What are the steps to getting a real estate license?
- The first step in getting a real real estate license is to take a 30 hour class in preperation for the real estate exam and then take the exam. After the exam there are two more courses each is 30 hours long.
- 1 How much does it cost to become a real estate agent in Oklahoma?
- 2 How much is the Oklahoma real estate exam?
- 3 How hard is the Oklahoma real estate exam?
- 4 How do you get a real estate license in Oklahoma?
- 5 Is the Oklahoma Real Estate exam open book?
- 6 Do real estate agents make good money?
- 7 Is there math on the real estate exam?
- 8 Is the Oklahoma real estate exam multiple choice?
- 9 What does PSA mean in real estate?
- 10 How much does a real estate agent make?
- 11 How long does it take to become a real estate agent?
- 12 How Do You Get Your Real Estate License in Oklahoma?
- 13 Oklahoma Real Estate Commission Fee Increase Effective November 1, 2020
- 14 How to Get a Real Estate License in Oklahoma
- 15 How to Get a Provisional Sales Associate (PSA) License
- 16 How to Get Your Real Estate Sales Associate (SA) License
- 17 How to Get Your License if You Are a Nonresident (Reciprocity)
- 18 Becoming A Real Estate Agent in Oklahoma
- 18.1 What are the prerequisites to get an Oklahoma real estate license?
- 18.2 What should I know about Oklahoma Post-licensing?
- 18.3 Can you get an Oklahoma real estate license if you have a felony or misdemeanor?
- 18.4 Can you get your Oklahoma real estate license online?
- 18.5 What are the rules for reciprocity in Oklahoma?
- 18.6 How long does it take to get a real estate license in Oklahoma?
- 18.7 How much does a real estate course in Oklahoma cost?
- 18.8 Where do I take my Oklahoma real estate license exam?
- 18.9 Do you need to have a diploma or GED to get your Oklahoma real estate license?
- 18.10 How old do you have to be to get your Oklahoma real estate license?
- 18.11 Does Oklahoma have real estate license reciprocity with any other states?
- 19 Oklahoma State Requirements: Sales Associate
- 19.1 How long does it take to get an Oklahoma real estate license?
- 19.2 What kind of information will I learn to help me get a real estate license in Oklahoma?
- 19.3 How do I submit my fingerprints for the background check?
- 19.4 How do I submit my Oklahoma Sales Associate application?
- 19.5 How do I apply for and take the Oklahoma Sales Associate licensing examination?
- 19.6 Does Oklahoma require post-licensing education?
- 19.7 Does Oklahoma offer reciprocity?
- 19.8 Regulatory Notes:
- 20 How to get an Oklahoma real estate license in 5 steps – ASAP
- 21 Oklahoma Real Estate License Requirements
- 22 How To Become a Real Estate Agent in Oklahoma
- 23 Professional Development
- 24 What makes professional development important?
- 25 Commitment
- 26 Success
- 27 Graduate Realtor® Institute
- 28 Online Education
- 29 Licensing
- 30 LeadershipOAR
- 31 Oklahoma Real Estate Broker requirements
- 32 How to Get an Oklahoma Real Estate License
- 33 How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Oklahoma
- 34 How to Get Your Oklahoma Real Estate License
- 35 Oklahoma Real Estate License FAQ
- 36 OREC – Oklahoma Real Estate Commission
- 37 How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Oklahoma
- 38 1. Meet the State’s Legal Requirements
- 39 2. Complete Required Prelicensing Courses
- 40 3. Complete FingerprintingBackground Check
- 41 4. Apply for Your License
- 42 5. Take the Exam
- 43 6. Pick a Company to Work For
- 44 7. Start Your Real Estate Career
How much does it cost to become a real estate agent in Oklahoma?
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Oklahoma? The total cost to get your license is roughly $699.00. This includes education fees, application fees, background check fees, and exam fees.
How much is the Oklahoma real estate exam?
How much is the real estate exam? The cost of the Oklahoma provisional sales associate and sales associate exam is statutory set to $60, and the Oklahoma real estate broker exam is $75.
How hard is the Oklahoma real estate exam?
The Oklahoma Real Estate Salesperson Examination consists of 75 total questions. To pass, you need to answer 70% of the questions correctly.
How do you get a real estate license in Oklahoma?
How Do You Get Your Real Estate License in Oklahoma?
- Complete a 90-hour Basic Pre-License Course.
- Submit your real estate license application to the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission (OREC).
- Complete a background check.
- Pass the Oklahoma Salesperson exam.
- Pay your license fee to the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission.
Is the Oklahoma Real Estate exam open book?
The exam is closed book. You are permitted to bring a simple functioning calculator for the 10% of the exam questions that might involve math. The registration fee to take the Oklahoma Real Estate sales associate exam is $60.00.
Do real estate agents make good money?
Get Your California Real Estate License! According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the average income for Real Estate agents in the state of California is $73,450. California is one of the top earning states for Real Estate agents. Hard work is essential to high salaries, however.
Is there math on the real estate exam?
No matter what state you are wanting to get a real estate license in, you can expect to see math questions on the exam. While the number of math questions on the exam varies from state-to-state, the total number of math-related questions is somewhere between 10-15%.
Is the Oklahoma real estate exam multiple choice?
Test Content: The Oklahoma state real estate licensing exam is comprised of two separate portions, the national portion and the state-specific portion. Both tests are comprised of multiple choice questions with four answer choices provided for each question.
What does PSA mean in real estate?
THE PURCHASE AND SALE AGREEMENT. The purchase and sale agreement (“PSA”) is the most important document in a real estate transaction.
How much does a real estate agent make?
How Much Do Real Estate Agents Make? The median annual pay for real estate agents was $48,930 in 2019, according to the most recent data available from the U.S Bureau of Labor Statistics.
How long does it take to become a real estate agent?
You can become a real estate agent in about four to six months, depending on where you live. Online prelicensing classes can speed up the process. Requirements vary by state, but the general steps are to take a real estate prelicensing course, take the licensing exam, activate your license, and join a brokerage.
How Do You Get Your Real Estate License in Oklahoma?
Charles “Mack” Barnes’s website was last updated on December 29, 2020. To be eligible for a provisional sales associate real estate license in Oklahoma, you must be at least 18 years old and provide proof of citizenship or qualified alien status, among other requirements.
- Completion of a 90-hour Basic Pre-License Course is required. Submit your application for a real estate license to the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission (OREC). Complete a background investigation
- Pass the Oklahoma Salesperson certification test. Make a payment to the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission for your license
Basic Pre-License Course
In addition to a 90-hour Basic Pre-License course that is offered online, Barnes Real Estate School now provides an advanced pre-license course.
Real Estate License Application
Applicants will be required to complete and submit an application for a real estate license to the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission (OREC).
Make an appointment with IdentoGO in order to have your fingerprints processed online. The $60 charge associated with the background check will be collected by IdentoGO on your behalf.
Make an appointment with PSI to take your test. The exam price is $60, and a passing score of 70% or more is required to pass the test.
Complete and submit the formRequest for Issuance of an Active Provisional Sales Associate or Sales Associate Licensing to the OREC, together with the $100 license fee, to be considered for issuance of an active provisional sales associate or sales associate license. In order to obtain more thorough information on how to obtain a real estate license, please see the website of the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission.
Law Update Effective November 1, 2019
In Oklahoma, real estate licensees begin their careers as provisional sales associates. You will be required to take a 45-hour Post-License course during your first year of license as a provisional sales associate. The Oklahoma Real Estate Commission (OREC) will issue a Sales Associate License to you when you have completed your first year as a provisional sales associate, completed the requisite education, and submitted the relevant forms and fees to the OREC in the prescribed time frame. In order for the license to be active, the licensee must be affiliated with a real estate broker.
- The license is good for one year, and the charge to obtain it is $100. Within one year after receiving a license, a 45-hour Post-License course is necessary.
Oklahoma Real Estate Commission Fee Increase Effective November 1, 2020
The Oklahoma Real Estate Commission changed its guidelines early this year, and the new standards will take effect on November 1, 2020, according to the commission. License fees will be raised across the board as a result of the regulatory revisions. The following is a breakdown of the most significant charge hikes.
- Provisional sales associate licensefees will increase from $75 to $100
- Sales associate licensefees will increase from $165 to $215
- Broker, corporations, associations, or partnerships licensefees will increase from $225 to $295
- Broker associate licensefees will increase from $195 to $260
- And broker associate licensefees will increase from $195 to $260. In addition to the existing fees, a one-time application processing fee of $35 must be submitted with all applications for initial licensing.
How to Get a Real Estate License in Oklahoma
Steps to Obtaining Your Oklahoma Real Estate License (Infographic). Real estate agents in Oklahoma can obtain one of two (2) different levels of licensing (Sales Associates).
- In Oklahoma, the Provisional Sales Associate (PSA) license is the entry-level real estate license, and it is suited for people who are new to the sector and want to learn more about the industry. Exceptions to this rule include the requirement that a Sales Associate complete twenty-one (21) clock hours of continuing education each active license cycle, and the fact that the SA license is a three-year renewable license whereas the PSA license expires one year after passing the licensing exam. Sales Associate: The Sales Associate (SA) license is identical to the Provisional Sales Associate (PSA).
How to Get a Provisional Sales Associate (PSA) License
You must complete the following five procedures in order to obtain an Oklahoma real estate license:
- To obtain an Oklahoma real estate license, you must first complete the five procedures outlined below: 1.
Complete the Required Pre-License Education
- Prior to being eligible to become a Real Estate Provisional Sales Associate, applicants must first finish the ninety-hour Pre-License Course.
Pass a Background Check
- All new licensee applications in Oklahoma must be subjected to a national background check, which includes fingerprinting. Because the usual background check takes 60 days or longer, it is advised that students begin the procedure as early as possible before taking the exam and submitting an application
- Nevertheless, this is not always possible.
Submit Your Application to the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission (OREC)
- All applicants for a real estate license in the state of Oklahoma will be required to complete and submit the requisite application to the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission. Sales Associates and Brokers can apply for this position.
Pass the Oklahoma Real Estate License Exam
- After completing the pre-licensing classes, you must arrange an exam at a PSI testing facility to receive your license. The exam price is $60, and in order to pass, you must have a score of 70 percent or above.
Pay a License Fee to the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission
- Complete and send theRequest for Issuance of an Active Provisional Sales Associate or Sales Associate Licenseto OREC, together with a $100 licensing fee, to the Office of Regulatory Compliance.
The Oklahoma Revenue and Ethics Commission (OREC) website has comprehensive information on all areas of sales associate licensure and regulations in Oklahoma.
How to Get Your Real Estate Sales Associate (SA) License
Following the completion of the procedures to obtain your PSA license, you must complete the 45-hour Oklahoma real estate post-licensing course within one year of receiving your license. This will allow you to renew your Sales Associate license for another year.
How to Get Your License if You Are a Nonresident (Reciprocity)
Those who hold a nonresident real estate license and wish to get an Oklahoma real estate license are required to complete three clock hours of necessary coursework.
The three clock hours must be earned via participation in Oklahoma-specific real estate continuing education courses in the following subjects:
Program for Nonresident Licensees (Nonresident Licensee Course Program)
How Long Does It Take to Get Your Oklahoma Real Estate License?
The entire procedure, from completing the requisite schooling to earning your certification, can take anywhere between one and four months. All students have six months to complete their curriculum, according to OREC requirements. Fingerprinting and a background check might take anywhere from 4 to 6 weeks to be completed.
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Oklahoma?
The entire cost of acquiring your license is around $699.00. This covers educational expenses, application fees, background check fees, and test fees, among other things.
|Application Fee||Provisional Sales Associates: $100.00Sales Associates: $200|
Oklahoma Real Estate Exam Requirements
Sales associate and broker licensing tests are administered by the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission on a regular basis for both sales associate and broker levels of licensure. In order to obtain more thorough information from the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission, please visit theOREC website. Students have three years from the time they finish either the Salesperson or the Broker licensure courses to pass the state test, whichever comes first.
Oklahoma Real Estate Commission (OREC)Denver N. Davison Building1915 North Stiles Avenue, Suite 200Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105-4915Denver N. Davison Building1915 North Stiles Avenue, Suite 200Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105-4915 The Oregon Real Estate Commission (OREC) regulates all areas of real estate licensing for both Sales Associates and Brokers. Please go to the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission website for the most up-to-date information on real estate licensing requirements and regulations.
Becoming A Real Estate Agent in Oklahoma
Let us assist you with any questions you have about getting started in real estate and becoming a licensed real estate salesperson. In order to assist you with this important step, we’ve compiled and answered some commonly asked questions about getting your real estate license in Oklahoma. Purchase your Oklahoma Pre-Licensing Certificate »
What are the prerequisites to get an Oklahoma real estate license?
In order to work as a real estate agent in Oklahoma, you must meet a few fundamental standards. All candidates must meet the following requirements, according to the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission:
- You must be 18 years old or older, and you must agree to submit to a background check. Make a firm commitment to maintaining a high level of moral integrity in the eyes of the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission Residents of the DACA program are ineligible to apply for an Oklahoma real estate license. Before their status may be altered, the beneficiary must first be in a legitimate non-immigrant status under the terms of INA Section 248 (8 US Code Section 1258), according to the law. When applying for a change of status into a non-immigrant status such as H-1B, TN, or R-1, the beneficiary must be in lawful non-immigrant status at the time of the application
- DACA is not regarded to be a legitimate non-immigrant status.
What should I know about Oklahoma Post-licensing?
Following the issuance of your original Provisional Sales Associate (PSA) license, you’ll be required to fulfill Post-Licensing requirements during the first year of your license. The month in which a license is issued counts toward the one-year licensing term, regardless of whether the license is issued on the first day of the month or the final day of the month. This implies that after earning your PSA, you’ll be required to complete an additional 45 hours of study. Your completed application will need you to submit a new application requesting the promotion from PSA to Sales Associate (SA).
Can you get an Oklahoma real estate license if you have a felony or misdemeanor?
Applicants who have been convicted of felony charges listed in Title 59 Section 858-301.1 may be disqualified to receive an Oklahoma Real Estate License for a period of time that is decided by the court.
Please contact the Commission and/or reread the stated portion of law that is addressed above if you want further clarity.
Can you get your Oklahoma real estate license online?
The Oklahoma Real Estate Division allows aspiring real estate agents to complete all Pre-Licensing curriculum online; however, the education source must be recognized by the state agency. Make sure that the provider you choose is approved to conduct Pre-Licensing instruction before enrolling.
What are the rules for reciprocity in Oklahoma?
For additional information about real estate reciprocity in the state of Oklahoma, please see the website of the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission (OREC). Reciprocity implies that you are not required to complete the 90-hour education requirement, and in order to become a real estate agent in Oklahoma, you simply need to pass the Oklahoma state component of the Accredited Buyer Representative Examination (AMP Exam).
How long does it take to get a real estate license in Oklahoma?
The average amount of time it takes to finish your Oklahoma Provisional Sales Associate certification. Pre-Licensing education is reliant on a variety of elements, the majority of which are determined by how quickly the student is ready to work. Approximately three-quarters of students finish their educational requirements in three to four months. Following the completion of the course, there are extra measures that must be taken into consideration. In addition to scheduling and completing the Oklahoma real estate test, you must also submit an application for Oklahoma Provisional Sales Associate status.
How much does a real estate course in Oklahoma cost?
Real estate is expensive, as is the expense of living. Pre-Licensing courses in Oklahoma differ from one education provider to the next owing to a variety of criteria, such as whether the course is offered online or in person. In addition to the educational requirements, you’ll be required to pay for the following items.
- State application cost
- Fingerprinting and background check
- The Oklahoma Salesperson Real Estate Exam
Where do I take my Oklahoma real estate license exam?
Applicants can sit for the Oklahoma Salesperson real estate test at one of four PSI locations around the state of Oklahoma. Oklahoma City, McAlester, Tulsa, and Woodward are among the cities that will be offering testing. You may look up the address of the PSI location that is nearest to you on the company’s website. If you live outside of Oklahoma, you can take the test at any PSI testing center.
Do you need to have a diploma or GED to get your Oklahoma real estate license?
There are four PSI venues in Oklahoma where students may take the Oklahoma Salesperson real estate test. Oklahoma City, McAlester, Tulsa, and Woodward are among the cities that provide testing. You may look up the address of the PSI location that is nearest to you on the company’s web site. If you live outside of Oklahoma, you can take the exam at any PSI testing center.
How old do you have to be to get your Oklahoma real estate license?
To be eligible for an Oklahoma real estate license, all candidates must be at least 18 years old in order to satisfy the qualifications set out by the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission.
Does Oklahoma have real estate license reciprocity with any other states?
Despite the fact that Oklahoma does not have a formal reciprocity agreement with any other states, there are certain methods for out-of-state agents to expedite the licensing process in Oklahoma. Out-of-state agents are required to take Oklahoma-based training on ethics, as well as a course on professional contracts and forms, according to the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission.
The administrative approval procedure will include the submission of applications (and any associated costs), background checks, and the submission of your license history. Learn everything you can about reciprocity in Oklahoma so that you can shorten the application process for your clients.
Oklahoma State Requirements: Sales Associate
Pre-licensing hours required by the state of Oklahoma are 90 hours. Hours of instruction for the Real Estate Express Oklahoma course are 90 hours. APPLY RIGHT NOW! To get an Oklahoma real estate license, you must first meet the standards listed on theOklahoma Real Estate Commissionwebsite.
- To qualify, you must be at least 18 years old and of good moral character.
Step 2.Complete a 90-hour Oklahoma Basic Course in Real Estate that has been authorized (Part I). In order to acquire an authorized background check, step 3 requires you to submit a fingerprint verification card. Obtain your Oklahoma Provisional Sales Associate license by completing an application. Success in passing the real estate license examination with a score of 75 percent or above is the fifth step. A sponsorship from an Oklahoma real estate broker is the sixth step to take. Step 7.Complete a 45-hour Provisional Postlicense Course in Real Estate (Part II) that has been approved by the state within the first year of receiving a licensing.
How long does it take to get an Oklahoma real estate license?
The time it takes to obtain an Oklahoma real estate license varies from person to person and is determined by the rate at which you complete the 90 hours of pre-licensing coursework and pass your licensing examination, the length of time it takes you to complete the application process and post-license course, and the length of time it takes to process your application and background check.
What kind of information will I learn to help me get a real estate license in Oklahoma?
The Oklahoma Real Estate Commission has authorized all of the Real Estate Express courses that are offered. The Oklahoma Real Estate License Exam will be available to you once you have finished the course requirements. In accordance with Real Estate Express policy, the 90-hour Basic Course in Real Estate (Part I) must be completed within six (6) months of the commencement date of the program. This program’s coursework includes instruction in real estate law, different types of property interests and ownership, home ownership, legal descriptions and descriptions of land and building titles, liens, taxes and encumbrances.
The education is valid for three years from the date of completion of the course.
EXPLORE THE COURSES AND PACKAGES
How do I submit my fingerprints for the background check?
All applicants for the issue of a new license must first complete the necessary application and submit it together with a fingerprint card and the $41.00 cost, which are both required. The Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigations will receive the fingerprint cards, which will be provided to them by the Commission (OSBI). Upon receiving and accepting your fingerprints, they will transmit the prints to the Federal Bureau of Investigations for further investigation (FBI).
How do I submit my Oklahoma Sales Associate application?
Your examination application will be processed by the Commission for eligibility, and PSI will be advised by the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission (OREC) of an applicant’s approval to test upon receipt at the OREC of the application for licensing, which must include the following information:
- A fingerprint card that has been completed and paid for
- A copy of your passport or proof of your eligible alien status a recent photograph
- Proof of education can be presented either with the application or after the end of the educational program in question.
This section of the provisional sales associate application allows the applicant to register with a broker prior to taking the examination; however, it is not required that this section of the form be completed prior to taking the examination; however, if said last page is completed, an applicant can proceed to have their license issued after passing the examination and receiving final approval.
Should they not have chosen a broker by the time their application is processed, an applicant has the option of placing their license on inactive status.
Find out more about how to locate a sponsored broker.
How do I apply for and take the Oklahoma Sales Associate licensing examination?
After your application has been approved by the Commission, you will get an email notification from PSI with your Candidate ID number and instructions on how to arrange your test. It is necessary to register for and take the sales associate test on PSI’s website, which may be found at www.psiexams.com. A passing examination score is valid for one (1) year from the date of the examination. At the time of your arrival at the testing site, you will be required to present two (2) forms of identification, with at least one of the proofs of identity being a VALID form of government issued identification, such as a driver’s license or state ID card, or a passport, which bears your signature and contains a photograph of yourself.
The chance to study their missed questions is available to applicants who fail the examination at the conclusion of their examination, but only for one hour immediately following the conclusion of their examination.
Does Oklahoma require post-licensing education?
Following successful completion of the state examination and receipt of a Provisional Sales Associate (PSA) license from the Commission, a PSA is required to complete a 45-hour Provisional Postlicense Course of Real Estate (Part II) approved by the Commission within the first year of receiving the license. The month in which a license is issued counts toward the one-year licensing term, regardless of whether the license is issued on the first day of the month or the final day of the month. The Commission will award a Sales Associate license to a PSA who has shown evidence of successful completion of a post-licensing course and who has completed the relevant paperwork and fees at the end of the one-year license period.
Does Oklahoma offer reciprocity?
Oklahoma has signed treaties with the following countries and states:
- Alabama, Arkansas, Iowa, Louisiana, Maryland, Nebraska, North Dakota, and South Dakota are the states involved.
A non-resident active licensee may submit an application for an Oklahoma license if they meet the following requirements:
- As a sales associate or broker, you must have at least two (2) years of relevant active experience gained within the previous five (5) years. Obtaining certification of licensure confirms that the licensee’s license is valid in the state or jurisdiction where they obtained the license Obtain at least one (1) hour of instruction in each of three (3) Oklahoma state-specific courses: Contracts and Forms (CON), Code and Rules (CAR), and Broker Relationship Act (BRA). Obtain approval on the background check by completing and paying all necessary paperwork and costs, which includes the approval of the background check. Obtaining a passing score on the relevant test
Certificate of Course Completion: Upon successful completion of the course, Real Estate Express will present you with an electronic certificate of completion that will be accessible on your account dashboard. You will be required to submit your certificate of completion together with your application for a provisional sales associate license. Because course completion dates are recorded in Central Standard Time, the time shown on your certificate will be the same as the time shown on your certificate.
How to get an Oklahoma real estate license in 5 steps – ASAP
In Oklahoma, licensed real estate brokers have a plethora of excellent career prospects. You must first obtain your real estate license in Oklahoma before you can begin working as a real estate agent in that state. Before we guide you through the procedures required in obtaining your Oklahoma real estate license, let’s talk about the several levels of licensure available to real estate agents in the state of Oklahoma. Sales Associate on a temporary basis (PSA) This is the entry-level real estate license in the state of Oklahoma.
- Additionally, if you have not held an active real estate license in the last five years, you should consider getting this type of license.
- This license is valid for three years and may be renewed, however the Provisional Sales Associate license is only valid for one year after you have passed the licensing test.
- Broker Associate is a position in the brokerage industry.
- Broker If you previously held or now hold an active broker license in another state within the last five years, this license would be the ideal option for you to pursue.
- Branch Broker is a person who works in the branch of a company.
- It is possible to run the branch office of any legal business organization if you have this type of license.
Now that you’ve learned about the many types of real estate licenses available, let’s talk about how to obtain an Oklahoma real estate license. The following are the pre-qualifications you’ll need to meet before you can begin the application process for a real estate license in your state.
- In Oklahoma, professional real estate brokers have a plethora of excellent options. Getting your real estate license in Oklahoma is the first step towards becoming a real estate agent in the state of Oklahoma. To begin, let’s talk about the different levels of licensing that real estate agents in Oklahoma may obtain before we lead you through the processes required in obtaining your license. Sales Representative for a temporary basis (PSA) This is the most basic real estate license available in Oklahoma. It is the most suitable option for people who are just starting out in the real estate market, Additionally, if you have not held a valid real estate license in the last five years, you should consider getting this type of license. Assisting in Sales (SA) However, as a Sales Associate, you are required to complete twenty-one hours of continuing education credits for every active licensing cycle, which is equivalent to the requirements of the PSA. Unlike the Provisional Sales Associate license, which is valid for one year after passing the licensing test, this license is renewed for three years. If you previously held an active sales associate license in another state during the last five years, this is the type of license you should seek out for yourself. Affiliate of a broker It is recommended that you obtain this type of license if you are currently or have previously had an active broker or broker associate license in another state within the last five years. Broker For those who have held or currently hold an active broker license in another state within the previous five years, this license would be an excellent choice for them. An LLC/association, or a proprietorship can all be managed under the terms of this sort of license. The Branch Broker is responsible for coordinating the activities of the branch offices. If you have held or currently hold an active broker license in another state within the last five years, this license may be appropriate for you. You can manage the branch office of any legal business organization if you have this type of license. Knowing the many types of real estate licenses available, let’s talk about how to obtain an Oklahoma real estate license. The following are the pre-qualifications you’ll need to meet before you can begin the application process for a real estate license in California.
Step one is to complete all of the required pre-licensing courses. It will take you 90 hours to fulfill the pre-licensing training requirements. In Oklahoma, you must complete this course before you may apply for a license to practice real estate. Make certain that you take this course seriously since all of the knowledge you obtain will be beneficial to you in your real estate profession after completion. Step two: Clear the background investigation. In order for your background check to be authorized, you must submit your fingerprint verification card to the appropriate authorities.
- Prior to receiving approval for your background check, it will take roughly sixty days or longer.
- Submit your application to the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission in the third step (OREC) A real estate license in Oklahoma is required for anybody who want to work as a licensed real estate agent in the state.
- They conduct tests on a regular basis for the broker and sales associate levels of license.
- When you have completed your 90-hour pre-licensing course, you may proceed to register for your exam at a PSI testing location.
- There are 130 questions in the PSA and SA exams.
- The broker test consists of 150 multiple-choice questions.
- Your exam score will be provided to you immediately following the conclusion of your exam.
- However, you will only have four hours to complete all of the questions on the broker test form.
- The test will be multiple choice, and you will be required to complete it on a computer.
Commercial, industrial, and income properties, subdivisions, real estate calculations, the practice of real estate, transfer of title, contracts, property condition and disclosures, general principles of agency, financing, valuation, and market analysis, land use controls and regulations, and property ownership are all covered in the national portion.
- Obtain sponsorship from an Oklahoma real estate broker as the fifth step.
- This sponsored broker must be picked with care, as their performance will have a significant impact on your ability to succeed in the real estate sector in the future.
- Make certain that you complete and submit your request for the issue of an active Sales Associate or Provisional Sales Associate License to OREC by the specified deadline.
- FAQ: How long do you think it will take you to obtain your real estate license in Oklahoma?
- You have six months to finish your courses, according to the standards of the Ohio Regional Education Center.
- Frequently Asked Questions: How much does it cost to obtain an Oklahoma real estate license?
- It is your responsibility to cover the costs of your exams, background checks, educational expenses, and application fees.
The price for Provisional Sales Associates is one hundred dollars.
There is a $35 processing charge.
The price for the Salesperson test is $60.
You have three years from the date on which you finish either the Broker or Salesperson license courses to pass the state examination.
This article was last updated on December 9, 2021.
Chris is on the AgentAdvice Editorial Board and is the Chief Real Estate Officer at OJO Labs, where he also works as the Chief Real Estate Officer.
Chris brings extensive industry experience to the table, having previously served as the CEO of mellohome and as the former CEO of Keller Williams Realty International, among other positions.
Oklahoma Real Estate License Requirements
Oklahoma has more man-made lakes than any other state, with more than one million surface acres of water, making it the most water-rich state in the country. And in the southern part of the state, you’ll discover four mountain ranges to explore: the Ouachita, the Arbuckle, the Wichita, and the Kiamichi Mountains. But if the view isn’t enough, you’ll also be able to sample some of the best southern cuisine around. By obtaining an Oklahoma real estate license, you will be able to introduce your customers to the many attractions that the “Sooner State” has to offer.
Find all of the information you need to obtain your Oklahoma real estate license online in the sections below.
How To Become a Real Estate Agent in Oklahoma
There are approximately one million surface acres of water in Oklahoma’s man-made lakes, more than any other state, making it the leader in the nation. In addition, four mountain ranges may be found in the southern part of the state: the Ouachita, Arbuckle, Wichita, and Kiamichi ranges. You’ll also discover some amazing southern cuisine if the beauty isn’t enough for you. By obtaining an Oklahoma real estate license, you will be able to introduce your customers to the many attractions that the “Sooner State” has to offer them.
Obtain your Oklahoma real estate license online by reviewing the information provided below.
Basic Oklahoma Real Estate License Requirements
The following conditions must be accomplished in order to become a licensed real estate agent in Oklahoma:
- It is necessary to be at least 18 years old. Applicants must possess a high school diploma or GED. It is necessary to have good moral character.
How Do I Apply for My Oklahoma Real Estate License?
What you’ll need is the following:
- Application for a license
- Background check
- And proof of citizenship are all required. Evidence of one’s nationality
- Certificate of completion
- Photo of the student’s passport
Prior to submitting an application for a Provisional Sales Associate (PSA) license, you must provide documentation to the Commission that you have successfully completed a 90-hour fundamental real estate course. In the real estate industry, a PSA is a new licensee who works under the supervision of a real estate broker. All educational requirements must be fulfilled within 36 months of the application deadline. When applying for a license, you must submit to a background check. It is possible to book an appointment to give your fingerprints through IdentoGO for a charge of $60, which includes the obligatory fingerprinting fee.
The application price for a Provisional Sales Associate license is $70, and it is non-refundable.
When the Commission receives all of the required documentation, they will review the application to verify that it is accurate and comprehensive.
You must take a 45-hour post-licensing course within the first year of receiving your PSA license after passing the state exam and receiving your license.
Once you have submitted proof of completion of a post-licensing course, as well as your application form and $165 cost, you will be given a Sales Associate (SA) license by the Commission of the Interior.
How Do I Schedule My Exam?
When PSI 5 is booked, the Oklahoma Real Estate exam can also be scheduled. Enrollment for the real estate license test is $60, which may be paid online at the time of registration.
What Can I Expect During the Oklahoma Licensing Exam?
The Oklahoma Real Estate test consists of 130 questions that are divided into national and state-specific sections. To pass, you must answer 98 questions correctly (or 75 percent of the total) on the national component. You will be given three hours to finish the exam in its entirety.
Are You Approved by Oklahoma to Offer Pre-License Courses?
When the national and state-specific components of the Oklahoma Real Estate test are combined, there are 130 questions, and you must answer 98 questions correctly (or 75 percent) in order to pass. For the test, you will have three hours to complete the tasks assigned.
In today’s highly competitive business climate, it is frequently necessary to have more than simply motivation and initiative in order to be successful. Learn more about GRI by visiting their website.
What makes professional development important?
You get a solid foundation of information to help you negotiate the current real estate market – no matter how difficult it may be to navigate.
You maintain a high level of professionalism and are dedicated to providing your clients and customers with the greatest level of ethical service.
You will learn from industry professionals from all across the country, expand your referral network, and have access to the most up-to-date technologies and techniques.
December 8 – 9
Attend GRI 302 in person if you can! Now is the time to register.
The Tax Year Comes to an End on Your Terms! Changes are almost certainly on the way. You’ve most likely seen the news reports. Every new government ushers in a fresh round of modifications to the tax code. This time, though, things are a little different. Now is the time to register.
Graduate Realtor® Institute
The Graduate, REALTOR® Institute (GRI) insignia is the designation of a real estate professional who has made the commitment to deliver a high level of professional services by obtaining a solid educational foundation in the real estate industry. It is a method to distinguish yourself from other REALTORS® in the eyes of prospective home buyers and sellers as a professional who has earned extensive expertise in both technical areas and the foundations of real estate. Read on to find out more
Your education may be tailored to your needs.
The Oklahoma Real Estate Commission is in charge of all license applications, which must be authorized before they can be granted (OREC). While OAR does not currently provide pre-license or broker’s license courses directly, our education partner does so on behalf of OAR. More information about earning a license as well as pre-licensing courses may be obtained at the links provided below.
Oklahoma Real Estate Commission
Learn more about the licensing procedure in Oklahoma, including the fees and time commitments involved in obtaining a permit. Fill up an application right away.
Prior to taking the OREC temporary sales associate license test, you must take and pass a pre-licensing course as part of your real estate education. Fill up an application right away.
By studying for and taking the state broker licensing test, you may take your profession to the next level. Take the broker licensing course before taking the test through the OREC before you take the exam. Fill up an application right away.
This course, which is intended to identify and develop emerging REALTOR® leaders in the state, encourages young leaders through motivational activities and assists them in honing their leadership skills in the hope that they will have a significant positive impact on the future of the association and the profession in general. Read on to find out more All rights reserved by the Oklahoma Association of Realtors® in the year 2021.
Oklahoma Real Estate Broker requirements
858-303. Eligibility for a real estate broker’s license—Examination for eligibility Candidates for broker licenses who already possess a sales associate license or who are not already licensed must fulfill the following criteria: 1. Possess two (2) years of professional licensure, or its equivalent, during the last five (5) years. Two (2) items of evidence must be submitted to the Commission: successful completion of ninety (90) clock hours or its equivalent, as determined by the Commission, of advanced real estate instruction in a course of study approved by the Commission, and completion of the Broker in Charge course, as defined by the Code.
- provide documentation verifying ten (10) real estate transactions within the previous five (5) years or the equivalent as determined by the Commission during the preceding five-year period.
- Submit an application to the Commission in order to sit for an examination in order to obtain a broker’s license.
- Applications must be submitted on forms required by the Commission and must be accompanied by the fees set out in this Code as well as any other information or documentation that the Commission may demand.
- In order to get a broker license, applicants who already have a broker associate license must complete the following requirements: 1.
- Provide evidence of successful completion of the Broker in Charge course, as provided in the Code; and3.
- The term “transaction” shall be defined in Section 858-351 of this chapter and shall be evidenced on forms prepared by the Commission for the purposes of this paragraph.
- Applications must be submitted on forms prescribed by the Commission and must be accompanied by the fees set out in this Code as well as any other information or documentation that the Commission may require in its discretion.
- Qualifications for obtaining a broker associate license.
- Possess a valid renewal broker associate or sales associate license, as well as two (2) years’ experience as a sales associate or provisional sales associate, or its equivalent, within the previous five (5) years;2.
The education needed by this paragraph is only valid for three (3) years from the date the institution confirmed successful completion of the course; subsequently, the applicant must successfully complete an additional ninety (90) clock hours or its equivalent in advanced real estate training; and 3.
In order to be considered for admission, the candidate must present in person for an examination that will be prescribed by the Commission.
Upon successful completion of the examination, final approval of the application, and payment of the applicable fees set out in this Code as well as the Oklahoma Real Estate Education and Recovery Fund charge, the Commission shall grant to the applicant an Oklahoma broker associate license.
How to Get an Oklahoma Real Estate License
Table of Contents +Table of Contents – Table of Contents Obtaining your Oklahoma Real Estate License is the first step in becoming a real estate agent in the state of Oklahoma. In today’s world, you may complete this process practically entirely online. However, you will still need to appear in person for your licensure exam, but the rest of the procedure may be performed completely online! This article walks you through the steps necessary to obtain your Oklahoma Real Estate License in an easy-to-understand, step-by-step way.
How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Oklahoma
In Oklahoma, being a real estate agent is as simple as obtaining your license, locating a broker sponsor, and starting to work selling real estate! As long as you meet the standards listed below, you will be well on your way to achieving your objective.
Oklahoma Real Estate License Requirements
The following are the qualifications for becoming a real estate agent in Oklahoma:
- A citizen of the United States or an immigrant lawfully admitted to the country is required
- You must be at least 18 years old. Make a firm commitment to having strong moral character
How to Get Your Oklahoma Real Estate License
The Oklahoma Real Estate Commission requires 90 hours of Provisional Sales Associate Pre-Licensing instruction at an accredited real estate school before a person may be licensed as a real estate sales associate. The majority of people opt to complete their pre-license education course online. The majority of online courses are self-paced, and they provide study tools such as real estate sample examinations and flashcards, among other resources. Some courses even include a “guarantee” that you will pass the test on your first try if you finish the course requirements in full.
Take note that the goal of these courses is not only to check a box and fulfill a requirement, but rather to prepare you for passing your test and becoming a more effective insurance agent.
StateRequirement suggests the following courses and study materials for real estate license exams: The final pre-license test does not need to be overseen by a proctor, according to the CE ShopOklahoma policy. This is not the same thing as the state test in any way. You will take this exam, which will be issued by your pre-license education firm, to demonstrate that you have finished and retained the content from your pre-license education course. Closed-book and closed-note exams are administered, similar to the state examination.
Step 2. Oklahoma Real Estate License Exam
The Oklahoma Real Estate Exam is now available for you to take once you have finished your pre-license course requirements. The exam is $60 each try, with a maximum of three attempts allowed. The Oklahoma Real Estate Exam is comprised of 120 multiple-choice questions. This contains 80 people for the National part and 40 people for the State sections. In order to finish the exam in its entirety, you will have 180 minutes (3 hours). The National component of the Oklahoma Real Estate Salesperson Exam has a passing score of 60/80, while the State section has a passing score of 30/40.
If it is marked “Fail,” you will be shown a breakdown of your performance on the exam in each of the distinct sections. If you wish to repeat the test, you may use this as a guide to help you prepare for it.
How Hard is the Oklahoma Real Estate Exam?
The Oklahoma Real Estate Salesperson Exam has a passing percentage of 75%, according to the state. This test has been designed to be challenging, but not impossible to pass. Make sure to pay close attention during your pre-license training and to treat your learning as a serious endeavor. We are confident that you will pass your exam on your first try if you put out the necessary effort. Registration for the PSI Oklahoma Real Estate exam is available on the PSI Oklahoma Real Estate website. The Candidate Handbook and the Content Outline are both available on this page, as well as some other materials that may be of use.
This comprehensive book serves as an excellent companion to your pre-license training, ensuring that you pass on your first try.
Step 3. Fingerprinting and Background Check
Following successful completion of your test, you will be required to complete your fingerprints and background check. Before anybody may be licensed as a real estate salesperson in Oklahoma, the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission requires that they undergo a background check conducted by a third party. To begin this procedure, make an appointment with the vendorIdentoGO to give fingerprints on a computer or smartphone. When prompted for a service code, select Oklahoma Real Estate Commission from the drop-down menu that will appear.
The background check procedure will begin as soon as your fingerprints are completed and turned in.
During this process, they may contact you to ask for further information or paperwork to help them clear up any issues that have been discovered.
It is necessary to present proof of your conviction as well as any other relevant documents if this is the case.
If you are unsure whether or not you are qualified for a real estate license based on your past, read our article on Real Estate License Eligibility to find out more information.
Step 4. Real Estate License Application
The final step in obtaining your real estate license in Oklahoma is to complete your licensing application and submit it. The application fee for this application is $165.00. In addition to your application, you will be required to submit a $15 fee, which will be donated to the Oklahoma Real Estate Education and Recovery Fund. The application form must be completed and mailed to the following address: Oklahoma Real Estate Commission Denver N. Davidson Building 1915 N. Stiles, Suite 200 Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105 Oklahoma Real Estate Commission website Applicants must provide a photograph in the format of a passport in the dimensions specified on the application.
The photograph must be no more than twelve months old as of the day the application is handed to the OREC for consideration.
Step 5. Application Review
All that remains is for you to sit back and await the issuance of your license once you have fulfilled all the prerequisites. This procedure should take around 10 business days in the majority of situations. There are two methods in which a license can be issued:
- For those who want to have their original driver’s license issued on “Inactive Status,” the pocket card will be mailed to the licensee’s registered dwelling address. Alternatively, if the licensee chooses to have a license issued on “Active Status,” the wall license and pocket card will be shipped to the sponsoring broker’s office
At this time, you should contact the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission at (405) 521-3387 or [email protected] if you have any questions.
Don’t forget to take some time to recognize and appreciate your achievements. Your hard work and dedication have earned you a well-deserved celebration!
Oklahoma Real Estate License FAQ
Don’t forget to take some time to acknowledge and appreciate your achievements. Your hard work and dedication have earned you a well-deserved reward.
How Long Does it Take to Get an Oklahoma Insurance License?
Pre-licensing education and test preparation are the two phases that require the most time while obtaining your license, and they are also the most time-consuming. The average length of time it takes for people to complete a project is between 3 and 6 months from start to end. If you devote a full-time schedule to this procedure and work diligently, you may be able to accomplish it in as little as two months. We don’t advocate going much faster than this since it is unsafe. Take your time to study and prepare for the exam.
How to Get an Oklahoma Commercial Real Estate License
In order to sell commercial real estate in Oklahoma, you only need a regular Salesperson or Broker license, which is not difficult to obtain. There is no “business real estate license” in the traditional sense. If you want to pursue a career in real estate sales, especially commercial real estate, choose a broker that specializes in the sorts of transactions that you want to be a part of.
Are There any Real Estate Jobs Open Around Me?
To see available real estate opportunities in your region, visit StateRequirement Jobs.
OREC – Oklahoma Real Estate Commission
Oklahoma Real Estate Commission Denver N. Davidson Building 1915 N. Stiles, Suite 200 Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105 Mailing Address: Oklahoma Real Estate Commission Denver N. Davidson Building 1915 N. Stiles, Suite 200 Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105 Toll-free number: (405) 521-3387 Email: [email protected] Fax: (405) 521-2189 Website: www.orec.ok.gov Website: The information on this page has been compiled from a variety of sources, with the most recent update being made in December of this year.
StateRequirement, its members, and affiliates are not liable for any damages, whether monetary or non-monetary in character.
For further information, please contact the insurance regulatory body in your state.
Read on to find out more
How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Oklahoma
The first step in launching a successful real estate career in Oklahoma is to get a provisional sales associate license (PSA). Once you have completed post-licensing schooling under the supervision of your brokerage, you can apply to become a fully licensed sales representative. In addition, you must complete 90 hours of introductory instruction, submit a background check, provide evidence of citizenship, complete a license application, and get a passing score on the licensing exam.
Getting your Oklahoma real estate license is a complicated procedure, and this step-by-step tutorial will walk you through every stage of the process.
1. Meet the State’s Legal Requirements
When compared to other states, the legal criteria for obtaining a real estate license in Oklahoma are typical of the rest of the country. For this application to be considered, you must be at least 18 years old, have a high school diploma or GED, and submit documentation of your United States citizenship or that you are a lawfully admitted immigrant. This may normally be performed using a copy of a birth certificate or a valid passport, but other papers can also be used to verify identity and citizenship.
Despite the fact that many offenses have a statute of limitations, it is important to review the Oklahoma Real Estate License Code and Rulesguidelines, notably Section 13.1 of Title 21, to determine whether or not you are eligible to proceed with the real estate license procedure in Oklahoma.
Did You Know?
Oklahoma has reciprocity agreements with the following eight states: Alabama, Arkansas, Iowa, Louisiana, Maryland, Nebraska, North Dakota, and South Dakota, all of which are non-resident reciprocal states. If you follow the laws and requirements, you may be able to obtain an Oklahoma real estate license in addition to the one you now hold if you adhere to them. In addition, Oklahoma is a physical state in the sense of being transportable. This law enables agents and brokers to do business in another state, but it does not allow them to enter the state with the intent of conducting real estate business there.
2. Complete Required Prelicensing Courses
Alabama, Arkansas, Iowa, Louisiana, Maryland, Nebraska, North Dakota, and South Dakota are the eight states with which Oklahoma has reciprocity agreements for non-residents: Alabama, Arkansas, Iowa, Louisiana You may be eligible for an additional Oklahoma real estate license on top of the one you already hold provided you adhere to the rules and restrictions set out in the state. Oklahoma is also a physical state, which means it may be moved around. This law enables agents and brokers to do business in another state, but it does not permit them to enter the state for the purpose of conducting real estate business there.
- Leasing and property management are some of the topics covered in this course. Other topics include: property ownership, land use controls and regulations, valuation, and market analysis. Transfer of ownership
- Laws and Rules Affecting Oklahoma Real Estate Practice
- Oklahoma Broker Relationships Act
- Disclosures and Hazards
- Trust Accounts and Trust Fund
- Practice of Real Estate.
Did You Know?
Despite the fact that Oklahoma does not waive schooling or test requirements for licensee applicants, the state has implemented a point waiver system that will move you closer to earning an enhanced broker’s license to operate your own brokerage firm in Oklahoma. An applicant for a broker license who has not completed a two-year provisional sales associate or sales associate licensing term may be eligible provided they have similar work experience. To find out if you qualify, have a look at thePoint Waiver Application.
This company, which has received a Google rating of 4.9 out of 5 stars, offers a competitively cost education in a number of course forms. Pay a visit to Kevo University.
3. Complete FingerprintingBackground Check
Even though Oklahoma does not waive any education or examination requirements for licensee applicants, the state has implemented a point waiver system that will move you closer to acquiring an enhanced broker’s license and the ability to establish your own brokerage business. The comparable experience of a broker candidate who has not completed a two-year provisional sales associate or sales associate licensing term may be considered. To see out if you qualify, go at thePoint Waiver Form. Many other real estate education colleges are available to pick from, but if you want to get started as soon as possible, Kevo Universityis a fantastic alternative.
Kevo University is worth a look.
4. Apply for Your License
While your fingerprints are being processed, you should go on with the application for your PSA license as promptly as possible so that both processes may be finished at the same time. Creating an account on the OREC website will allow you to submit the papers listed in the Applicant Checklist. You will be needed to provide the following documents in order to be considered:
- Fee of $100
- Documentation demonstrating completion of prelicensing courses
- Fingerprints and a background check
- Proof of citizenship
- And other requirements
The OREC will examine and approve your application within five days of receiving it, and you will be notified by email of their decision. If they discover that you are missing any paperwork, they will contact you through email to arrange for the collection of the necessary papers.
5. Take the Exam
Following the completion of all relevant paperwork, it is time to sit for your test. The pass percentage for the Oklahoma test is around 55%, which is lower than the pass rate for most other states. The exam is conducted through the use of a computer, and your results will be presented immediately upon the conclusion of the exam. The only score you will receive if you pass will be a passing grade. You will be given a numerical score as well as a diagnostic analysis of your individual strengths and weaknesses in each category if you do not pass.
Despite the fact that applications are only valid for one year, if you do not submit a passing score within that year, you will need to submit a new application and background check to the OREC in order to be considered.
In the event that your application is approved, you will automatically get an email from the OREC. It contains your Candidate ID number, which you will need to register for the exam with PSI, a nationwide provider of state licensing examinations. To begin scheduling, you’ll need to register for a PSI account on the company’s website, which will then get you access to the scheduling portal. You will be sent with a copy of theCandidate Information Bulletin, which contains more testing details. The price to take the exam is $60, and it may be paid online with a credit or debit card via the link provided on the website.
It provides high-quality test preparation at a reasonable cost. What’s more, it offers a money-back guarantee in the event that you don’t pass on your first attempt. Real Estate Exam Scholar is a website worth visiting.
6. Pick a Company to Work For
A sponsoring brokerage with which to affiliate your license is required in order to maintain a current license in Oklahoma. You can apply forLicense Issuancethrough the Application Portal after passing your exam, or your brokerage can complete theIssuance for Real Estate License Formin order to activate your license with their company once you have completed your exam. Check out our in-depth advice on how to choose the best real estate business to work for if you want to make your decision a little bit simpler.
(Image courtesy of Real Trends2021)
Oklahoma Cities With Highest Median Sales Price 2021
Your commission is directly proportional to the price at which properties are selling in a certain location of the country. In order to get an idea of which communities are bringing in the most money in Oklahoma, consider the following sales statistics from Towncharts.combelow:
7. Start Your Real Estate Career
Now that you’ve learned everything you need to know about how to become a real estate agent in Oklahoma, you’re ready to begin your real estate career. Check out ourTop 25 New Real Estate Agent Tips From the Prosor14 Real Estate Agent Tips for 2021for additional information on how to get your career off to a good start in real estate.