Not have violated any civil rights laws regarding real estate within the last two years.
- Complete 120 hours of approved Pre-Licensing education.
- Pass the course final exams.
- Select a sponsoring broker.
- Complete the real estate license application.
- Pass the Ohio real estate salesperson exam.
- 1 How long does it take to become a real estate agent in Ohio?
- 2 How much does a realtor make in Ohio?
- 3 Is it worth it to become a real estate agent?
- 4 What disqualifies you from being a real estate agent in Ohio?
- 5 Is the Ohio real estate exam hard?
- 6 Do you get a base salary as a real estate agent?
- 7 What is difference between real estate agent and realtor?
- 8 What is the highest paying real estate job?
- 9 Why I quit being a real estate agent?
- 10 Is real estate a dying career?
- 11 How many hours do real estate agents work?
- 12 How many times can you take the real estate exam in Ohio?
- 13 Can a felon sell real estate in Ohio?
- 14 Can a felon be a realtor in Ohio?
- 15 How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Ohio – Licensing & Requirements
- 15.1 How long does it take to get an Ohio real estate license?
- 15.2 What kind of information will I learn to help me get a real estate license in Ohio?
- 15.3 How do I register for the Ohio real estate licensing state exam?
- 15.4 How do I submit my fingerprints for the background check?
- 15.5 How do I submit my Ohio Salesperson application?
- 15.6 Does Ohio offer reciprocity?
- 15.7 Regulatory notes
- 16 Salesperson, Broker License Requirements
- 17 How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Ohio
- 18 Step 1: Be at Least 18 Years of Age
- 19 Step 2: Complete Your Required Education
- 20 Step 3: Obtain a Sponsoring Broker
- 21 Step 4: Submit Your Application
- 22 Step 5: Schedule Your Test
- 23 How to Start Your Real Estate Career
- 24 Pre-Licensure Coursework
- 25 Find a Broker
- 26 State Real Estate Exam
- 27 State License
- 28 Now what?
- 29 We are here to help
- 30 How to Get an Ohio Real Estate License in 5 Easy Steps
- 31 How Much Does It Cost to Get an Ohio Real Estate License?
- 32 How to Get an Ohio Real Estate Agent License in 5 Easy Steps
- 33 How to Get a Real Estate License in Ohio: FAQs
- 33.0.1 Can I get my Ohio real estate license online?
- 33.0.2 Is the Ohio real estate exam hard?
- 33.0.3 How much does it cost to get an Ohio real estate license?
- 33.0.4 How long does it take to become a real estate agent in Ohio?
- 33.0.5 How much money does a real estate agent in Ohio make?
- 33.0.6 What if I have a real estate license from another state?
- 33.0.7 What should I bring to the testing center?
- 34 More Career Resources From The Close
- 35 How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Ohio
- 36 1. Meet Ohio’s Legal Requirements
- 37 2. Complete Required Prelicensing Courses
- 38 3. Pick a Company to Work For
- 39 4. Apply for Your Ohio Real Estate License
- 40 5. Get FingerprintsBackground Check
- 41 6. Take the Ohio Real Estate Exam
- 42 7. Start Your Real Estate Career
How long does it take to become a real estate agent in Ohio?
On average, it takes between two (2) – three (3) months to get an Ohio real estate license depending on the pace in which you complete the 120 hours of pre-licensing courses, pass your licensing examinations, the time it takes you to complete the application process and application processing times.
How much does a realtor make in Ohio?
The average salary for a real estate agent in Ohio is around $35,190 per year.
Is it worth it to become a real estate agent?
Choosing to become an estate agent is no longer a stop-gap or part-time job, but a real career choice with excellent prospects. It is an option definitely worth considering for graduates and school leavers, especially those with ambition, drive and initiative and who enjoy dealing with people.
What disqualifies you from being a real estate agent in Ohio?
Meet Ohio’s Legal Requirements If you hold a criminal record with a conviction of any felony or crime of moral turpitude, you are disqualified from becoming a real estate agent in Ohio.
Is the Ohio real estate exam hard?
The Ohio Real Estate Salesperson Exam is one of the hardest state test to pass in the United States. We have compiled this simple exam cram book that quickly and easily prepares you to take your state licensing exam and pass it on the 1st try with the PSI exam.
Do you get a base salary as a real estate agent?
Do Real Estate Agents Get Paid a Base Salary? Most real estate agents are paid on a commission-only basis. But certain agents—including those who are employed by companies like Redfin—get a base salary plus bonuses.
What is difference between real estate agent and realtor?
Real estate agents have a professional license to help people buy, sell, and rent real estate. A Realtor is a licensed real estate agent or broker (or other real estate professional) who is a member of the National Association of Realtors (NAR). Members must comply with NAR’s strict Code of Ethics.
What is the highest paying real estate job?
The 6 Highest Paying Real Estate Careers with Good Salaries
- Home Inspector. If you already have a good main job and are looking for a part-time gig to maximize your income, you can work as a home inspector.
- Real Estate Lawyer.
- Real Estate Broker.
- Commercial Real Estate Agent.
- Property Manager.
- Corporate Real Estate Manager.
Why I quit being a real estate agent?
Most new real estate agents quit their first year because of the emotional toll of “fear of failure” and rejection. Nobody likes to feel rejected. Rejection is part of the job but remember that people are not rejecting you. They are rejecting the notion of buying or selling at that time.
Is real estate a dying career?
Real estate isn’t a dying career. In fact, there are more real estate agents in 2021 than perhaps ever before. However, the field is changing dramatically, with the advent of online marketing, VR and virtual tours, and easy online paperwork.
How many hours do real estate agents work?
Daily and Weekly Routines Nearly half (49 percent) work 40 hours or more. What’s more, over half (53 percent) say they work the same hours or longer today than they did their first year.
How many times can you take the real estate exam in Ohio?
You are allowed three attempts to pass both the national and state law portions of the exam. If you do not both portions after three attempts, you must take 30 or 60 hours of additional education in order to retake the licensing exam.
Can a felon sell real estate in Ohio?
Beginning April 4, 2019, individuals who have been convicted of a criminal offense can make application to the Ohio Division of Real Estate for a preliminary determination on whether the conviction disqualifies the individual from obtaining a professional license.
Can a felon be a realtor in Ohio?
Not have been convicted of a felony or a crime of moral turpitude. In some circumstances, it is possible to have a conviction or violation disregarded, which would allow you to sit for the exam. The Division may only make a determination with respect to a conviction or violation if you file an application.
How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Ohio – Licensing & Requirements
Make contact with a member of the enrolling team. We’re here to assist you! Hondros College is committed to assisting you at every stage of your real estate education and professional development journey. Contact us today to learn more. The processes required to become a real estate agent in Ohio are outlined in the information provided below. Keep in mind that the standards for real estate license differ from state to state. If you have any queries, our team would be more than delighted to assist you.
Are you prepared to begin?
Ohio State University is looking for a salesperson.
The first step is to ensure that you meet all of the basic Ohio real estate licensing criteria listed on the Ohio Division of Real Estate website.
- When applying for a driver’s license, you must be at least 18 years old. Not having been convicted of any felonies or crimes of moral depravity in order to be considered for this position. As established by a court of law during the last two years, you have not violated any civil rights statutes pertaining to real estate, nor have you broken the laws or regulations of the Ohio Division of Real Estate. It may be possible to have a conviction or violation overlooked in some situations, which would allow you to sit for the test if you meet the requirements. If you file an application with the Division, the Division will only be able to make a determination about a conviction or violation. Further information about this procedure can be obtained by contacting the Division directly or by reviewing the extra material available on the Division’s website.
Step 2: Completing the 120 hours of pre-licensing instruction that has been authorized. We provide a variety of options for completing the needed coursework, including self-paced online courses, instructor-led Livestream sessions, and a mix of the two! Please see the following link for additional information about Livestream courses and how they work: Step 3: Choose a broker who will act as a sponsor. Do you require assistance in locating a broker? Make a plan to attend one of our Career Expos!
If you completed a background check before to submitting your application, please contact the Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Education at 614-466-4100 to check on the progress of your application.
How long does it take to get an Ohio real estate license?
On average, it takes between two (2) and three (3) months to obtain an Ohio real estate license, depending on how quickly you complete the 120 hours of pre-licensing courses, pass your licensing examinations, complete the application process, and the length of time it takes the state to process your application.
What kind of information will I learn to help me get a real estate license in Ohio?
In accordance with Hondros College regulation, salespersons must complete the 120-hour pre-license coursework and pass the school exam within six (6) months from the date of enrollment or purchase of the course. Within the 6-month term, the student may audit any individual session(s) one extra time. There are 18 mandatory sessions that must be completed in order to complete the 120 hours. Each session is completely separate from the others and can be completed in any sequence.
Students enrolled in Livestream and Classroom courses who need to skip a class or alter their class schedule can do so at any moment using their online student account. Education is required in the following areas:
- Real Estate Principles and Practices (40 hours)
- Ohio Real Estate Law (40 hours)
- Real Estate Appraisal (20 hours)
- Real Estate Finance (20 hours)
- Real Estate Finance (20 hours).
How do I register for the Ohio real estate licensing state exam?
A Candidate Information Bulletin with directions for scheduling your exam will be sent to you when your application has been reviewed and completed successfully. Reservations for real estate state tests may be made by calling PSI Exams at 1-855-834-8749 or by visiting their website at psiexams.com. A passing grade of 70 percent or above is required by the state to be considered successful. CompuCram, the greatest online exam prep software in the market, is available to you at Hondros College to assist you in preparing for the Ohio real estate license examination.
CompuCram will assist you in learning at your own speed and provide you with tools that will position you for success in your future job.
- Original Salesperson ApplicationFee, which includes the signature of the sponsoring broker
- Obtaining a Pre-Licensure Education Certificate (the 120-hour certificate)
- Obtaining a criminal background check that includes both state and federal records
- The submission of fingerprints
- Proof of Legal Presence (FrontBack)
- Broker Hire form (if applicable)
- And any other documents as required.
Persons applying for the salesperson’s exam who have not been licensed as a real estate salesperson within the four-year period immediately preceding their current application for the salesperson’s exam must have completed the required education within the ten-year period immediately preceding their current application for the salesperson’s exam.
How do I submit my fingerprints for the background check?
In order to assist you in meeting this requirement from the convenience of your own home, Hondros College makes fingerprint kits available through FastFingerprints. For additional information about our fingerprinting services, please visit this page. It gives us great pleasure to be able to assist state and local licensing agencies with the licensing process by transmitting fingerprints to the Ohio BCI for civilian background checks to support industries such as real estate, home inspection, notary, appraiser, and the financial services industry.
How do I submit my Ohio Salesperson application?
Once the division has received your information, they will evaluate your application and provide it to the testing vendor for consideration. The Ohio Division of Real Estate will accept the completed Salesperson Examination Application together with the appropriate documentation and a nonrefundable check or money order for $81 made payable to the Ohio Division of Real Estate at the location shown below: The Ohio Division of Commerce’s Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing is located at 77 South High Street, 20th floor, in Columbus, Ohio.
Please keep in mind that the Ohio Division of Real Estate now requires real estate applicants to have their fingerprints processed for background checks within ten days of submitting their application to the Division.
Does Ohio offer reciprocity?
Licenses from other states may be accepted in Ohio.
Please visit the Ohio Division of Real Estate’s website to learn more about the precise requirements and forms for Out-of-State license recognition. Individuals who wish to get licensure through Out-of-State License Recognition must meet the following requirements:
- Residents of states having reciprocal agreements with Ohio are eligible to apply. You must have had a valid salesperson’s license in that state for at least one year. Take an Ohio Real Estate Law Course at a university or other institution of higher learning. Be associated with a licensed broker in the state of Ohio
- For at least one year, you are currently licensed in another state. Completion of a state-approved real estate education program in the other state
- Achieved a passing score on the real estate licensing exams in another state An applicant’s license or certificate has not been revoked or voluntarily relinquished in any other state or nation
- There is no outstanding complaint, allegation, or inquiry against an applicant, and no discipline has been imposed by another regulatory agency against him or her
- Make a submission of the Salesperson Reciprocity Examination Application along with a $81.00 fee. A Consent to Service of Process form
- A letter of good standing from the state where the license is issued
- And a copy of the court order.
The state mandates that students spend a minimum amount of time in the course subject. Our online and livestream course systems keep track of each student’s compliance with this requirement. Students enrolled in Livestream and Classroom courses who are unable to make it to class on time or who need to skip a session can reschedule for a later day and time using their online student account. More than 10 hours (2 classes) per day cannot be credited on a student’s transcript. You may only access one session at a time while taking the online course; after that session is completed, you may go on to the next session.
Obtaining a Certificate of Completion of the Course: In order to verify that you have completed your 120 hours of instruction, Hondros College will email you an electronic certificate of completion.
In addition, when you apply for your license with the Ohio Division of Real Estate, you will be required to provide a copy of your certificate at the time of your state test.
Division of Real EstateProfessional Licensing77 South High Street, 20th FloorColumbus, OH 43215-6133 Ohio Division of Real Estate Division of Real Estate
Salesperson, Broker License Requirements
Take your online courses at one of the following institutions: Community Colleges in the State of Ohio It is required in Ohio that pre-licensing courses be completed at an Institution of Higher Education. Pre-license education is available at a plethora of institutions, universities, and community colleges around the state. Requirements for Fingerprinting and Background Checks
- The Division of Real Estate gives guidance on the new background check standards (Ohio REALTORS Buzz, November 4, 2019)
- A criminal background check will be needed on November 1 (according to the Ohio REALTORS Buzz, published on October 23, 2019)
What steps do I need to take to obtain my Ohio real estate license? 1. Complete all of the essential educational requirements. You must have a high school diploma or equivalent (if you were born after 1950) and have successfully completed 120 hours of authorized real estate education during the ten-year period immediately preceding your application in order to be considered for admission. This education must be accomplished in a postsecondary school that confers a degree after completing at least a two-year program, and it must include the following components:
- Students will learn about real estate principles and practices (40 hours)
- Ohio Real Estate Law (40 hours), which will include education on human rights, housing discrimination, and desegregation issues
- Real estate appraisal and finance (20 hours)
- And real estate law (40 hours).
2. Find a broker who will act as a sponsor. The sponsorship of a Broker is required before you can submit an application to become a licensed real estate Salesperson. 3. Submit your application for consideration. The Ohio Division of Real Estate Professional Licensing requires that you submit a completed Salesperson Examination Application, a $60 application fee, and confirmation that you have completed your schooling requirements before you may be licensed. (You may provide a copy of your official transcripts or course completion certificates, whichever is most appropriate.) Your application will be processed by the Division, and your information will be forwarded to the testing provider.
Make a date for your examination.
A Candidate Information Bulletin with directions for scheduling your exam will be sent to you when your application has been reviewed and completed successfully. Salesperson Licensing is required by the state of Ohio. Education Requirements for Obtaining a Salesperson License include the following:
- Be trustworthy, truthful, and have a good reputation
- You must be at least 18 years old to participate. It is necessary to be sponsored by an Ohio broker. A felony or a crime against moral turpitude must not have been committed by the individual in question. As established by a court of law during the last two years, you have not violated any civil rights statutes pertaining to real estate, nor have you broken the laws or regulations of the Ohio Division of Real Estate. It may be possible to have a conviction or violation overlooked in some situations, which would allow you to sit for the test if you meet the requirements. If you file an application with the Division, the Division will only be able to make a determination about a conviction or violation. Further information about this procedure can be obtained by contacting the Division directly or by reviewing the extra material available on the Division’s website. If you were born after 1950, you must possess a high school diploma or an equivalent credential recognized by the Ohio Department of Education. Complete the educational criteria, which are as follows:
- Students will learn about real estate principles and practices (40 hours)
- Ohio Real Estate Law (40 hours), which will include education on human rights, housing discrimination, and desegregation issues
- Real estate appraisal and finance (20 hours)
- And real estate law (40 hours).
If you haven’t already done so, please keep in mind that anyone who hasn’t obtained a real estate salesperson or broker license within four years of applying for the salesperson’s exam must have completed the above-mentioned instruction within a 10-year period immediately preceding the current salesperson application. This education must have been completed in a postsecondary school that confers a degree after completing a minimum of a two-year course of study (i.e. an associate degree). An applicant seeking an Ohio salesperson’s license must provide the following documents:
- Submission of a completed Salesperson Examination Application, together with a $60.00 charge (Please note that if you respond “yes” to any of the Ethical Conduct questions, you must provide a clear reason. Your application will be assessed by a member of the ODRE’s legal team.
- Evidence of successful fulfillment of the educational requirements (a copy of official transcripts or course completion certificates). Once a full application has been processed by the Division, the applicant’s information is forwarded to the testing provider. The information will be processed by the testing provider, who will then issue a Candidate Information Bulletin with details on how to schedule the exam.
In order to be granted a license, the candidate must pass both the state and national components of the Ohio Real Estate Salesperson Exam. Score required for passing: 70 Contact the Ohio Division of Real Estate Professional Licensing at 614-466-4100 if you require further information. (ODRE – 06/2017 – Revised version) My state has a reciprocal agreement with Ohio, and I work as a real estate salesman in my own state. What steps do I need to take to earn an Ohio real estate salesperson’s license?
For additional information about reciprocity between Ohio and other states, please visit this page.
Ohio State University Requirements: Broker Licensing is a legal requirement.
- If you obtained your license before January 1, 1972, no additional schooling is required.
- If you were licensed between 1/02/72 and 1/03/84, you must have completed the requisite 120 hours (courses 1 – 4 stated below)
- If you were licensed between 1/02/72 and 1/03/84, you must have completed the needed 120 hours. If you were licensed on or after March 3, 1984, you must have completed courses 1 – 8 on the list below and have a minimum of two years of post-secondary education (9), which is the equivalent of sixty (60) semester or ninety (90) quarter hours of coursework.
Education and Training Requirements
- In Ohio, real estate law (40 hours) is taught, as are Ohio real estate principles and practices (40 hours), real estate appraisal (20 hours), real estate finance (20 hours), and real estate finance principles and practices (40 hours). Financial Management is a course that you may take. Human Resources or Personnel Management courses
- Applied Business Economics courses
- Business Law courses
- And other related courses are available. It is necessary to have a minimum of two years of post-secondary education, or the equivalent of sixty semester or ninety quarter hours (60 semester or 90 quarter hours). Depending on your post-secondary education goals, courses 5 through 8 may be included.
Requirements in terms of previous experience a total of 20 transactions In order to guarantee that the applicant satisfies the total of twenty transactions, the Division calculates the transactions using the following formulas:
- Listing agent in the sale of property owned by another = 12 transaction
- Selling agent in the sale of property owned by another = 12 transaction
- Listing agent in the lease of commercial or industrial real estate owned by another for a term of at least one year = 12 transaction
- Listing and/or procuring agent in the lease of four residential properties owned by another = 12 transaction
- Listing and/or procuring agent in the lease of four residential properties owned by
An applicant for an Ohio broker’s license must provide the following documents:
- ABroker Examination Application, which includes a cost Documentation demonstrating fulfillment of all educational requirements (a copy of official transcripts or course completion certificates)
Once a full application has been processed by the Division, the applicant’s information is forwarded to the testing provider. The information will be processed by the testing provider, who will then issue a Candidate Information Bulletin with details on how to schedule the exam. In order to be given an Ohio Real Estate Broker license, the candidate must pass both the State and National components of the test administered by the state of Ohio. Score required for passing: 75 (ODRE-updated on June 6, 2013) Post-licensing education for sales representatives In order to obtain a real estate salesperson’s license, the licensee must submit proof satisfactory to the superintendent, on forms provided by the superintendent, of the completion of 20 hours of classroom instruction.
After the bill’s implementation date of April 6, 2017, salespersons who are awarded a license on or after that date will be required to complete the 20-hour course.
Those agents who were awarded a license before to that date will just be needed to complete the existing ten-hour certification course. Continuing Education for Sales Professionals To renew a Salesperson License, you must have completed the following educational requirements:
- In Ohio, continuing education hours must be completed every three years by the licensee’s birthday in order to maintain their license status. When a new licensee becomes eligible for continuing education, the initial requirement is three years after the licensee’s first birthday after being eligible for licensing. There must be a total of 30 credit hours, with 9 hours coming from three distinct obligatory core courses.
Education for Brokers Following Licensing To be eligible for a real estate broker’s license, a licensee must submit proof satisfactory to the superintendent, on forms made available by the superintendent, that he or she has completed ten hours of classroom instruction in real estate brokerage at an institution of higher education or any other institution approved by the commission no later than twelve months after the date of issuance of the license.
Continuing Education for Brokers Education requirements to renew a broker’s license include the following:
- In Ohio, continuing education hours must be completed every three years by the licensee’s birthday in order to maintain their license status. When a new licensee becomes eligible for continuing education, the initial requirement is three years after the licensee’s first birthday after being eligible for licensing. In addition to the 30 hours, you must complete 12 hours in four distinct necessary core courses.
Management Continuing Education (CE) is now required. The Ohio Licensing Structure Task Force concluded in its report that additional education is required for those who are involved in the operation and management of a brokerage in order to ensure that they are knowledgeable about their license law obligations as well as other issues involved in running a successful real estate business in the state. In order to do this, House Bill 532 mandates that these topics be covered in a separate three-hour continuing education program.
- Principal brokers
- Associate brokers
- Brokers on deposit
- Licensees at the management level, regardless of whether they are licensed as a broker or a salesperson
- Principal brokers
However, even though associate brokers and brokers on deposit are not involved in the administration of the brokerage firm, they are included in this criteria due to their capacity to alter their position from that of an associate broker to that of a principle broker or management level licensee. Note that this three-hour course will be counted against the licensee’s 30 hours of continuing education requirement, rather of being counted toward an additional requirement. This new course on broker duties will be required for everyone who has a broker credential or a management-level salesperson credential beginning with renewals due on April 6, 2020 and onward.
This class is needed to be submitted by all brokers, including inactive brokers as well as associate, management-level, and principle brokers, with each renewal.
All of the information supplied is subject to change without notice.
How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Ohio
For anyone pursuing a real estate profession in any of the state’s major cities (such as Columbus and Cleveland), as well as Cincinnati, Toledo, and Akron, you’ll need to obtain an Ohio real estate license first. A high school graduation (if you were born after 1950) and successful completion of 120 hours of authorized prelicensing coursework at a degree-granting institution are required, as is the sponsorship of a broker and passing the state licensing test in Ohio.
As a real estate agent, you must follow a procedure that is similar in most states, but each state has its own set of processes that must be followed. The following are the five steps to becoming a licensed real estate agent in Ohio:
Step 1: Be at Least 18 Years of Age
In addition to being at least 18 years old, you must be a citizen of the United States or a permanent resident alien who can provide proof of high school graduation or an equivalent qualification. Information about the requirements may be obtained on the website of the State of Ohio Department of Commerce.
Step 2: Complete Your Required Education
You must have a high school diploma or equivalent (if you were born after 1950) and have successfully completed 120 hours of authorized real estate coursework during the 10-year period immediately preceding your application in order to be considered for admission. This education must be completed in a postsecondary institution of higher learning that offers a degree program that is at least two years in length. Education must include the following components:
- Real Estate Principles and Practices (40 hours)
- Ohio Real Estate Law, which includes training in human rights, housing discrimination, and desegregation issues (40 hours)
- And Real Estate Principles and Practices (40 hours). Real Estate Appraisal (20 hours)
- Real Estate Finance (20 hours)
- And Real Estate Management (20 hours).
Enroll in our exam prep program to deepen your preparation and feel more confident on exam day. Find out more about our Ohio real estate test preparation programs and get started studying right now!
Step 3: Obtain a Sponsoring Broker
To be eligible to file an application to become a licensed real estate salesperson, you must first be sponsored by a professional real estate broker.
Step 4: Submit Your Application
The Ohio Division of Real Estate Professional Licensing requires that you submit a completed Salesperson Examination Application, a $60 application fee, and confirmation that you have completed your schooling requirements before you may be licensed. In addition, you may attach a copy of your official transcripts or course completion certificates if you have them. Your application will be processed by the Division, and your information will be forwarded to the testing provider. This application may be found on the website of the Ohio Department of Commerce, which is located in Columbus.
Step 5: Schedule Your Test
A Candidate Information Bulletin with directions for scheduling your exam will be sent to you when your application has been reviewed and completed successfully. In order to be given an Ohio real estate license, you must pass both the State and National parts of the Ohio Real Estate Exam with a score of 70 percent or better.
FREE eBook: Launching Your Real Estate Career
If you could sit down with a room full of accomplished real estate experts and ask them for career guidance, wouldn’t it be fantastic? We asked numerous established real estate professionals what they wished they had known before earning their license and beginning their careers, as well as what they believe all aspiring real estate professionals should know. We received a lot of great responses. We compiled all of their suggestions into a comprehensive eBook that is filled with value. E-book available for free download
How to Start Your Real Estate Career
When it comes to real estate, there are many various work options to pick from, making it a very lucrative career path. Real estate agents typically work flexible hours and can choose to work on their own or as part of a team of professionals. In order to get started in real estate, you must first complete a training program and obtain a license.
The first step in obtaining your Ohio real estate license is to satisfy the educational requirements set out by the state. Here’s an overview of the courses you’ll need to take to earn your certification.
Unless you’ve worked as a licensed real estate salesperson within the previous four years, you’ll need a total of 120 hours of training to become a real estate agent in Ohio. The following areas are covered in depth in coursework:
- Real Estate Principles and Practices
- sOhio Real Estate Law
- sReal Estate Appraisal
- sReal Estate Finance
While you are not need to have a bachelor’s degree to become a real estate agent, you must finish the required pre-licensing courses via a college or community college in order to be eligible to sit for the licensing exam. It can take four to six months to complete pre-license course material in a regular classroom setting. The good news, on the other hand, is that many real estate schools now offer online courses, which allow you to be more flexible with your time and study preferences.
Find a Broker
Beginning real estate salespersons are required to operate under the supervision of a broker in all states. A broker is a licensed real estate agent who has completed further training and passed the broker examination. After passing the test, a broker is qualified to supervise the transactions of other real estate agents. Despite the fact that it appears to be out of order, you must first locate a broker who will recruit you as a real estate agent before you can sit for the salesperson examination.
The form requests the broker’s firm filing number as well as his or her contact details.
State Real Estate Exam
Once you have completed the pre-licensure curriculum, you will need to apply for and pass the real estate licensing examination in your jurisdiction. Despite the fact that each state’s test varies, you’ll be required to pass both the national and state-specific components of the real estate salesperson exam in order to be licensed. After a waiting period, you can normally retake the exam, albeit there is usually a restriction to the number of times you can retake the exam in one sitting.
After passing the exam, you will be able to submit an application for a license. State regulations vary, but you’ll almost certainly be required to present proof of completion of a real estate course as well as a passing score on the licensing exam. During this procedure, you will also be subjected to fingerprinting and a background check, among other things. Once you have submitted your application, it might take one to two months for it to be reviewed and approved. Additionally, continuing education classes are required in most jurisdictions in order to keep your real estate license current.
According to state regulations, you may be required to take an extra training course within a specified period of time after earning your license.
So you’ve obtained your real estate agent license…now what? While a successful job is undoubtedly within your reach, it necessitates the development of a strategy as well as a dose of realism on what you may and should expect during your first couple of years in the workplace.
Check out 9 Tips for New Realtors to Create, Build, and Maintain a Successful Businessas well as How to Strengthen Your Real Estate Business for further information.
We are here to help
The process of purchasing and selling a property is a complicated financial transaction that necessitates the involvement of a number of different professions. It is critical to choose high-quality partners on whom you can trust to provide assistance to your clients and who have their clients’ best interests in mind. In today’s market, many real estate brokers understand the value of aligning themselves with a firm that has the resources and dedication to provide excellent service, such as Ohio Real Title.
This partnership reduces the need for back and forth on this aspect of the transaction.
We definitely stand out in a very competitive business with all of the dangers that might arise when it comes to financial services.
To find out more, please contact us immediately.
How to Get an Ohio Real Estate License in 5 Easy Steps
You should consider getting your Ohio real estate license now if you’ve been thinking about making a career move. As a result of Ohio’s diverse economy and favorable business climate, the state is a great spot to purchase and sell real estate. Real estate agent careers provide you with a flexible work schedule as well as the possibility to make a substantial salary. Interested in getting your feet wet in today’s growing real estate market? Allow us to demonstrate how to obtain your Ohio real estate license in a few simple steps.
How Much Does It Cost to Get an Ohio Real Estate License?
The cost of obtaining an Ohio real estate license, including the cost of prelicensing training, is around $2,000 total. The state of Ohio mandates that you complete a 120-hour course of study from an accredited provider. The cost of attending a certain school might vary based on your choice. Some of the costs associated with obtaining your Ohio real estate license, such as the application and exam fees, are predetermined in advance. The following is a breakdown of the anticipated costs.
Ohio Real Estate License Costs
|Prelicensing Classes (120 Hours)||$1,599 (throughHondros College)|
|Exam Prep Materials||$129 (Mbition)|
|Ohio Real Estate License Application Fee||$81|
|Ohio Real Estate Exam Fee||$58|
|Total Costs||$1,917 – $1,947|
(As of July 2021, the fee of an Ohio real estate license is $1,500.) We included Hondros College on our list of the 5 Finest Places to Take Online Real Estate Schools in Ohio because it was deemed the best overall real estate provider in the state by our panel of experts. They provide online and in-person classes that may be completed at your own leisure. Additionally, you will be provided with 120 hours of excellent education, test preparation materials, post-licensing courses, and networking opportunities with local brokerages.
Their Ohio prelicensing lessons are already among the most affordable in the state, at $999, and you can save even more money by utilizing our coupon code. Members of The Close may save 30 percent on prelicensing classes from The CE Shop by entering the promo code TheClose30 at checkout.
How to Get an Ohio Real Estate Agent License in 5 Easy Steps
Are you interested in learning more about the procedures for obtaining your Ohio real estate license? To get started, you must satisfy the following requirements:
- To qualify, you must be at least 18 years old
- Be honest, trustworthy, and have a decent reputation
- And Possess a high school diploma or an equivalent qualification.
After we’ve gone over each phase in depth, we’ll go over some of the most often asked questions regarding the process, such as “how much does a realtor earn in Ohio.”
Step 1. Complete a 120-Hour Prelicensing Course
$1,000 – $1,600 (plus tax) Commitment in terms of time: one to two months How to Obtain a Real Estate License in 5 Simple Steps is a useful resource. In order to obtain a real estate license in Ohio, you must first meet all of the educational requirements set forth by the government of the state. In order to become a licensed contractor, you must complete a 120-hour prelicensing course from an accredited institution such as Hondros College or The CE Shop. The state of Ohio is unique in that real estate license coursework can only be taken at institutions that provide an associate degree in business administration (at a minimum).
Ohio Real Estate Education Requirements
|Real Estate Principles and Practices||40 hours|
|Ohio Real Estate Law||40 hours|
|Real Estate Appraisal||20 hours|
|Real Estate Finance||20 hours|
|Total Hours||120 hours|
Education companies in Ohio, such as Hondros College and The CE Shop, offering real estate professional programs that may be completed in as little as a few months. Their lessons are available in a variety of modes, including streaming, in-person, and online. The following are the advantages and disadvantages of each form of education.
|Types of Instruction||Pros||Cons|
- Setting in a traditional classroom
- Get to know your fellow students. Access to the teacher is simple
- Commuting and traffic congestion make on-campus programs more costly than online classes. Finding class times that are convenient for you
- There is no need to commute. If you live far away from traditional schools, this is an excellent option. You may interact with professors in real time by asking them questions.
- Finding lessons that are convenient for your schedule
- There is little interaction with other students. Technology does not always perform as expected
- For example,
- Work at your own speed from any location with internet access
- Attend lessons when it is most convenient for you. Option with the lowest price
- Instructors may only be reached via email or phone
- No other means of communication is available. There is little interaction with real estate professionals. Technology does not always perform as expected
- For example,
Step 2. Find a Broker to Hire You
Cost:Free Time commitment: Two to four weeks is necessary. What is the best real estate company to work for in 2021? This is a useful resource. Starting conversations with brokerages in your region long before you sit for the Ohio real estate agent examination is a good idea. All states require that rookie real estate sales professionals operate under the supervision of an experienced broker who has received further training. The process of finding a broker may resemble the application process for a job, but the pay arrangement will be unlike any other employment you’ve ever held.
- When you work for a brokerage firm, your commissions will be divided with the firm you work for.
- Depending on the company, you may be able to keep a bigger percentage of your commissions, but you may be charged a monthly desk fee instead.
- acapis the maximum amount of money that the agency will deduct from any commissions that you earn throughout the course of the year Following a specified number of commissions earned for the agency, you will be entitled to keep the remainder of your profits.
- It’s possible that big-name agencies have methods in place to assist you in achieving success in your new job.
Smaller brokerages, on the other hand, may be more likely to negotiate a better bargain with you and give more specialized instruction. For further information, see the related article: Real Estate Broker vs. Agent: A Head-to-Head Comparison.
Step 3. Complete the License Exam Application
Cost:$81 One hour of your time is required. A useful resource is: Application Procedures and Instructions Following completion of the 120 hours of training and identification of a broker who is prepared to mentor you, it is time to submit an application for the certification examination. It is required that you submit proof of completion of your real estate studies with your application, which may be in the form of an official transcript or a course completion certificate from your educational institution.
The actual application itself is only a few pages long.
Your ethical behavior and legal past are also asked about in the application, which is a series of yes or no questions.
Step 4. Pass a Background Check
Costs range from $50 to $80. One month’s commitment is required. The Ultimate Guide to Obtaining a Real Estate License is an excellent resource. In Ohio, employers are required to do a criminal background check and fingerprinting through Webcheck ®. Both of these processes must include both state and FBI background investigations, and both must be completed within 10 days of the day on which you submit your application for admission. Identify and visit a Webcheck ®location that has been approved by Ohio’s Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation (BCI I), making sure to select a site that is capable of submitting both your state and FBI information.
The cost of the biometrics and background check varies depending on where you go, but it typically ranges from $50 to $80.
Applicants should not have a criminal record that includes felony convictions or offenses of moral turpitude.
If you break the state’s application criteria, the state may not be forgiving, however they may dismiss certain convictions or offenses in specific cases.
Step 5. Pass the Ohio Real Estate License Exam
Cost:$58 Three hours are required of you (arrive 30 minutes early to the testing site) A useful resource is: 7 Tips for Passing the Real Estate Practice Examination Once your application has been processed by the Ohio Department of Commerce, you may expect to get information from PSI, the state’s certified testing firm, on how to schedule your exam.
There is a $58 fee for both the state and national portions of the examination. The following places are where the testing will take place:
- Akron, Cambridge, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus North, Columbus South, Toledo, and Troy are among the cities in Ohio.
Upon completion of the exam, you will be informed whether or not you passed it. After failing the exam, you will be given your score, which will include the proportion of questions you answered wrong in each of the four topic areas. Prepare for the retake by reviewing the material provided here. Mbition offers two affordable exam packages that are both comprehensive and user-friendly. Your preparation for the Ohio real estate licensing exam will be aided by their adaptive learning aids. By clicking on this link, you may save 15% on yourMbitionexam preparation materials.
How to Get a Real Estate License in Ohio: FAQs
Do you have any further questions regarding how to become a real estate agent in Ohio? Contact us today. Some of the most frequently asked issues by prospective real estate agents like you are addressed in this article.
Can I get my Ohio real estate license online?
Yes, you may obtain your Ohio real estate license on the internet if you like. As a reminder, while you can complete your prelicensing coursework online, you must visit a PSI testing facility for the exam and a Webcheck ® site for your fingerprinting in order to be eligible for the criminal background check.
Is the Ohio real estate exam hard?
However, while the pass rate for the Ohio real estate test isn’t publicly available, you must achieve a score of at least 70 percent on the exam in order to obtain your license. Purchase a test prep package from Mbition to increase your chances of passing the Ohio real estate exam the first time you sit for it.
How much does it cost to get an Ohio real estate license?
The cost of obtaining an Ohio real estate license is around $2,000.00. Some of these expenditures, such as the application fee and test price, are predetermined. However, the cost of prelicensing programs might vary substantially depending on the location and time of year.
How long does it take to become a real estate agent in Ohio?
In Ohio, being a real estate agent requires at least three months of training. Prelicensing coursework totaling 120 hours is required of all applicants. You’ll need to spend time chatting with brokers, studying for the exam, and waiting for your application to be authorized in addition to finishing your courses. According to some estimates, some in-person programs can complete the 120 hours of course content in less than six weeks. If you’re going through a self-paced online program, you can opt to work more quickly or more slowly based on your needs and availability.
How much money does a real estate agent in Ohio make?
The average annual salary for real estate brokers in Ohio is $78,986, according to the websiteIndeed. Keep in mind that this statistic is dependent on the amount of commissions earned by the real estate agent in question.
What if I have a real estate license from another state?
Several states have reciprocity agreements with the Ohio Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing, including the following:
- Arkansas, Connecticut, Kentucky, Mississippi, Nebraska, Oklahoma, West Virginia, and Wyoming are among the states represented.
If you want to be eligible for reciprocity, you must have had a valid broker’s license in that state for at least two of the previous five years.
In addition, you must enroll in an Ohio Real Estate Law Course at a college or university level to qualify. Visit the Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing’s website to learn more about the process of transferring your real estate license to Ohio.
What should I bring to the testing center?
On the day of your examination, you must bring two kinds of identification with you. One of those documents must be a government-issued photo identification document, such as a driver’s license or passport. This kind of identification must include your photograph as well as your signature. Both your signature and your preprinted name must be on the second identification card. The names on both identification cards must be the same as the names shown on the Examination Registration Form. Other than a quiet, non-programmable calculator, you are not permitted to have any other items with you throughout the examination.
More Career Resources From The Close
In order to assist you in launching your real estate career, The Close offers actionable advice from leading real estate professionals. To receive the most up-to-date news, tactics, and insights directly in your inbox, sign up for our email distribution list. You can also subscribe to The Close Proand become a member of ourFacebook Mastermind Group to learn from other successful agents from all across the country.
How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Ohio
Obtaining a license to practice real estate in Ohio is a little more difficult than it is in most other states. Prior to taking your licensing test, you must complete 120 hours of authorized study, pass a background check, locate a sponsoring brokerage, and submit an application for your license. You must also pass an examination administered by the Ohio Real Estate Commission (OREC). You should go through our step-by-step guide to assist you in navigating through the full process of becoming a real estate agent in the state of Ohio.
1. Meet Ohio’s Legal Requirements
It is required that you be at least 18 years old, have a high school graduation or GED, acquire sponsorship from an Ohio real estate broker, and be a citizen or permanent resident of the United States in order to qualify for an Ohio real estate license. Besides being honest and genuine, you must also have a good reputation, which is assessed by a study of your criminal history. It is unlawful for you to practice real estate in Ohio if your criminal record includes a conviction of any felony or offense of moral turpitude, and you have been disqualified from doing so.
- It is possible to have a conviction or infraction overlooked, but this determination will only be made after you have completed your license application process.
- What if I told you something you already knew?
- To be approved for a reciprocal license, agents who are already licensed in another state do not need to complete all of OREC’s prelicensing courses.
- Additionally, Ohio is a cooperative state in terms of portability, which means that out-of-state real estate agents or brokers are permitted to physically enter the state of Ohio in order to do real estate business there.
Check out our information on real estate license reciprocity and portability in Ohio to learn more about real estate license portability in the state of Ohio.
2. Complete Required Prelicensing Courses
If you meet the legal requirements to become a real estate agent in Ohio, you can proceed with your prelicensing courses that have been recognized by the Ohio Real Estate Commission. The courses can be completed in-person or online through a recognized online real estate school in Ohio, depending on your preference. The subjects covered range in price from $1,425 to $1,599 and include the following:
- Real Estate Principles and Practices: 40 hours
- Ohio Real Estate Law, including instruction in civil rights, housing discrimination, and desegregation issues: 40 hours
- Real Estate Appraisal: 20 hours
- Real Estate Finance: 20 hours
- Real Estate Finance:
What if I told you something you already knew? It is possible to avoid the Ohio Real Estate Law hours necessary to obtain your real estate license if you are an active, licensed attorney in the state of Ohio. Finding an accredited real estate school is the next step in learning how to become a real estate agent in Ohio. Click here for more information. CE Shop not only provides aspiring agents with their first license education but also assists them in meeting their continuing education obligations throughout their real estate careers.
Pay a visit to the CE Shop
3. Pick a Company to Work For
A sponsoring brokerage with which to affiliate your license is required in order to maintain an active license in the state of Ohio. Check out our in-depth advice on how to choose the best real estate business to work for if you want to make your decision a little bit simpler. Despite the fact that there are other profitable brokerages in the Buckeye State, the following are the top five brokerages predicted to be successful in 2021. (Image courtesy of Real Trends2021)
Ohio Cities With the Highest Median Sales Price in 2021
The higher the price at which a house sells, the greater the chance you have of earning a commission on the sale. Check out the sales statistics fromTowncharts.combelow to get a feel of which cities are bringing in the most money for real estate agents and brokers in Ohio:
4. Apply for Your Ohio Real Estate License
Once you have finished your prelicensing course and selected a sponsoring agency with which to work, you must submit your Ohio real estate application to the state of Ohio. In contrast to other states, you must submit a complete application in order to be eligible to appear for your examination. TheOhio salesperson applicationmust be delivered by mail to the Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing together with a check or money order for $81, as well as a copy of your prelicensing education provider’s certificate of completion, in order to be considered for licensure.
Please see the following document for further information: Ohio Real Estate Salesperson License Requirements.
5. Get FingerprintsBackground Check
All candidates are required to have their fingerprints taken so that the Office of Regulatory Compliance (OREC) can evaluate their background prior to licensure. In order to identify whether or not you have a criminal record, your fingerprints will be analyzed by the state of Ohio and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). You must have your fingerprints taken within 10 days of filing an application with the Ohio Division of Real Estate, but not before filing your application with the Ohio Department of Commerce.
Make an appointment at an Ohio location that is convenient for you, and remember to bring your government-issued identification to prove your identity.
Results will be reported to the Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing within 30 days after the conclusion of the investigation.
Make a note that you must instruct WebCheck to use the following reason codes and that BCI I send the results (state and FBI criminal records check) to the Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing: Make a note that you must instruct WebCheck to use the following reason codes and that BCI I send the results (state and FBI criminal records check) to the Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing:
- Reason Codes: 4735 05 and/or 121 08
- FBI Reason Code: 121 08
- Address to Send To: Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing 77 S High St., 20th Fl. Columbus, OH 43215-6133
- BCI I Reason Code: 4735 05 and/or 121 08
Additional information on fingerprinting can be found in the state of Ohio’s Additional Instruction for Applications Worksheet (PDF).
6. Take the Ohio Real Estate Exam
Despite the fact that Ohio does not publish its average pass rate for the real estate test, in order to become an agent in the state, you must achieve a score of at least 70% on the exam. The test is divided into two parts: a national piece and a state portion, both of which must be passed in order to proceed with licensing. Because the exam is conducted using a computer, you will know whether or not you passed shortly after completing it. The application and price for a retake of the test must be submitted in order to reschedule your exam if you fail one or both components of the exam.
You will have one year to complete the exam after getting your scheduling information from the testing vendor, which is a significant advantage.
Following completion and processing of your application, you will get theOhio Candidate Information Bulletin, which will include details on how to schedule your test. PSI, a national provider of state licensure examinations, is responsible for administering the Ohio real estate exam. Prior to being able to schedule appointments, you’ll need to create an account on the PSI website, which will then get you access to the scheduling interface. The price to take the exam is $58 and may be paid online using a credit or debit card.
You will be charged $39 to take either the national or state exam if you are merely retaking a part of the exam.
For a cheap sum of $39, you will receive exam simulations, flashcards, vocabulary, and other resources, as well as six months of access to their online platform.
Real Estate Exam Scholar is a website worth visiting.
7. Start Your Real Estate Career
Once you’ve figured out how to become a real estate agent in Ohio, you’ll be ready to go on your real estate career. Check out ourTop 25 New Real Estate Agent Tips From the Prosor14 Real Estate Agent Tips for 2021for additional information on how to get your career off to a good start in real estate.