before you can submit your application. In the Real Estate Division of the Nevada Department of Business and Industry, you’ll fill out form 549, which is required by law. Make that you have documentation demonstrating that you have met all of the requirements for submitting your license. Choosing an excellent real estate school can help you navigate through the whole process.

What to Expect From the Nevada Real Estate Exam

A total of 80 general practice questions and 40 questions pertaining to Nevada state law comprise the Nevada salesperson real estate test, which is divided into two halves. It is scored on a scale from 0 to 100, with a passing score of 75 being considered successful. You’ll have four hours to complete a computer-generated exam, which will be administered online. A government-issued photo ID and another form of documentation with your signature will be required; one of the documents must be government-issued.

The following subjects are covered in detail in the general part of the exam:

  • Real language, features of properties, ownership, limitations, and transfer are all discussed in detail. Ownership, transfer, and registration of title in many forms
  • Appraisal and valuation of real estate
  • Commercial real estate brokerage and contracting
  • Working in the real estate industry as an agent concerns pertaining to the environment and disclosures pertaining to the property Settlement and financing of real estate transactions
  • Calculations and mathematics in the real estate industry

The following items are included in the state segment of the exam:

  • Powers and responsibilities of the commission
  • Licensing requirements
  • The agency
  • License practice
  • Disclosures
  • Contracts
  • Recordkeeping
  • And special subjects are covered. Preparation for Exam Day
You might be interested:  What Is A General Agent In Real Estate? (Solved)

The ability to remain cool is the most critical aspect in having a successful exam day. Consider the possibility of passing the exam and becoming a certified real estate agent. These suggestions will assist you in reaching your goal:

  • Make use of as many practice examinations as you are able. Perfect practice leads to perfection. Begin with questions that you are already familiar with. Preferably, save the more difficult questions for last
  • Before reading the question, go through all of the answers one more time. You’ll retain important words and concepts that will aid you in better understanding the question
  • It’s not okay to go back and amend your response after you’ve answered a question. Follow your instincts and have faith that the first response you come up with is right
  • Concentrate solely on each response and do not let your attention wander to your overall performance. Continue to take things one step at a time.

Nevada State Reciprocity

In the United Jurisdictions, the real estate boards and commissions make it easier for licensed real estate agents in one state to get licenses in other states by allowing them to transfer their credentials. These are welcome developments for those who want the flexibility to work in numerous states or migrate elsewhere. The state of Nevada has reciprocity agreements in place for real estate salesperson licenses with the states listed below:

Arizona Louisiana
Colorado Minnesota
Delaware South Carolina
Idaho Texas
Illinois Utah
Indiana Washington
Iowa West Virginia
Kentucky

When you’re ready to submit your application in Nevada, double-check the state policy to see whether this list has been changed. Your existing state license must be in good standing in order to be valid in another state.

Continuing Education (CE) and License Renewal

You must renew your Nevada real estate salesperson license every four years in order to keep your license active. Every two years, you will be required to complete 24 hours of continuing education, which will include 12 hours of core courses (three on ethics, three on contracts, and three on laws and legislation). In addition, you must complete 12 hours of electives. It is required that you visit a classroom setting for at least 12 of the 24 continuing education hours, with the remaining hours being completed online.

Nevada’s Different Types of Real Estate Licenses

As you become more involved in the fast-paced world of Nevada real estate, you’ll want to be sure you comprehend the big picture. There are three different types of Nevada real estate licenses available on the market:

  1. Licenses for agents and salespeople, broker-agent licenses, and broker licenses are all available.

You will be able to conduct different duties depending on the type of license you have.

If you live in the state of Nevada, you will find that each license operates in the following ways:

1. Agent/Salesperson License

This sort of license is the very minimum needed for representing sellers and purchasers in real estate transactions under the law in the housing market. The license demands that the applicant complete 90 hours of real estate education, which must include fundamental concepts as well as federal and state rules. Despite the fact that you will be assisting in real estate transactions, you will be required to operate under the supervision of a Nevada real estate broker.

2. Broker-Salesperson License

This sort of license requires a person to finish 64 college courses as well as eight years of industry experience in order to be granted. Individuals who want to manage a branch office can sit for the real estate broker test. A person will be eligible to become a broker after gaining two years of relevant experience. Those who want to move quickly through the field may opt to take this exam first and then finish their two years of experience before applying for the agent or salesperson license.

3. Broker License

Individuals who get this license are permitted to work independently as well as to employ agents to perform work on their behalf under their license. This is an excellent option for people who want to start their own real estate firm. It requires you to have worked as an agent/salesperson or broker-salesperson for at least two years on a full-time basis. In addition, you will need to complete a 45-hour broker management training course. Individuals who hold any of the three types of Nevada licenses are required to renew them every two years.

How to Get Your Real Estate License Faster

When you make the decision to obtain your real estate license, you’ll have a long-term strategy in place that outlines the steps you’ll take. As long as you put some thinking into it, you will have a smooth transition from one job to another. You may expedite the process of receiving your real estate license by following a few simple guidelines, which we’ll go over in more detail below:

  • When you’re ready to start working as a real estate agent, start prospecting the firms in your neighborhood that you believe you might like to join forces with in the future. In the state of Nevada, you must work under the supervision of an employer broker. The employer will take care of your daily expenses, such as insurance for omissions and mistakes, company overhead charges, internet service, and any other expenses you will spend while conducting business.

To begin the process of obtaining your license, you will be needed to work under the supervision of a broker who will provide their expertise, experience, and Nevada real estate training. They will provide their approval for your licensing application. Brokers incur fees in order to make it easier for real estate agents to complete deals. Every month, you are expected to pay a desk fee in order to cover the costs of the services provided by a broker. Each broker may charge a different price, which is why it’s a good idea to look into a few different possibilities and compare the advantages and disadvantages of the companies you’re considering.

Find a broker who understands the difficulties that rookie real estate agents face and who is ready to work with you to establish a fee that will assist you in starting your profession.

  • Compile All of Your Documentation: Once you’ve determined which papers you’ll need, make sure everything is arranged and preserved in a location where you can readily get what you need at any point in the future, if necessary. Check to check if any pieces of identification or other documentation are out of date, and be sure you have them updated

Check your list of prerequisites one more time.

Once you’ve determined exactly what you’ll need, putting everything in one place will guarantee that you’re prepared when it comes time to submit your application.

  • Get a copy of your criminal history report: Even if you are confident that you have not committed any crimes, identity theft might occur. Obtaining a background check in advance will give you the opportunity to amend an inaccurate report with the proper agencies. Fortunately, this is an uncommon occurrence, but knowing precisely what your background check will reveal before applying for your real estate license may be quite comforting. It is simply another step in ensuring that the processing of your application proceeds as smoothly as possible. Prepare a Checklist with a Timeline that includes the following items: Having all of your documentation ready is essential
  • However, it is as crucial to ensure that all of your documents have the right date printed on them. Some goods must be obtained within 90 days of the date of your application submission. By creating a timetable, you will increase your chances of meeting all of your requirements within the time frame you have set.

Jordan Fabel

The various ‘paths’ that people’s life can take are covered in this section. You get the picture: imaginative, foster parent, ticket dismissal, etc. Examining the prerequisites, certifications, examinations, and, of course, authorized courses that are associated with each route. Personally, I am the high school dropout son of two teachers who raised me in the public education system. So, how did I come to this point? That tale will be released very soon!

Related Learning Opportunities

Every day, more and more real estate agents make the decision that they desire the financial benefits of operating their own agency. Obtaining a broker’s license is a significant step in the advancement of any real estate agent’s profession. Any Nevada-based realtor who wants to earn their broker’s license and start their own business will find the entire list of prerequisites for doing so at the bottom of this page.

Nevada Real Estate Broker’s License Requirements

  • Age of majority is 18 years or older. High school diploma or GED equivalent
  • Evidence of successful completion of Pre-License Education
  • It is necessary to complete 64 semester college credits. 45 hours or 3 college credits are equivalent to 45 hours. Real Estate Principles or a license in the field of real estate 45 hours or 3 college credits are equivalent to 45 hours. Experience in real estate law or as a licensed agent is required. (18 hours of Nevada law delivered at a state school are included in this total). 45 hours or three college credits in a Real Estate Appraisal course or three years of licensed appraisal experience
  • 45 hours or 3 college credits are equivalent to 45 hours. Broker Management course (which is tailored to Nevada)
  • 15 college credits in business, economics, management, accounting, finance, and marketing, or equivalent licensed experience
  • 37 college-level units from any college, military institution, technical school, or licensed work experience is acceptable. Please submit a private financial statement to us. Proof of experience can be provided in the form of a mix of work experience and educational transcripts in order to fulfill the 64 semester credits requirement. If the work experience is not verified, college credits must be obtained. The state of Nevada will provide 16 college credits for every two years of real estate licensed experience, with the exception of the 45-hour Broker Management and 18-hour Nevada real estate legal courses
  • For every two years of real estate licensed experience

Experience in two year increments are granted the following credits:

8 years is equal to 64 credits. Four years equals 32 credits. Six years equals forty-eight credits. a period of two years equals sixteen credits You must submit a form verifying your previous work experience. You must provide Fingerprint cards together with a cashier’s check or money order made payable to “Department of Public Safety” OR a verification form issued by a Fingerprint Vendor who has been approved by the Department of Public Safety. Fees: Fee for the examination ($100). Licensing fees ($145).

Exam

Brokers must pass 80 general practice questions as well as 50 State Law questions in order to pass the exam. You will have a total of 4 hours to finish the exam if you start early. Source

How to Run a Successful Brokerage

One thing all successful real estate brokerages have in common is that they are well-organized. Organizing and maintaining consistency in their workflow is a top priority. This allows business owners to keep track of their transactions, conclude agreements more quickly, and keep everyone pleased, including their employees and customers. The Real Estate commission software from Empasys Software is an excellent tool for accomplishing this; it will give mission-specific capabilities that will entirely automate your brokerage operation.

  • Sort through paperwork in a timely manner
  • Provide a regular and manageable flow of information. Lead creation
  • Closing and accounting
  • Beneficial integrations
  • And more. Direct connection to the Multiple Listing Service (MLS)

In order to assist brokers in saving time managing day-to-day operations, gaining thorough insight into production data, and remaining in compliance with all real estate rules, our primary aims are as follows: There will be no more pondering how to set up commission schemes, manage sliding scales, or create realestate checklists in your business. Emphasys Software’s time-tested solution is ideal for meeting all of your company’s requirements, as well as additional requirements.

Business License Instruction Sheet

City of Las VegasDepartment of Planning Business Licensing Division 495 S. Main St Las Vegas, NV 89101
Real Estate Business comprised of one independent contractor working under contract as an independent contractor for a Real Estate Broker.
1. A new real estate salesperson located in the city of Las Vegas who has received a new Nevada Real Estate Division license needs to apply for a city of Las Vegas business license within 30 days of the date on the NRED license.Existing Nevada Real Estate Division (NRED) salespeople that are relocating to the City of Las Vegas should be applying 30 days prior to their relocation and need to have their City of Las Vegas business license active on the day they start under the new broker.A real estate salesperson located in the city of Las Vegas and who is relocating to another office and has an existing Nevada Real Estate Division license needs to submit a change of location application 30 days prior to moving.
2. Confirm the proposed business location is within the Las Vegas city limits and properly zoned for this activity, if applicable. For information on planning, zoning, and building requirements, call (702) 229-6301 or visit City Hall, 495 S. Main St., Las Vegas, Nevada 89101.
3. Obtain a Real Estate License from the Real Estate Division of the Nevada Department of BusinessIndustry. Call (702) 486-4033 for additional information.The Real Estate Division is located at 2501 East Sahara Avenue, Ste. 300, Las Vegas, Nevada, 89104.
4. Provide proof of compliance with the Nevada Secretary of State located at 2250 Las Vegas Boulevard North, North Las Vegas, Nevada 89030.For additional information call (702) 486-2880 or visit their website at www.nvsilverflume.gov.Provide proof of compliance with the Nevada Department of Taxation located at 555 East Washington Avenue, Suite 1300, Las Vegas, Nevada 89101.For additional information call (866) 962-3707 or visit their website at www.nvsilverflume.gov.
5. Real Estate Salesman acting as independent contractors must provide a copy of their written agreement between the broker and salesmen in accordance with Nevada State regulations.
6. 30 days prior to commencing business, apply on-line at
7. Total fees due with the application are $200($150 license fee + $50 processing fee).If your business is approved for operation from your home and you reside in the city limits of Las Vegas an additional one time fee of $50 is required for a Home Occupation Permit. Make check payable to CITY OF LAS VEGAS.
8. Business license applications are sent to the Planning Department and Fire Department for review and inspection, if applicable.Upon approval from these agencies and completion of all items listed above, the Business Licensing Division will issue your business license.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *