How To Become Real Estate Agent Florida? (Solution found)

The Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC) requires completion of the following steps in order to receive a Real Estate Salesperson License in Florida.

  1. Complete 63 Hours of Approved Education.
  2. Pass the Course Final Exam.
  3. Submit Fingerprints.
  4. Complete the Licensing Application.
  5. Pass the Florida Real Estate Exam.

How to become real estate agent in 5 steps?

  • How to Become a Real Estate Agent in 5 Steps Take a pre-licensing course. States require people to take pre-licensing training from a certified institution before they can sit for the real estate licensing exam. Take the licensing exam. Revisit your state real estate commission’s website for instructions on how to sign up to take the licensing exam. Active your real estate agent license. More items

Contents

How long does it take to get a real estate license Florida?

It takes 63 hours of real estate coursework to become an agent, while a broker license takes 72 hours and two years of practical experience. Coursework for both licenses is valid for two years after completion. Both licenses require passing a final exam and undergoing a background check.

How much does it cost to get a real estate license in Florida?

The licensing fee for a Florida Real Estate Sales Associate is $83.75. The fee to take the exam is $36.75. Other costs associated with getting your license may include fingerprinting fees and Pre-Licensing course tuition, which can vary depending on the course package and school.

How hard is it to become a realtor in Florida?

Getting your Florida real estate license is not easy – the Florida real estate exam is difficult! Our data shows the pass rate is around 50-60% at the first attempt.

How much do new real estate agents make in Florida?

While ZipRecruiter is seeing salaries as high as $128,412 and as low as $16,896, the majority of First Year Real Estate Agent salaries currently range between $44,352 (25th percentile) to $87,860 (75th percentile) with top earners (90th percentile) making $109,403 annually in Florida.

Is real estate a good career in Florida?

Earning Potential: Becoming a real estate agent in Florida is a profession with amazing earning potential. Expecting to arrive at the $100K annual salary benchmark is absolutely within reason. It all depends on how competitive and committed you are to developing your career potential.

How do I become a real estate agent with no experience?

Real estate schools offer courses that will allow you to add the necessary skills that will need to find a job in the industry, even without experience.

  1. Review Online Job Boards.
  2. Talk to a Broker.
  3. Apartment Locators.
  4. Visit a Real Estate School.
  5. Get a License.

What disqualifies you from being a real estate agent in Florida?

What Felonies Will Exclude You From Becoming a Real Estate Agent? Whether or not you can get a real estate license in Florida boils down to is the type of felony you committed and how long ago it occurred. A moral turpitude felony, or a crime against a minor or elder, or a sexual crime is likely a deal-breaker.

Is the Florida real estate exam open book?

The Florida Real Estate Salesperson and Broker Exams are taken by computer. The examination is closed book. Do not bring any study materials with you to the test, as they are not permitted inside the testing area.

Is real estate a good career in 2020?

The real estate market is ever-shifting. The fluctuations within the real estate market have been worse in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic that has caused many sellers to pull off their listings and interest rates to hit a record low. Still, we believe it’s a good time to become a realtor.

Is the broker exam hard?

Remember, the California real estate broker exam is hard to pass and over 50% fail the first time. Not only that, but it is expensive to try again. This course has everything you need to pass the first time at a price that is unmatched. If you truly want to hurry up and pass the exam, enroll in our course right now.

Are Realtors in demand?

Job Outlook Overall employment of real estate brokers and sales agents is projected to grow 4 percent from 2020 to 2030, slower than the average for all occupations. Despite limited employment growth, about 47,500 openings for real estate brokers and sales agents are projected each year, on average, over the decade.

What type of Realtors make the most money?

Real Estate Broker A real estate broker is permitted under law to negotiate and organize real estate dealings. A career as a real estate broker is one of the highest paying and lucrative professions in the real estate industry. On average, experienced brokers take home a six-figure pay.

What jobs make the most money in Florida?

10 highest-paying jobs in Florida

  • Prosthodontists.
  • Obstetricians and gynecologists.
  • Orthodontists.
  • Airline pilots, copilots, and flight engineers.
  • Family medicine physicians. Employment: 11,830.
  • Physicians, all other. Employment: 27,380.
  • General internal medicine physicians. Employment: 1,240.
  • Psychiatrists. Employment: 1,240.

How to Get a Florida Real Estate License in 5 Steps

How to Obtain Your Florida Salesperson’s License In order to obtain a Real Estate Salesperson License in Florida, the Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC) requires that you complete the following procedures, according to its guidelines.

  1. To be eligible, you must complete 63 hours of approved education, pass the final exam, and submit fingerprints. Complete the Licensing Application
  2. Pass the Florida Real Estate Exam
  3. And become a licensed real estate agent.

Steps to Become a Real Estate Agent in Florida

  • You must be at least 18 years old to participate. You’ll need a Social Security number issued by the United States government. You must have a high school diploma or a GED in order to apply.

Complete 63 Hours of Approved Education

The first step toward obtaining a license is to complete the 63-clock-hour Florida Pre-License Course, which is required. Every aspect of becoming a Sales Associate, as well as passing the licensure examination, is covered in this course. Among the topics covered are:

  • Real estate business fundamentals
  • Real estate rules and statutes
  • And real estate financing. Relationships with third parties
  • Maintaining compliance with state and federal laws is essential. Laws governing real estate
  • Options for financing, including mortgages

Pass the Course Final Exam

  • After completing the 63-Hour Course, you must fulfill FREC’s minimum course time requirement and pass the Unitexams. You will then be required to take and pass the course final exam with a score of 70 percent or above in order to get your certificate. After failing the exam, you will have one opportunity to retake it within one year after the first attempt. If you fail the course more than once, you will be required to redo the whole course before you will be allowed to retake the course final exam.

Submit Fingerprints to the Department of BusinessProfessional Regulation (DBPR)

  • You will need to submit fingerprints to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) five days before submitting your license application once you have finished and passed your course test.

Complete the License Application

  • Following that, you will need to submit an application for a license with the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles (DBPR). Your application will be processed and accepted after you have received a notice from the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) with an attached RE Application ID number.

Pass the Florida Real Estate Exam

  • In order to obtain a Florida Salesperson License, you must pass both the state and national components of the exam. It is possible to arrange your exam with Pearson Vueonline.

How Long Does It Take to Get a Real Estate License in Florida?

Obtaining a Florida real estate license typically takes between 2 and 5 months on average, depending on the individual. While some students may finish the needed 63-Hour Pre-License course in a matter of weeks, others may require many months, depending on how much time they have available to them throughout their course. Students should expect to spend an additional 1-2 months after finishing the needed course searching for a sponsoring broker, completing the licensing application procedure, and passing the Florida real estate exam.

How Much Does It Cost to Get a Florida Real Estate License?

When it comes to the cost of becoming a real estate agent in Florida, it might vary based on the cost of school tuition, where students go to obtain their fingerprints and background checks, and whether or not they pass their exam on the first try. However, on average, students should anticipate to pay around $375.00 in order to obtain their driver’s license.

Course Tuition $200.00
Fingerprinting Fees (vary by location) $50.00
Application Fee $89.00
Examination Fee $36.75
Total $375.75

Post-License Education

After receiving your license, the Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC) requires you to complete a necessary course of Post-License education before renewing your license for the first time.

Sales Associates

Licensees who have a Florida Real Estate Sales Associate License are required to complete 45 credit hours of post-licensing educational requirements.

Brokers

A Florida Real Estate Broker License requires licensees to complete 60 credit hours of post-licensing education before they may practice real estate. Purchase a Post-License Training Program

5 Steps to Get Your Real Estate License in Florida

If you’re ready to start assisting individuals with the purchase and sale of real estate in the Sunshine State, here’s what you need to do to obtain your license and get started in the industry. Selling real estate necessitates a strong desire for people and assets, as well as the acquisition of a license. First and foremost, you must be at least 18 years old, a high school graduate or equivalent, and possess a Social Security number issued by the United States government. If you fulfill these fundamental prerequisites, you are prepared to proceed to the following five phases.

Step 1: Take the pre-license course

Take the 63-hour state-approved sales associate pre-license course and pass the test to become a sales associate. This course focuses on real estate laws, concepts, and practice, as well as real estate arithmetic and financial analysis. Courses are available online or in a classroom at a real estate school or at Realtor associations and boards all around the country, including New York. The cost of a course bundle ranges from $100 to $500. You must pass the exam with a score of at least 70% to be eligible for advancement.

It is important to note that if you have been approved to practice law in Florida, you are not required to complete the pre-license course. In order to be eligible to sit for the sales associate test, you must include a copy of your current Florida Bar card to the exam application.

Step 2: Apply to take the Florida real estate exam

  • Take a picture of your electronic fingerprints. They are required by the Department of Business and Professional Regulations (DBPR) in order to conduct a background investigation. You’ll need to get your fingerprints taken at least 5 days before you submit your license application to ensure that they are accurate. Learn where to obtain electronic fingerprints and how to do it (PDF). Each fingerprint seller sets their own prices for their services, however the average cost is between $50 and $80 per pair of fingerprints. You will be required to enter your Social Security number as well as the ORI number listed below: FL920010Z
  • Submit a request for consideration to the DBPR. Payment for the charge is $83.75, and you may make your payment online or by mail using a cheque or money order.

All applications are reviewed by the DBPR. When your application has been approved, you will receive an email from the Pearson VUE firm notifying you of this (generally takes 10 to 30 days).

Step 3: Take and pass the state real estate exam

A company called Pearson VUE administers the state test procedure and provides the course in a number of different formats and locations. The cost of each exam is $36.75 USD. Maintain a close eye on your email inbox for a notice from Pearson VUE with the subject line “Authorization to Test,” informing you that you have been approved to take the exam. This email contains your nine-digit Candidate ID number, which you’ll need in order to register for the test with Pearson VUE after you’ve received it.

You might be interested:  What Is A Commercial Real Estate Broker? (TOP 5 Tips)

You must achieve a passing score of at least 75 out of 100 on the exam.

Your initial license is valid for 18 to 24 months after it is active, depending on when you pass the state examination.

Step 4: Affiliate with a broker

Your real estate license is not officially active unless you have formed a partnership with a licensed real estate brokerage company. Activation of your license will be completed by a sponsoring broker utilizing the DBPR RE 11–Sales Associate form (PDF).

Step 5: Join a local Realtor association/board

You will almost certainly decide to become a member of the local board affiliated with your broker. Dues and offers differ from board to board, so it’s a good idea to look into your possibilities. As soon as you join your local board of Realtors, you will be recognized as a licensed real estate agent who will also be a member of the Florida Realtors state association and the National Association of Realtors.

How To Get A Real Estate License in Florida

We understand that getting started in your new real estate profession might be intimidating, but we’re here to help you through the process. Learn about the five stages necessary to begin your real estate profession in Florida, or visit ourFlorida Pre-Licensing Pricing page to learn more about getting your real estate license. Purchase your Florida Pre-Licensing Certificate »

Prerequisites

  • You must be at least 18 years old to participate. You must have a Social Security number issued by the United States government. The requirement is that you have a high school diploma or its equivalent.

Complete 63 hours of approved Pre-Licensing education.

  • You must successfully finish a 63-clock-hour Pre-Licensing course that has been approved by the state. Our innovative web-based platform, which combines the finest of traditional classroom instruction with the flexibility and convenience of online instruction, is used to provide this obligatory course at The CE Shop. Besides preparing you for your real estate license exam, we also provide you with the knowledge you need to start a lucrative professional career in real estate.

Pass the course final exam.

  • After you have completed all of the course materials, met the minimum time requirement, and passed the practice exam, you will be required to take the final course exam. The passing mark is 70 percent, which is the bare minimum. You are permitted to retest once within one year of the initial examination. In addition, if you fail the final exam, you will be required to retake the course before you will be entitled to sit for the test again.

Submit your fingerprints to the Department of BusinessProfessional Regulation.

  • After passing your test, you’ll need to submit your fingerprints to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) at least five days before submitting your application to the state.

Complete the application for licensure.

  • Please visit the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation’s website to submit an application for a Florida real estate salesperson license. When your application is granted, you will be notified by the Department of Business and Professional Regulation. The notification includes a RE Application ID number, which is attached to it.

Pass the Florida Real Estate Salesperson Exam.

  1. Once you’ve completed this step, you’ll need to sit for and pass the Florida license test, which is conducted by Pearson VUE. This test is divided into two components that address both state and federal standards. If you want further information, please consult the Pearson VUE Candidate Exam Information page. The state of Florida allows for the license test to be proctored remotely. More information may be found at the Florida license test website, which can be found here. If you need assistance passing your real estate test, The CE Shop provides thorough Exam Prep that is specific to the state of Florida.

DOWNLOAD THE PROCEDURES »

Get Your License Online

The online platform, self-paced courses, and high levels of student satisfaction are just a few of the factors that distinguish The CE Shop as the finest in real estate education. Take the first step toward a successful real estate career right now! GET YOUR LICENSE »

How to Get Your Florida Real Estate License

Find out how to become a real estate agent in Florida by watching the video below. Understand the prerequisites for real estate licensure in Florida, as well as the sales associate application procedure. It is not necessary to be a resident of Florida. Complete the procedure totally online, from any location in the world. Take the State test from the comfort of your own home.

4 Steps to Become a Real Estate Agent in Florida

Before awarding a real estate license in Florida, the state requires that the applicant’s criminal history be reviewed. You may get your digital fingerprints taken at any approved facility in the United States. To schedule an appointment, visit Pearson Vue’s website or call 877-238-8232 for further information. FL920010Z is the Originating Agency Identification (ORI) number that is used to issue real estate licenses in the state of Florida.

If you have a criminal record, your application will be evaluated on its own merits to determine whether or not the criteria for high moral character has been satisfied. Here are some of the most commonly asked questions about electronic fingerprints.

Submit Your Application

You must be at least 18 years old, have a valid Social Security number issued by the United States, and possess a high school diploma or its equivalent. You are not need to be a resident of Florida in order to apply for and get a real estate license. Submit your application to the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) online or via a printed form. It takes around 10 days to receive approval for your application. Once your application has been approved, you will receive an email notice as well as a candidate ID number, which you may use to schedule your state exam.

Schedule and Pass the Florida Real Estate Exam

It is possible to schedule your state test once you have received your permission confirmation and candidate ID number through email. The Florida state exam is available on a daily basis and may be taken in a Pearson Vue test center or simply online from anywhere in the country. Test centers may be found all around the United States of America. You have 3.5 hours to respond to 100 multiple-choice questions on the test (a, b, c, d). It is necessary to achieve a 75 percent passing mark in order to pass the test.

To reschedule the test, you only need to wait 24 hours after the original appointment.

Florida Real Estate License Cost Summary

Step 1 Pre-License Course $167.00
Step 2 Fingerprints $53.50
Step 3 Application $83.75
Step 4 State Exam $36.75
Frequently Asked Questions

To obtain a real estate agent license in Florida, the process takes an average of ten weeks. The length of time it takes you to earn your license is mostly determined by how quickly you complete the following four steps: 1. The average time required to finish your pre-license training is 45 days. 2. It takes an average of 7 days to arrange an appointment and have your fingerprints taken. 3. The average time it takes to submit an application and have it approved is 10 days. 4. The average amount of time it takes to arrange and take your state test is 8 days.

How hard is the real estate exam in Florida?

To be considered seriously, the real estate examination must be taken seriously. In addition to attending the pre-license course, concentrating on the “exam prep program” that follows the course is essential for passing the test on the first try. This module significantly raises the likelihood of passing the state test by more than 40%.

How many times can I take the Florida State exam?

If you fail the real estate state test a second time, you can repeat it as many times as you want in Florida. Candidates who do not pass the exam will be able to reschedule the exam for the following day. In Florida, the expense to retake the real estate test is $36.75 each exam.

You Have Passed the State Exam. Now What?

Form a partnership with a broker. Once you have successfully completed the state test, you will be able to activate your license and begin your real estate profession in full force.

A sales associate can only work with one employing broker at a time, according to the company policy. The license can be activated either through your broker or by completing and submitting the DBPR-RE 11 form.

How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Florida

The article was written by Kaplan Real Estate Education and published on February 4, 2020. In order to pursue a real estate profession in any of the state’s major cities, including Tampa, Miami, Fort Lauderdale, Tallahassee, and other locations, you’ll need to earn a Florida real estate license. When applying for a Florida real estate license, you must be at least 18 years old, complete the 63-hour prelicensing education requirement at an approved institution, pass the Florida Real Estate Sales Associate Examination, and submit a completed license application.

Steps to Become a Florida Real Estate Agent

To be eligible for a Florida real estate license, you must be at least 18 years old, have a high school graduation or equivalent, and have a Social Security number issued by the United States government.

2. Complete 63 hours of required prelicensing education.

You’ll need to finish 63 hours of prelicensing study that has been approved by the Department of Business and Professional Regulation before you can sit for the test. It is possible that you will be excluded from this requirement if you are an attorney who is in good standing with the Florida Bar or if you hold a four-year degree in real estate from a recognized institution of higher education. Check out the many course alternatives available to you if you need to fulfill the prelicensing education requirement.

View Licensing Packages

In order to be eligible for professional licensing in the state of Florida, all applicants must undergo a criminal background check. You must get your fingerprints taken by a livescan at least five days before submitting your application. To ensure that you get fingerprinted properly, bring two forms of identification with you.

4. Schedule and pass the Florida Real Estate Sales Associate Exam.

Take and pass the state test with a score of at least 75% in order to obtain your Florida real estate salesperson license. You’ll need to arrange your exam with Pearson Vue, which may be done either online or over the telephone. Make sure to bring two pieces of valid signature identification to the exam—one of which must be government-issued—as well as your valid course completion receipt to ensure that you are properly identified. Take advantage of Kaplan’s exam preparation courses to ensure that you are completely confident on exam day.

5. Apply for a Florida real estate sales associate license.

To acquire your license as a Florida Real Estate Sales Associate, you must submit an application and pay the requisite fee within 30 days of completing the examination. It is available on the Department of Business and Professional Regulation website, under theReal Estate Commissionsection, and may be completed online. The state will typically take four to six weeks to process your application, however this may vary depending on the circumstances.

FREE eBook: Launching Your Real Estate Career

If you could sit down with a room full of accomplished real estate experts and ask them for career guidance, wouldn’t it be fantastic? We asked numerous established real estate professionals what they wished they had known before earning their license and beginning their careers, as well as what they believe all aspiring real estate professionals should know.

We received a lot of great responses. We compiled all of their suggestions into a comprehensive eBook that is filled with value. E-book available for free download

How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Florida

Do you want to work as a real estate agent in the state of Florida? Getting into the real estate business is an interesting job since it requires you to be out meeting people, seeing houses, evaluating markets, and staging properties. It may be gratifying to assist someone in making the largest financial investment of their life, if done correctly. You may even be able to assist in the fulfillment of dreams. Sales associate licenses and broker licenses are both available in the state of Florida.

One of the qualifications for becoming a broker is to have two years of experience as a sales associate under your belt.

Taking a pre-licensing course, passing an exam, and finding a broker to work under are the simplest answers to these questions.

Package for the TOP SELLER

Florida 63 Hour Premium Prelicense Package

Contains essential FREC-approved pre-licensing credits, as well as license test preparation and more! Package

Florida 63 Hour Real Estate Prelicense Basic Package

Pre-license instruction approved by the Florida Real Estate Commission, as well as free real estate math practice. Individual Course with the Highest Sales Volume

45-Hour Florida Real Estate Salesperson Post-License Course

Comply with the Florida Department of Environmental Conservation’s obligatory post-license training obligations online and on time. Individual Training Programs

Florida Real Estate Salesman Exam Prep

Exam preparation materials, including study guides and unlimited practice questions, are available. Individual Training Programs

Florida Sales Pre-license

In Florida, a comprehensive pre-license training is required for all real estate professionals.

General Real Estate License Florida Requirements

A state regulatory agency, such as a board of real estate regulation, a real estate commission, or an organization responsible for the licensing of real estate agents, develops the standards for licensure. Licensed real estate professionals are required to follow state laws that protect the public from untrained and unscrupulous real estate professionals. A valid Florida real estate license issued by the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation is required if you want to purchase and sell real estate for a profit in the state of Florida (DBPR).

The main requirements are as follows:

  • You must be at least 18 years old. a high school diploma or an equivalent qualification Social Security number issued by the United States government
  • Preparation for licensure requires 63 hours of authorized pre-licensing coursework during the past two years. Prepare for, and pass, the Florida sales associate test. Pay the $89 charge and get your fingerprints taken. Please submit your application.

Real Estate License Florida Exam Requirements

Pre-licensing education from a recognized institution or provider, totaling 63 hours, must be completed satisfactorily within 24 months of submitting your application. Florida Real Estate Commission-required subjects must be covered in the course, according to the commission (FREC). Throughout the state, classroom courses are offered, and a large number of on-line courses are also offered.

Then, before the expiry of your first sales associate Florida real estate license, you’ll need to complete a 45-hour post-licensing course that has been approved by the Florida Real Estate Commission.

Steps for Getting A Florida Real Estate License

To obtain a Florida real estate license, you will need to complete the following steps:

  1. Learn: Take a 63-hour prelicensing course that has been authorized, either online or in person. It will be possible to use this course for a period of two years from its completion date.
  1. Apply: Fill out the application and submit it along with your electronic fingerprints and the $89 application fee.
  1. Pass the license test: You must get a score of at least 75 on the Florida Real Estate Law Exam or pass the exam with a grade of at least 30 on the Florida Real Estate Law Exam. Pearson Vue is in charge of administering the test.
  1. Make sure to activate your license since if you don’t, your license will be issued with a “inactive” status
  1. More information may be found at: Before you may renew your Florida real estate license for the first time, you’ll need to finish a 45-hour post-licensing course that has been recognized by the state.

Following that, you must complete 14 hours of continuing education in order to renew your driver’s license. You may finish the schooling requirements to become a Florida real estate agent from the comfort of your own home or from any location where you have access to the internet. A prelicensing course that is certified by the Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC) and fulfills state standards is available through 360training.com, a premier online real estate school since 1999. TheFlorida Premium Prelicense Packageincludes the following items:

  • Preparation for the Florida real estate examination
  • Unlimited practice examinations
  • 63-hour Florida Prelicense Sales Associate course

Upon successful completion of the pre-license course, you may return to your student profile page, where you will find your Certificate of Completion, which can be printed.

What Else Should You Know About Becoming a Florida Real Estate Agent?

Purchasing a home in the real estate market is a big decision. Salaries for real estate sales associates in Florida range from $38,793 and $50,510, according to Salary.com. However, salaries vary widely depending on region as well as an agent’s drive and hustle. A sales associate’s compensation is made up of a part of commissions based on the amount of money that is collected from completed transactions. You may also find out more about the costs of obtaining a real estate license in Florida by visiting this page.

You might be interested:  What Do Real Estate Agents Charge? (Solution found)

Florida Real Estate Commission

The Florida Real Estate Commission is responsible for enforcing the state’s real estate licensing statute and promulgating rules in order to carry out its tasks. The Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC) implemented paperless licensing in June 2015. Your license may be printed from your online DBPR account, which can be found at www.myfloridalicense.com, after you have passed the licensing exam.

National Association of Realtors

The National Organisation of REALTORS® (NAR) is the biggest professional association in the real estate business, having been founded in 1908. A person must be licensed to sell real estate in their home state in order to become a full member of the National Association of Realtors. They must also join their local chapter of the NAR. Real estate professionals who adhere to a stringent code of ethics, known as the Code of Ethics and Standards of Practice, are referred to as REALTORS®. So there you have it.

If you have any questions, you may contact the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation.

Get Started Now!

Was it ever brought to your attention that 360training provides one of the most popularFlorida Pre-License Online Training Programs available? It’s time to get started right now. Are you a resident of another state? See our other Real Estate Pre-Licensing Courses for more information.

How to Become a Realtor in Florida

Learn more about real estate license and take advantage of exclusive discounts. Without a college degree, real estate is one of the few occupations that provide a flexible work schedule, high job satisfaction, and a limitless earning potential, all of which are desirable characteristics.

We want to demonstrate to you what it takes to get started in your new job. Here’s how to become a Realtor in the state of Florida.

What Is a Realtor®?

Before we can get into the specifics of how to become a Realtor, we must first define the word “real estate agent.” Although the terms “real estate agent” and “Realtor” are frequently used interchangeably, they do not truly refer to the same profession. A real estate agent is someone who holds a state-issued license to conduct real estate sales transactions. As a member of the National Association of Realtors, a realtor represents buyers and sellers in real estate transactions (NAR). However, not every Realtor is a real estate agent, and not every real estate agent is a Realtor.

Why Become a Realtor?

As a Realtor, you are held to a higher standard of ethics than the ordinary real estate professional in the industry. Realtors are required to adhere to the National Association of Realtors Code of Ethics. Because of this increased responsibility, savvy buyers and sellers choose to work with Realtors rather than real estate brokers on a consistent basis. If you want to demonstrate to prospective customers that you are serious about real estate, becoming a member of the National Association of Realtors and becoming a Realtor is well worth the effort.

  • In addition to increased possibilities for networking, ongoing professional training, and legislative lobbying at the local, state, and federal levels are all available.

Before You Become a Realtor, You Must Become a Florida Real Estate Agent

In Florida, becoming a licensed real estate agent puts you approximately 95 percent of the way toward becoming a licensed realtor (real estate broker). The following are the five stages you’ll need to complete in order to obtain your Florida real estate license.

Meet the basic qualification requirements.

You must be at least 18 years old, have a high school diploma or GED, and have a social security number in order to apply for this position.

Complete your pre-licensing education.

You’ll need to finish a 63-hour pre-licensing real estate course from a state-approved educational institution before you can apply for a real estate license.

Apply for your real estate license.

The application for a real estate license in Florida must be submitted before you can even sit for the real estate exam. To apply, you must simply submit the application along with a $83.75 application fee and confirmation that you have completed your pre-license education course requirements.

Pass the exam.

You may arrange your exam with Pearson VUE straight from their website. At the time of the exam, you’ll be required to bring two kinds of identification as well as confirmation of your schooling completion with you. To pass the exam, you’ll need to receive 75 out of 100 possible points.

Activate your license.

Once you have passed your Florida real estate test, you may print your Florida real estate license from the Department of Business and Professional Regulation website. Your license, on the other hand, is inactive until you locate a sponsoring broker who will activate your license. In Florida, all real estate sales agents are required to work under the supervision of a licensed broker. Consequently, after you have selected a broker, your new broker will submit the RE11 Sales Associate Form in order for your Florida real estate license to be activated.

Taking the Extra Step to Become a Realtor

All of the hard work has been completed! All that is left for you to do to become an official Florida Realtor is to become a member of your local chapter of the Florida Association of Realtors.

Simply complete the application for membership and pay your new membership dues to become a member. By becoming a member of your local association, you will instantly become a member of the Florida Realtors and the National Association of Realtors as well.

Is There a Downside to Becoming a Realtor?

The annual expenditure of becoming a Realtor is one of the drawbacks of the profession. You can’t expect all of the advantages to be provided for free! Because local Associations determine their own dues levels, the overall sums vary from area to region. Every Realtor in Florida will pay $185 in National Association of Realtors dues in 2020, plus around $146 in Florida Association dues, plus whatever dues the local Association imposes. It is ultimately up to you to determine whether or not you want to pursue a career as a Realtor in Florida.

You may always start with your real estate license and work your way up to becoming a Realtor once your company is up and running.

Aceable, Inc.

How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Florida in 8 Easy Steps

It should come as no surprise that Florida has one of the most robust housing markets in the country, according to the Census Bureau. Why not take advantage of the expanding market and learn how to become a real estate agent in Florida for your own personal gain. We’ll lead you through the process of earning your license, and you’ll be able to assist families in the purchase and sale of houses in Miami, Orlando, and Destin in as little as a few months. The state of Florida requires anyone seeking the designation of Real Estate Sales Associate to meet the following requirements:

  • To qualify, you must be at least 18 years old and have a Social Security number. Have a high school diploma or equivalent

The following are the stages that you must do in order to obtain your Florida Real Estate Sales Associate license:

  1. Learn about real estate schools
  2. Complete 63 hours of prelicensing classes
  3. Submit your fingerprints to a live scan service provider
  4. And become a licensed real estate agent! Complete the Florida Driver’s License Application
  5. Make an appointment for your examination
  6. Preparation for the Exam
  7. Examine for the Florida Real Estate License
  8. Locate a Principal Broker who will hire you

Are you ready to begin your new professional journey? We should first understand the answer to the question, “How much does it cost to acquire a real estate license in Florida?” before we get any further.

How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Florida?

The cost of obtaining a Florida real estate license is around $500. Some of these expenditures, such as the licensing price and exam fee, are predetermined. The cost of the prelicensing courses and exam preparation materials will vary based on which firm you choose to work with. The Cost of a Florida Real Estate License

Prelicensing Classes (63 hours) $132.00 (Real Estate Express)
Exam Cram Session $199.00 (Gold Coast School)
Florida Real Estate License Exam Fee $36.75
License Fee $83.75
Fingerprinting Fee $54.55
Total Cost $506.05

Get your Florida real estate license costs around $500. Various charges, including the licensing price and exam fee, are predetermined. According on the firm you pick, the cost of the prelicensing classes and exam preparation materials will vary. License Fees for a Florida Real Estate Broker

1. Find a Real Estate School

Choose a real estate school and complete a total of 63 hours of prelicensing programs in order to become a licensed real estate agent in Florida. We recommend that you read our guide to the finest online real estate schools in Florida to assist you in making your decision. Numerous colleges provide in-person or online classrooms where students may participate in real-time discussions. However, if you want a self-guided, online curriculum that allows you to study at your own speed and in your own time, Real Estate Express may be the program for you.

Their lessons are both flexible and reasonable, and they provide a variety of alternatives for students to select from.

Real Estate Express is offering a 25 percent discount to customers who use the coupon code TheClose25. Real Estate Express may be found at www.realestateexpress.com.

2. Complete 63 Hours of PreLicensing Classes

First and foremost, you must complete the 63 hours of prelicensing seminars required before you can sit for the Real Estate Sales Associate licensing exam. If you hold a four-year degree in a real estate-related profession or if you are a member of the Florida Bar Association, you may be exempt from taking these seminars. Purchase and sale of real estate will be covered in detail in your lessons, including the legal and financial issues. Everything you need to know to pass the exam will be taught to you, along with how to answer inquiries from potential clients.

3. Submit Your Fingerprints to a Livescan Service Provider

Submit your fingerprints to a Livescan service provider at least five days before submitting your application to ensure that they are accurate. When submitting your fingerprints, you must ensure that the Livescan provider has the necessary code (Real Estate Sales and Brokers—FL920010Z) to identify your business. The application procedure will be delayed if this is not done. The cost of fingerprinting varies from location to location, but you could anticipate to pay approximately $50. When you go to get your fingerprints taken, you must bring two kinds of identification with you.

4. Fill Out the Florida License Application

Creating an account with the Department of Business and Professional Regulation or submitting a print-friendly application are both required before you may sit for your licensing test and receive your license. The application price is $83.75, which is non-refundable. Military personnel and their spouses may be eligible for a cost waiver; for more information, see this page. As part of the application process, you’ll be required to provide your Social Security number and legal name, as well as answers to a series of background inquiries on your criminal past, legal investigations, and prior licenses.

5. Schedule Your Exam

Once your application has been granted by theDepartment of Business and Professional Regulation and you have finished your courses, you will get an official permission letter from Pearson VUE, which will serve as your official certification. Pearson is in charge of the testing procedure, and the letter you get will provide you with more details on how to arrange your examination. You may make an appointment for the exam by calling (888) 204-6289 or by completing the process online on Pearson’s site.

6. Study for the Exam

Despite the fact that Real Estate Expressprovides test preparation resources for three of the four packages, you may choose to pursue alternative study options. Our guide to Florida Real Estate Schools suggests the Weekend CRAM ReviewCourse at Gold Coast School of Real Estate. There are 14 course sites in Florida, or you may watch the sessions live on the internet.

7. Take the Florida Real Estate Exam

Between now and August 2021, you can sit for your Florida real estate test in person or online. Details about taking the exam remotely, from the convenience of your own home, may be found in the FAQs. It is required that you arrive 30 minutes before your planned exam time if you opt to take the test in person. There are 100 questions on the computer-based test, and you will have 312 hours to complete it.

It is necessary to obtain 75 out of 100 questions accurate in order to pass the test. The 100 questions are all equally weighted. Ensure you bring the following items with you to the Pearson VUE testing location:

  • Two valid signature identity documents, one of which must be issued by the government (driver’s license, state identification card, passport, or military identification card)
  • Evidence proving you have completed the educational prerequisites to be eligible to sit for the examination (Florida Division of Real Estate Authorization Notice and the Certificate of Pre-Licensing Education Completion). Although the original copies of these documents were mailed to the Division of Real Estate, you need still bring a photocopy of these documents to your testing facility. A quiet, hand-held, battery-powered calculator that does not print and does not have alphabetical buttons

Everything else (phones, handbags, wallets, food, and beverages) should be left in your car or in a locker supplied by the school. Following your exam, you will obtain a “photo-bearing” exam result report that will be sent to you immediately. if you fail the test, you can book a review appointment with Pearson within 21 days of the exam’s completion to go over the questions you answered wrong (there is a fee for this review session).

8. Find a Principal Broker to Hire You

Congratulations! If you’ve made it this far, you’ve already completed all of the steps necessary to earn your Florida real estate license. The only thing left for you to accomplish is to secure employment with a Florida real estate brokerage firm. As a real estate agent in Florida, you’ll be needed to operate under the supervision of a broker in order to help customers in the purchase or sale of property. It may be necessary for you to knock on doors and introduce yourself in order to locate a brokerage to manage your project.

How to Get a Real Estate License in Florida: FAQs

You’re probably feeling a little dizzy from all of the knowledge you’ve soaked up about how to become a Florida real estate agent. We realize we’ve given you a lot to think about, but we promise that all of your hard work will pay off when you begin your new profession. For further information on how to become a real estate agent in Florida, please see the following links:

How much do real estate agents in Florida make?

According to Indeed, real estate agents in Florida earn an average annual salary of $91,805 dollars. Real estate agents are only compensated when they get a commission on a successful sale. As a result of the fact that real estate brokers are paid only on commission, some are hesitant to quit their day jobs and go headfirst into their new occupations. Check out our advice on how to become a successful part-time real estate agent if you’re having trouble deciding whether you should work full time or part time to assist you.

How long does it take to become a licensed real estate agent in Florida?

In Florida, it takes around three months to become a licensed real estate agent. Preparing for the 63 hours of prelicensing classes is the most time-consuming element of the entire procedure. Is it difficult to pursue a career as a real estate agent in Florida? Florida requires that you complete 63 hours of coursework covering the following areas in order to become a licensed real estate salesman.

  • The business of real estate
  • Regulations governing licenses and the requirements for licensure
  • Laws governing real estate licenses and commissions
  • Relationships, responsibilities, and disclosures that have been authorized
  • The operations and processes of a real estate brokerage firm
  • Breach of licensing legislation, as well as violations of fines and procedures
  • Federal and state legislation governing real estate transactions
  • Estates, tenancies, condos, cooperatives, community development districts, homeowner associations, and time-sharing are all examples of property rights
  • Nevertheless, Titles, deeds, and limits on ownership are all covered. Descriptions in the law
  • Contracts for the purchase and sale of real estate Mortgages for residential properties
  • Different mortgage products and financing options are discussed. Calculations pertaining to real estate and the completion of deals
  • Markets and analyses of the real estate sector
  • Appraisal of real property
  • Commercial real estate investments as well as business opportunity brokerage services
  • Taxes that are levied against real estate Planning and zoning

We understand that this is a lengthy list of topics, but your real estate school will assist you in getting through the content quickly. Prior to you realizing it, you will have the opportunity to assist your customers in making one of the most significant financial choices of their life.

You might be interested:  How To Fire A Real Estate Agent? (Solution)

What is the fastest way to get a real estate license in Florida?

Signing up for Real Estate Express, the quickest way to obtain your Florida real estate license, is simple and quick. Save 25 percent when you use the discount code TheClose25. After you pay for the course, you may practically begin taking the 63 hours of prelicensing lessons immediately after making the payment.

Can I get my Florida real estate license online?

Yes! The majority of the requirements to become a real estate agent in Florida may be completed from the comfort of your own residence. Until August of 2021, you may even take your Florida real estate exam while a live proctor watches your workstation through a camera. Online prelicensing classes, online test prep courses, and even your Florida real estate exam are all available.

Take a look at Real Estate Express’ online real estate school programs for residents of the state of Florida. Packages start at $132 and are frequently discounted. Real Estate Express is offering a 25 percent discount to readers of The Close who use the promo code TheClose25.

Where can I take my Florida real estate test?

Pearson VUE now provides 18 test-taking sites in the state of Florida. They also offer testing centers on military bases, and you may also take the test from the comfort of your own home while being watched by a proctor through a webcam. The following are the Florida real estate examination sites:

  • Florida’s cities include: Avon Park, Boynton Beach, Daytona Beach, Ft Lauderdale, Fort Myers, Gainesville, Hollywood, Florida’s cities include: Lakeland, Lake Mary, Melbourne, Miami, Ormond Beach, Orlando, Sarasota, South Miami, and Tampa

Next Steps for Launching Your Florida Real Estate Career

Read on to find out more about real estate licensing requirements in other states in our comprehensive article, How to Get a Real Estate License in 5 Easy Steps. It offers information on the amount of course hours necessary in each state, as well as suggestions for selecting a brokerage and becoming a member of major real estate organizations. It is not enough to simply receive your license; you must continue to study throughout your career. We recommend that you seek out useful resources, such as ourReal Estate Agent’s Mastermind Group, to receive assistance from other real estate professionals.

We wish you the best of luck with your new endeavor.

How to Get a Real Estate License in Florida

Florida is a wonderful area for real estate agents since it is the third-most populated state in the United States and a popular retirement destination. A real estate license is still required in Florida if you want to purchase and sell property, regardless of whether you want to work as an agent or a broker in the industry. To obtain a real estate license, you must also be at least 18 years old, have completed particular real estate curriculum, passed a test (or two, depending on the licensing level), and have your criminal history checked.

The distinction between a real estate agent and a real estate broker is mostly determined by the number of years of experience and education that each individual has.

In addition, completing extra courses and operating as an agent for a minimum of two years are required in order to become a broker.

Key Takeaways

  • Florida is a wonderful area for real estate agents since it is the third-most populated state in the United States and a popular retirement destination. Initial requirements include obtaining the right license, which can be either an agent or a broker. The employment of licensed brokers is mandatory of all agents, although brokers can choose to work for themselves or to recruit agents to work for them. To become an agent, you must complete 63 hours of real estate training, while a broker license requires 72 hours of study and two years of practical experience. Following completion of coursework for both licenses, the coursework is valid for two years. Both licenses necessitate passing a final test as well as conducting a background investigation. Florida has reciprocity agreements with eight other states, but candidates must still pass a Florida-specific test in order to be admitted.

Florida Real Estate License Requirements

In Florida, there are two sorts of licenses, and the requirements will differ based on which license you hold. In Florida, for example, a real estate agent (also known as a sales associate) is permitted to handle real estate transactions, but he or she must operate under the supervision of a certified broker. A broker, on the other hand, has the ability to operate their own business and employ other agents to work for them. The following are the qualifications for obtaining an agent’s license:

  • It is necessary to be at least 18 years old. 63 hours of real estate coursework completed via a recognized source (coursework is valid for two years from the date of completion) or a four-year degree in real estate is required. It is necessary to pass a final test. Must be completely truthful in all of the information submitted and pass a background investigation

Broker license requirements include the following:

  • It is necessary to be at least 18 years old. You must have worked as a real estate agent for at least two years during the last five years. If you do not have a four-year degree in real estate, you must complete 72 hours of real estate coursework from an approved source (coursework is valid for two years from the date of completion). It is necessary to pass a final test. Must be completely truthful in all of the information submitted and pass a background investigation

A word on background checks: You must report any and all criminal convictions on your application, regardless of how minor the offense was.

Depending on the crime, a conviction may or may not be disqualifying; nonetheless, failing to report a conviction for any infraction, no matter how small, will result in your application being denied on the first attempt.

How Long Does It Take to Get a Real Estate License in Florida?

In Florida, the process of becoming a real estate agent at the sales associate level takes around one to two months from start to finish. A broker’s path may be more difficult to navigate owing to the extra requirements of completing 72 hours of real estate coursework (rather than the 63 hours required to become an agent) and having worked for a minimum of two years as an agent before becoming a licensed broker.

How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Florida?

In order to become a licensed real estate professional in Florida, you must invest both time and money. A prospective agent will pay between $400 and $500 to obtain their license at the end of the day after all is said and done. A broker might expect to get between $500 and $600 in compensation. The breakdown of these expenses is as follows:

  • Although the cost of pre-licensing exam education can range from $80 to $245 or more depending on the school, on average anticipate to pay between $245 and $400. There are no differences in the exam prices between a sales associate and a broker: $36.75
  • Fingerprinting is required for both licenses and will cost roughly $55. Depending on the service provider, these charges may differ somewhat.

Real Estate License Reciprocity

Florida has reciprocity agreements with eight states: Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Mississippi, Nebraska, and Rhode Island. Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Mississippi, Nebraska, and Rhode Island. If you are a resident of one of these states and desire to obtain a Florida license, you must complete the following requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old to participate. You must not be a resident of Florida
  • A valid real estate license from a state with which Florida has a reciprocity agreement
  • And Fill out an application to be a business owner in Florida. Successfully complete a 40-question exam that is particular to Florida
  • Be subjected to a background check and provide fingerprints

Can You Apply for a Florida Real Estate License Online?

You may submit an application for a Florida real estate license either online or through the mail. You may simply access either option by going to the application site for the license you are seeking and following the instructions. You will be able to schedule your exam when the review process has concluded, which should take around four to six weeks. All Florida real estate examinations are conducted by Pearson VUE, which allows you to register for them online with little effort and hassle.

Florida Real Estate License Exam

Once your application has been approved, you may register with Pearson VUE to arrange your test, which can be taken either in person or online, depending on your preference. Both the agent and broker tests are three and a half hours long and comprise of 100 multiple-choice questions on the subject of real estate brokerage. The Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation has produced information booklets for each test that go into deeper detail on the subject matter. To pass each exam, you must have a score of 75 percent or above.

Florida Real Estate License Application

If you pass the exam, your license will be granted to you without further action. The entire procedure takes between seven and ten working days. Notably, agents must activate their licenses by submitting another application, one that has been completed and submitted to the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation by their employer (broker/real estate business).

Florida Real Estate License Renewal

Florida real estate licenses are valid for two years, and the state will tell you via email when your license’s expiration date is approaching, if applicable. Fees for an agent will be $32 and fees for a broker will be $36.

Does Florida Require Post-Licensing Education?

Real estate agents in Florida who are renewing their licenses for the first time must complete 45 hours of authorized continuing education courses, while brokers must complete 60 hours of approved continuing education coursework.

Both agents and brokers are required to complete 14 hours of authorized continuing education each year in order to renew their licenses.

Special Considerations

If you are an attorney who is a current member in good standing of the Florida Bar, you are excused from some criteria to become a licensed real estate agent or real estate broker in the state of Florida. In essence, you are granted permission to appear for the exam as soon as you get it. If you are eligible to practice law in Florida, you may be excluded from taking the college courses that are required of all other candidates. To become a real estate agent or broker, you must, however, sit for and pass the appropriate licensing examination.

And while we’re on the subject of real estate law, Florida has a number of legislation and regulations that all real estate agents should be familiar with.

How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Florida (9 Easy Steps)

The certification and licensing requirements for real estate agents vary from state to state, but being a real estate agent may be a rewarding career path if done correctly. You will find this article useful if you are looking for information on how to become a real estate agent in Florida. You will learn all you need to know about starting a career as a real estate agent in the Sunshine State, from defining the procedure to obtain your broker license to addressing the real estate test process in the state of Florida.

Step 1 – Meet the Prerequisites for a Real Estate License

You must complete specific requirements in order to work as a real estate broker or agent in Florida and to be eligible to apply for a real estate license. These are some examples:

  • Being eighteen years of age The possession of a Social Security number
  • Having a high school diploma or a GED is preferred.

If you complete all of these requirements, you are ready to begin your studies for a Florida real estate licensing exam.

Step 2 – Complete a Real Estate Course

Prior to applying for a real estate license and beginning employment as a real estate sales associate in the state of Florida, real estate professionals are required to complete 63 hours of approved educational coursework. Those education hours must include subjects such as the following:

  • Real estate business foundations
  • Real estate and real property legislation
  • Real estate and real property transactions
  • How to operate in a broker business
  • Financing and mortgage alternatives
  • And how to become a broker.

These are the topics that you will need to be familiar with in order to operate as a real estate sales associate in the state of Florida. All of this is referred to as pre-licensure education since you will finish this coursework before applying for your certification.

Step 3 – Pass the Course Exam

After completing your real estate course, you will take the real estate examination. In order to continue forward in the real estate process, you must pass this final exam, which will guarantee that you have learnt everything you required during your real estate education. You must pass your real estate course final exam with a score of at least 70 percent to be eligible for advancement. After failing the first time, you can retake the test one more within a year of failing the first time. If you fail the course a second time, you will be required to repeat it.

Step 4 – Get Fingerprinted

After that, you must submit your fingerprints to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation in your state (DBPR).

You must submit the application at least five days before you want to submit your real estate licensing application. This enables the state to do a background check on you in order to confirm that you are safe to work as a real estate agent.

Step 5 – Apply for a Real Estate License

The next step is to complete the application for a driver’s license. This is accomplished using the DBPR as well. All that is required of you is to complete and submit the application form. The DBPR will give you a letter including a RE Application ID Number after your application has been approved.

Step 6 – Prepare for the Real Estate Exam

Your final exam in real estate school is only one of several tests you must pass in order to become a licensed real estate agent. Before you may become a licensed real estate agent in Florida, you must also pass a real estate test that covers both state and federal legislation. Some students feel that taking a pre-license course prior to taking this exam helps them prepare better for the exam. This course will concentrate on the exact information you will need to know in order to pass the state licensure test.

Step 7 – Get a Sponsoring Broker to Sign Your Real Estate License

For new real estate agents in Florida, they must have a sponsoring broker, who must be a registered Florida real estate broker who is ready to sign on your behalf in order to obtain your sales associate license. Even if you pass the Realtor examination, you will not be able to obtain a license until another Florida real estate agent or broker signs your application.

Step 8 – Gain Real Estate Experience

Once you have passed the licensing test, the next stage is to get practical real estate experience. Many new agents may apply to work in a real estate brokerage in order to get valuable experience before going into business for themselves. Even when working for a brokerage and gaining experience, you can earn real estate commissions as long as you have passed the licensing test and hold a valid real estate license.

Step 9 – Continuing Education

To be able to continue working as a Florida Realtor, the state of Florida requires all agents to complete post-license education requirements. For the first time in your career, you will need to complete additional real estate salesperson training before you can renew your broker’s license. When evaluating your continuing education alternatives, take a thorough look at your real estate professional experience and background. Depending on whether you’re a seller’s agent or a buyer’s agent, you should seek for a course that will cover the areas in which you need assistance.

FAQs On How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Florida

With a difficult examination, the Florida real estate exam verifies that real estate sales professionals are knowledgeable about state and federal legislation. To pass the licensing exam and become a licensed Realtor or broker in the state of Florida, you must prepare and take a licensing exam prep course first.

What are the requirements to become a real estate broker in Florida?

The following are the requirements to become a broker in the state of Florida:

  • You must be 18 years old or older. You must have earned a high school diploma or GED. Be in possession of a Social Security number
  • Obtain a passing grade in a pre-licensing education classroom course
  • Pass the Florida real estate licensing examination
  • And Obtain the signature of a licensed broker on your real estate licensing application.

Would You Like To Partner With Me?

For more information on the advantages of partnering with me at eXp Realty, please visit my Partner Page.

I’ve worked with hundreds of real estate agents, team leaders, and brokers from all over the country to help them grow their businesses and create new revenue sources for themselves. We can make this year your greatest year ever if we work together!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *