How Long Does It Take To Get A Real Estate License In Texas? (TOP 5 Tips)

How long does Texas real estate school take?

  • So just how long does Texas real estate school take? The easy answer is that it takes 180 classroom hours in order to complete the required real estate courses. This is followed by scheduling your exam and completing it. The coursework required to earn your license includes:

Contents

How long does it take to get a Texas real estate license?

While the individual pace can vary, on average getting a real estate license in Texas takes four to six months. However, you can complete the requirements in eight weeks if you are committed to an intense study schedule.

How long does it take to become a real estate broker in Texas?

To become a real estate broker in Texas, you must have at least four years of active experience as a licensed agent or broker (in Texas or elsewhere) in the last five years before your application.

How hard is the real estate exam in Texas?

Is the Texas real estate exam hard? Well, given that on average 62% of agents (25,712 passed / 41,292 taken) pass the licensing exam on the first try, as of November 27, 2021 it’s safe to say it’s not an easy test. Aceable, however, currently holds one of the highest pass rates in Texas.

Is real estate a good career in Texas?

Real estate is one of the best career paths to transition to when you’re ready to make the switch due to its flexibility, freedom and the fact that almost anyone can be a real estate agent. All you need to do is get your real estate license.

How much do brokers make?

Across the U.S., the average salary of a real estate broker is $68,256 per year. They also make $42,000 per year in commission. However, much of the money a real estate broker makes depends on varying factors. A broker’s specialty could affect how much they make.

Do Realtors make a lot of money?

In Alberta, Real estate agents and salespersons earn an average of $30.35/hour or $61,168.00/year.

What is a broker vs Realtor?

Real Estate Agent vs Broker at a Glance Real estate agents rent, buy, or sell property on behalf of clients. Brokers negotiate, arrange, and oversee real estate transactions. They may also own/run brokerages.

How many times can you take Texas real estate exam?

TREC allows up to 3 attempts to pass both the national and state law portions of the exam. If you fail one portion of the exam, you are only required to retake the portion you did not pass.

Can you take the Texas real estate exam online?

Fortunately, the TREC has approved some education providers to offer Texas real estate proctored exams. What’s more, you can even take your exam through online proctoring.

Can you use a calculator on the Texas real estate exam?

Here is a list of the Pearson VUE’s test center policies that you should be aware of: No personal items are allowed in the testing room. Calculators are permitted, but you must bring your own. Books, papers, and reference materials are not permitted in the exam room. You are allowed to take breaks during the exam.

How Long Is Real Estate School in Texas?

It will take time and effort to become a successful Texas real estate salesman or broker, but the hours you put in will be well worth it. A potential real estate profession that allows you to be your own boss will be in your sights after graduation. All you require is a real estate license to get started. Learn more about what it takes to be successful here. Learn more about real estate license and take advantage of exclusive discounts. A lot of hours will be required to obtain your Texas real estate license, but they will be well worth it in the long run.

To learn more about what it takes to obtain a real estate license in Texas, continue reading.

How long does it take to get your real estate license in Texas?

A minimum of 180 classroom hours is required for completion of the relevant real estate courses. That question, on the other hand, is best answered by taking a look at each phase of the real estate licensing procedure in turn.

Taking the Required Texas Real Estate Courses

For the purpose of obtaining a real estate license in Texas, the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) has defined a minimum educational level that must be satisfied. Every prospective real estate agent is required to take six necessary real estate courses before they can be licensed. Total classroom time to complete the required real estate courses will be at least 180 hours in total. However, if students are required to repeat a course, the hours will be added to their total.

Principles of Real Estate IPrinciples of Real Estate II- 30 Hours Each

The Fundamentals of Real Estate Pre-licensing I is generally the first course that people take before getting their license. It is covered in both courses, as well as common terminology, property legislation and comprehending owner and tenant rights. Closing processes are also covered in both courses.

Real Estate Finance- 30 Hours

As a real estate agent, it is critical that you understand how mortgage financing operates. Not only will you learn about the house financing process from beginning to end, but you will also learn about the important agencies and laws that are involved in the process, among other things.

Law of Agency- 30 Hours

Law of Agency is a comprehensive study of the professional connections that arise throughout the purchasing and selling processes. Real estate course covers the fiduciary obligations of agents, disclosure rules, and the interaction between buyers and sellers as well as the relationship between agents and other outside agencies.

Law of Contracts- 30 Hours

In the Law of Contracts course, you’ll learn about the legal requirements and rules that apply to the use of contracts in real estate transactions, as well as how to draft and negotiate contracts. You will also be taken through the most typical mistakes that people make when filling out these contracts, and you will have the opportunity to practice filling them out correctly.

Promulgated Contracts- 30 Hours

The forms that are utilized in a real estate transaction, as well as frequent mistakes made by others on these forms, will be covered in detail in this pre-licensing training session. Practicing and participating in seminars will help you have a better grasp of how to fill out these forms. These six courses will serve as the foundation for your real estate education and career path. It is also necessary to finish the Real Estate Brokerage course if you plan on obtaining a broker’s license in real estate.

A variety of optional real estate courses are available to students who choose to pursue a Texas real estate license prior to obtaining their license.

You may arrange your calendar around sessions at a real estate school or community college, or you can enroll in one of our TREC-approved online real estate courses and save yourself hours of travel.

Furthermore, students can work at their own speed while completing online real estate courses. The license examination preparation process can begin as soon as you’ve completed the real estate education requirements listed above.

Applying for a Texas Real Estate License

Even though it may seem paradoxical, every prospective real estate salesperson should apply for their Texas real estate license before sitting for the state’s licensing examination. Filing can take a long time (at least a few weeks), especially if you choose to submit your application by mail rather than online. Fingerprints are still another component of the application procedure to be completed. If your fingerprints aren’t already on file with the Texas Department of Public Safety, you’ll need to arrange an appointment with a business called MorphoTrust once your application has been approved.

Following the filing of the application, you have 12 months to pass the state licensure test, which should give you plenty of time to prepare.

Studying for the Real Estate License Exam

Successfully passing the Texas real estate licensing test on your first attempt is dependent on your level of preparation. There is a $43 nonrefundable charge for taking the license exam each time you sit for it. The requirement to repeat the exam will further prolong the process of obtaining a real estate license. Exam study materials and practice tests, such as those included in the Aceable pre-license package, are a great method to prepare for the real estate licensing examination. When it comes to time commitments, you’ll want to give yourself at least a few weeks to prepare.

During the time you are waiting for your application to be processed, it is an excellent time to begin preparing for the licensure exam.

Taking the Real Estate Exam

Before you may apply for a Texas real estate license, you must pass a final examination. Technically, the real estate license test can be completed in a total of four hours and forty minutes. However, you must prepare ahead of time and book the real estate examination beforehand. It’s best to schedule your test so that you have enough time to prepare, but that you also have the option of taking the exam again if you need to. Pearson VUE, the company that administers the Texas real estate test, states that it normally takes 5-7 days for the exam to be processed before it can be scheduled again.

Finding a Broker

In order to obtain an active real estate license, you must have a broker act as your sponsor on the application. While it is possible to obtain a real estate license without the assistance of a real estate broker, your license will remain inactive. Finding the appropriate real estate broker may be a time-consuming process. Prior to even beginning the required real estate classes, you should start thinking about what you want to do in the real estate industry. Make a schedule that allows you to interview many brokers over the course of a few weeks to ensure that your objectives are aligned.

There are no fees associated with submitting the broker sponsorship form.

At that point, you will be able to begin your real estate career.

Aceable, Inc. was founded in the year 2021. All intellectual property rights are retained.

How Long Does it Take to Become a Real Estate Agent in Texas?

Make sure to provide copies of the certificates of completion for each of the six pre-license courses, rather than the originals, as part of your application. Along with the application cost (currently $205), you’ll be required to pay a processing charge. Applications that do not contain payment are automatically rejected by the TREC. Following the completion of your application criteria, TREC will issue you an eligibility letter that includes a “TREC ID” that you may use to register for the following two phases.

Step 3: Get Fingerprinted for a Background Check

Texas law requires that candidates have their fingerprints taken and stored with the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) so that a background check may be conducted on them. There is no room for any other agency. The Department of Public Safety will next provide your fingerprints to the FBI for a background check. In order to collect and submit fingerprints to the relevant agencies, the state of Texas presently employs the provider MorphoTrust. The process of fingerprinting will need you to schedule an appointment and pay a charge (currently $39.25).

You might be interested:  What Is An Loi In Real Estate? (Best solution)

Step 4: Pass the Texas Real Estate License Exam

Once you have obtained your TREC ID, you will be able to register for and schedule your official state licensing examination. It’s a good idea to attend a Texas Exam Preparation course before taking the test. You will be required to pay a test cost, which is presently $54 for the exam. For the administration of their exam at several testing venues around the state, Texas contracts with the third-party testing firm PearsonVUE. You must bring two different pieces of identification with you to the testing location.

The third time you fail, you will be asked to finish additional courses before you can take the test again.

Step 5: Obtain Sponsorship

TREC will give your inactive license as soon as they get your passing exam scores and a clear background check from you. At this point, you are still not permitted to engage in licensed real estate business in any capacity. Sales agents in Texas are required to be sponsored by a registered and active real estate broker in order to operate legally. Acting without the support of a sponsoring broker is just as terrible as practicing real estate without a permit. You might find yourself in serious difficulty.

Sales representatives are prohibited by law from doing certain critical functions, such as managing cash.

Following your selection of a sponsoring broker, you will submit the necessary sponsorship documentation to TREC, which will then “activate” your license. You will not be able to practice real estate unless your broker has received documents proving that you hold a current real estate license.

How Long Does It Take to Become a Real Estate Agent in Texas?

So, how long does it take to complete all of these steps? Let’s take it step by step.

How Long Does Texas Pre-License Education Take?

If you’re juggling your education with other obligations, you should be able to complete your degree in 4-6 months at the most. If you put all of your effort into it and ignore everything else, you should be able to finish it in 3-4 weeks, but no less time is recommended. Pre-license training cannot last more than 12 hours per day, and you must log at least as many instructional clock hours as the course is worth, according to TREC regulations. That implies you won’t be able to finish your pre-license training period in fewer than 15 days, even if you do everything you can to fulfill it.

Finding a proctor, scheduling all six examinations, and taking them all might take several weeks, depending on how busy you are.

How Long Does the Texas Pre-License Application Process Take?

We can tell you that it will take at least a year, if not less, because that is the time restriction imposed by the state of Texas. In order to “meet all licensing criteria,” you have one year from the date on which you file your dormant license application to do so. As a result, that’s the highest limit. There are a plethora of variables that make predicting how soon you will complete the task extremely difficult. What amount of time do you require to prepare for the licensing examination, for example?

How convenient is it for you to arrange the fingerprints and examination appointments?

Taking everything into consideration, it’s generally realistic to anticipate that it will take around 18 months from the time you begin pre-licensing study to the time you activate your license.

Become a Real Estate Agent in Texas with AgentCampus by 360training

We know that going through the procedure we detailed above might seem intimidating, but it is doable by approaching each stage in the proper manner and with the appropriate tools. 360training has a lengthy track record as a TREC-approved and recognized provider of online training courses and certifications. The convenience of self-paced coursework, as well as the distinct ability for on-demand online proctoring, will ensure that you get the most out of your educational experience. We’ll also assist you in preparing for your licensure test with condensed study guides, math practice, countless practice examinations, and a money-back guarantee if you purchase our Premium Package.

How to Get a Texas Real Estate License in 5 Steps

We know that going through the procedure we detailed above might seem intimidating, but it is doable by approaching each stage in the appropriate manner and with the proper tools. A lengthy history of success as a TREC-approved and reputable online course provider has earned 360training its reputation. The convenience of self-paced coursework, as well as the distinct ability for on-demand online proctoring, will ensure that you get the most out of your education.

The Premium Package includes condensed study guides, math practice, unlimited practice examinations, and a money-back guarantee to assist you in getting ready for your licensure examination. Make the first step toward a real estate career in Texas by contacting us!

5 Steps to Get Your Texas Real Estate License

  • Before you may begin, you must be at least eighteen years old. You must be a citizen of the United States or a properly admitted immigrant

Pass a Background Check

  • By being fingerprinted and passing a background check, you may demonstrate that you meet TREC’s standards for honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity. Before submitting an application for a license, applicants can get a Fitness Determination. Please go to the TREC website for further information on these criteria.

Complete the Required Pre-Licensing Education

  • The 180-Hour Licensing Package consists of six courses, each of which must be completed with a passing grade in order to be eligible to sit for the licensing examination.

Apply for a License

  • Fill out an online application for a real estate license with the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) using the commission’s online licensing program

Pass the State Licensing Exam

Once your application has been approved by TREC, you will need to schedule your exam and get a Candidate Handbook from the organization. Pearson Vue is in charge of administering the Texas Real Estate Exam.

How Many Questions Are on the Exam?

  • National Portion: 85 multiple-choice questions with a time limit of 150 minutes
  • State Portion: 40 multiple-choice questions with a 90-minute time limit

What Score Do You Need to Pass the Texas Real Estate Exam?

  • Obtaining a score of 70 percent or better on your exam will ensure that you pass the examination successfully. You will need to answer 56 out of the 80 questions correctly in order to pass the test.

First Time License Renewal: Complete the Required SAE Courses

  • Maintain and renew your Texas real estate license for the first time by successfully completing the mandatory SAE post-licensing education course(s). Requirements for Post-License Work

How Much Does It Cost to Get a Texas Real Estate License?

The entire cost of becoming a Texas real estate agent varies depending on your location. It is detailed in the chart below how much you should expect to pay in order to obtain your license.

Fees Cost
180-Hour Pre-License Courses $350.00 – $1,000.00
State Exam Fee $54.00
Texas Real Estate License Application Fee $205.00
Finger-Printing(estimated) $39.00
Recovery Trust Fund $10.00
Total(varies based on price of qualifying education) $658.00 – $1,308.00

How Long Does It Take to Receive Your License?

Between 4 and 6 months are required to complete the full procedure, which includes taking and passing the qualifying education and having your license in hand. Other students may finish in less time than others, while some students may take longer than others. This will be determined by your schedule, including how much time you have available to finish your coursework and when you will be able to sit for the examination. Information about the whole 180-hour TREC-required course package To finish your courses in our newly renovated and upgraded student learning environment, you have one year to do so.

As your educational partner, we are proud of our dedication to you and Texas Real Estate, which we feel reflects in our great pass rates and world-class customer service.

TREC-Required Course Timing

According to TREC regulations, you are not permitted to complete more than 12 hours of Pre-License coursework every day. More than one qualifying course must be started and completed within the same three-day period in order to be in compliance with Commission guidelines. Aside from that, TREC will only allow a student to enroll in one 30-hour course at a time. This means that the 180-hour course should be completed in no less than 18 days, and each 30-hour course should be completed in at least 3 days.

Questions?

Timing Requirements for TREC Courses

Alternate Education or Prior Experience

Candidates must finish the required courses from a Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) accredited education provider before being considered for admission. Alternative, replacement, or comparable coursework is not permitted for the purpose of applying for a Texas real estate broker’s license. In general, the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) will not accept a license from another state, or prior experience in real estate brokerage or any comparable industry, as proof of completion of the education and experience requirements for a real estate license in the state of Texas.

Texas SAE Post-License Education Requirements

The first licensing duration is two (2) years. After that, the license is renewable. Within a two-year period, you must complete 90 hours of Qualifying (SAE) courses as well as two 4-hour TREC Legal Update courses in order to maintain your Texas real estate license renewal. You are permitted to pick any SAE or Qualifying courses designated by the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) that you have not already completed during your pre-licensing period.

If the broker has assigned the new sales agent to be a supervisor during the 6-month period previous to SAE renewal, the new sales agent may additionally be required to complete the 6 hour Broker Responsibility course in order to meet SAE criteria.

2021 TREC-Approved Pre-License Courses

All VanEd Texas Pre-License courses have been authorized by the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) and adhere to the most recent TREC regulations for course content and online delivery.

Real Estate License Texas

Obtaining a Texas real estate license may appear to be a difficult task, but we are here to assist you throughout the process. You can continue reading to find more about the six steps you’ll need to do before beginning your real estate profession in Texas. To find out how much it will cost you to obtain your real estate license in Texas, please see our Texas Pre-Licensing Pricing page. Purchase your Texas Pre-Licensing Certificate »

Prerequisites

  • You must be at least 18 years old to participate. You must be either a citizen of the United States or a legitimately admitted immigrant. Meet the requirements of the TREC in terms of honesty, dependability, and integrity
  • Consider seeking aFitness Determination before submitting an application for a driver’s license.

Complete 180-hours of approved Pre-Licensing education.

  • You must complete and pass 180 hours of Pre-Licensing instruction from an approved education provider before you may get your driver’s license. These 180 hours are divided into six 30-hour courses, which are as follows: Principles of Real Estate I, Principles of Real Estate II, Law of Agency, Law of Contracts, Promulgated Contract Forms, and Real Estate Finance are all courses in the Real Estate program at UC Berkeley. Find out more about your comprehensive package choices by visiting this page.

Pass the course final exams.

  • After you have completed each course, you will be required to take a course final exam. Each final requires a minimum passing score of 70% to be considered successful. Proctors must be present for each final, and you must make an appointment with a proctor in advance to ensure that you are there for each final. Learn more about our online proctoring services by visiting this page.

Complete your license application.

  • After passing your final examinations in your courses, you’ll need to file a licensure application through TREC Online Services.

Provide fingerprints.

  • Following that, you’ll submit your fingerprints to MorphoTrust for the purpose of conducting a background check

Pass the Texas Real Estate Salesperson Exam.

  • Once your exam application has been accepted, you will get instructions on how to schedule your licensure exam as well as how to obtain a copy of the Candidate’s Handbook. The Texas Real Estate Salesperson Licensing Examination is administered by Pearson VUE. The National section of this test consists of 85 questions with a 150-minute time allocation, while the State portion consists of 40 questions with a 90-minute time allowance. The exam is divided into two parts: the National portion and the State portion. For further information, please refer to the Pearson VUE Candidate Handbook (PDF). If you need assistance passing your Texas real estate test, The CE Shop also offers thorough Exam Prep that is specifically customized to the state of Texas.

Select a sponsoring broker.

To be licensed in Texas, you must first be affiliated with a current and active sponsoring broker who is registered with the state. Since you begin your new real estate profession, it is critical that you choose the correct broker with whom to collaborate, as this individual will act as your mentor. Here are some questions to think about as you begin your search:

  • What is their standing in the community, both locally and nationally
  • It is unclear what type of real estate agents the company is seeking. Are they technologically sophisticated and up to date with the most recent systems available? The manner in which they assist their agents with education and training. Does the brokerage give their agents with leads and marketing materials? Is there space for advancement within the organization? Are there any advantages available?

DOWNLOAD THE PROCEDURES »

Get Your License Online

The CE Shop’sonline platform, self-paced courses, andstudent satisfaction are only some of the reasons that makes us the best in real estate education. Take the first step in your real estate career today! GET LICENSED »

How Long Does It Take To Get A Texas Real Estate License?

To obtain a real estate license in the state of Texas, how long does it typically take? Getting your Texas real estate license doesn’t have to be difficult if you are driven and prepared to put in the necessary effort to complete the process. The Texas Real Estate Commission requires applicants to complete 180 hours of course work before they may sit for the state’s real estate examination (TREC). The 180 hours are divided into 6 distinct courses, each of which is 30 hours in length. In certain cases, you may be able to finish the course work in as little as 2-3 weeks, depending on your study strategy and learning type.

  • The fact is that attempting to study for more than 12 hours per day is likely to result in a decreased recall of the information studied.
  • As a result, we believe that is a reasonable amount of time to remember the material and study for the real estate test.
  • Before an application may be granted, it is necessary for the applicant to have their fingerprints taken and to have their history checked.
  • You will plan your exam date with Pearson VUE, the business that will conduct the exam, once your application has been approved and you have received a confirmation email.
  • Time elapsed between the date an application is submitted to TREC and the date an approval to schedule your test is granted might vary based on the number of candidates who submit applications to TREC at the same time.
  • Taking your review course as soon as you submit your application to TREC will ensure that you are prepared to sit for the test after your application has been accepted, according to our recommendations.
  • It is next necessary to choose a sponsored broker, who will act as your agent and through whom you will perform real estate sales transactions.
You might be interested:  How To Get Real Estate License Indiana? (Perfect answer)

What Happens When Things Add Up So let’s have a look at how long this entire procedure is expected to take.

Allow yourself an additional 30 days to get your application authorized by TREC, to get fingerprinted, and to have the background check performed and returned.

And, if you pass the exam, you should be able to obtain an active license with your preferred broker within a week of passing it.

If you are really aggressive and work extremely hard, you will most likely be able to do it in less time than that.

Pre-licensing 180 hours with us will be a great experience because of our high success percentage on the real estate test and our proven track record of providing good training.

Passing Rates for TREC Provider Exams Getting started is as simple as going to our Correspondence Courses or our Online Courses and registering for the courses. We would be delighted to welcome you as a student at Pioneer School of Real Estate in the future.

Become a Real Estate Sales Agent

A sales agent is a person who has been licensed by the Real Estate Commission to operate as an agent on behalf of a real estate broker and their customers in the sale of real estate. It is necessary for a sales representative to be sponsored by a licensed broker in order to provide any type of real estate services.

Qualifications

  • A citizen of the United States or an alien who has been legitimately admitted to the country
  • The ADACArecipient does not meet the definition of a legally admitted immigrant.
  • Applicants must be 18 years of age or older, and they must meet TREC’s requirements for honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity.
  • Applicants must be 18 years of age or older, and must meet TREC’s requirements for honesty, dependability, and integrity.

Requirements

To be eligible for a license, you must satisfy all of the conditions listed below within one year of the day your application is submitted. The Application State Tracker allows you to keep track of the current status of your application.

File Your Application

Use our Online Services to submit your application and pay the cost to become a Sales Agent. For those of you who do not yet have a username and password for our Online Services, you can create one right now.

Apply by Mail

If you want, you may also submit a paper application for your Sales Agent license through our website. Take your fingerprints and ensure that you pass the background check. According to Texas law, you must have your fingerprints taken and stored with the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) in order for a background check to be done. Fingerprints that have already been submitted to other agencies will not be accepted. If the background check does not pass, the license will not be issued to the applicant.

Submit Your Qualifying Education Documentation 180 classroom hours in one of the qualifying real estate courses from the list below:

  • Coursework includes Principles of Real Estate I (30 classroom hours), Principles of Real Estate II (30 classroom hours), Law of Agency (30 classroom hours), Law of Contracts (30 classroom hours), and Principles of Real Estate III (30 classroom hours). Promulgated Contract Forms (30 classroom hours)
  • Real Estate Finance (30 classroom hours)
  • Promulgated Contract Forms (30 classroom hours)

Locate a supplier of qualified education. TREC will accept your course completion documentation once you have applied online or submitted your paper application. It is OK for you to submit a course and teacher assessment once you have completed your course work. If you received academic credit for any of the above-mentioned qualified real estate courses from a recognized college or university, please provide a copy of your transcript for review.

Take the Exam

PearsonVUE, a testing service provider, is in charge of administering the license tests. In this case, you will get an email with details on how to schedule the exam as well as how to download a copy of the exam Candidate Handbook. If you fail the test three times, you will be required to pursue extra schooling.

Find a Sponsor

You will be awarded an inactive license if you have met all of the conditions listed above. To be able to work, you must be sponsored by a licensed broker who is currently operating in Texas. By utilizing our online services, you may submit a request for sponsorship. The broker will provide your active license once they have approved your request, and you will be ready to begin working as a Sales Agent!

How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Texas

To pursue a real estate profession in Texas, whether in Houston, San Antonio, Dallas-Fort Worth, Austin, El Paso, or any other city, you’ll need to get a real estate license from the state’s Department of Real Estate. Texas requires that you be 18 years old and have completed 180 hours of approved education before applying for a real estate license. You must also obtain the sponsorship of a licensed broker, submit all required fees and forms to the Texas Real Estate Commission, submit to fingerprinting, and pass the state exam.

As a real estate agent, you must follow a procedure that is comparable in most jurisdictions. However, each state has its own set of processes that must be followed. The following are the seven steps to become a licensed real estate agent in Texas:

Step 1: Must be at least 18 years of age.

Before submitting an application for a license, you can request that the Commission assess if your fitness fits the TREC’s requirements for honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity, among other things. Consider seeking aFitness Determination before submitting an application for a driving license.

Step 2: Register and complete 180 hours of required education:

In order to sit for the Texas Real Estate License Exam, the state needs you to complete 180 hours of college-level real estate courses that have been recognized by the Texas Real Estate Commission. Kaplan provides four different education programs that may be used to satisfy the required 180 hours.

View Licensing Packages

It is necessary to be sponsored by an appropriately licensed Texas real estate broker in order to engage in real estate sales activity. To seek sponsorship, you and your sponsor will both need to fill out an online sponsorship request form.

Step 4: Submit forms and fees to TREC

Submit all educational documentation to TREC, including real estate school certificates, after completing the requisite 180 hours of license study.

Active or inactive initial license?

You’ll need to pick whether you’d want an active or an inactive license before you can proceed.

  • Include the Salesperson Sponsorship (SSF-2) form, which must be signed by a licensed Texas real estate broker, with your initial mailing in order to be considered for an active license to practice real estate. Only the Inactive Salesperson Application forms should be submitted at this time if you wish to apply for an inactive license. Later, you must submit the SSF-2 form in order to activate your license.

Note: You can download these forms at www.trec.texas.gov, or you can complete the entire procedure online at www.trec.texas.gov.

Step 5: Schedule your license examination and fingerprinting

The Pearson Vue scheduling system will allow you to schedule your test when you get your response letter from TREC accepting you and pointing you to the exam Candidate Handbook. In addition, you will be given instructions on how to submit your fingerprints for evaluation. In order to pass the test, you must submit your application within one year of the date it is filed.

Step 6: Prepare for the exam

The Pearson Vue scheduling system will allow you to schedule your test when you get your response letter from TREC accepting you and pointing you to the Exam Candidate Handbook. Detailed instructions on how to submit your fingerprints for evaluation will be sent to you as well. In order to pass the test, you must submit your application within one year of the date it was submitted.

Step 7: Take the state exam

Once you have completed the state test and TREC has received your fingerprints, you will get an Active or Inactive Salesperson License through email from TREC (remember to monitor your junk mail folder).

FREE eBook: Launching Your Real Estate Career

If you could sit down with a room full of accomplished real estate experts and ask them for career guidance, wouldn’t it be fantastic? We asked numerous established real estate professionals what they wished they had known before earning their license and beginning their careers, as well as what they believe all aspiring real estate professionals should know. We received a lot of great responses. We compiled all of their suggestions into a comprehensive eBook that is filled with value. E-book available for free download

How long does it take to get my Texas real estate license?

Following successful completion of the State test, you will obtain your license from the Texas Real Estate Commission within 5-10 business days, assuming that the following standards have been met:

  • Your application for a license has been submitted to TREC. You have passed your background investigation. TREC has received and filed your six Certificates of Completion of Course Work.

Related Questions

Reciprocity agreements with other states are not offered by Texas.

You will still be needed to complete the 180-hour pre-licensing course, submit a Texas license application, get fingerprinted, and pass the state test as a result of this.

Does Texas offer reciprocity with other states?

Unfortunately, Texas does not have reciprocity agreements with any other states at this time.

What tests do I need to take to get my Texas real estate license?

In order to obtain your Texas real estate salespersons license, you must pass two sets of examinations. The first series of tests is administered online. To begin, you must pass the final examinations for each of the six 30-hour pre-license courses that you have completed. Once you have passed all six final examinations at your school, you will be eligible to sit for the State test.

How long does it take to get my Texas real estate license?

If you want to become a licensed real estate salesperson in Texas, you must first pass two sets of examinations. To begin, you must pass the final tests for each of the six 30-hour pre-license courses that you have taken.. The State test may only be taken when you have passed all six final examinations at your school.

How much does it cost to get my Texas real estate license?

The following is a breakdown of the costs associated with obtaining your Texas real estate salespersons license: Pre-licensing course in Texas that lasts 180 hours: $249 Fees for a license application are $205, fingerprint fees are $38.25, and other fees vary. Fee for the State Exam: $43, Total Fees: $545.25, with a $10 fee for the TREC Broker Sponsorship Request form.

How do I get my Texas real estate salespersons license?

There are five stages you must complete in order to obtain your Texas real estate license. Step 1: Submit your application for a license. 2nd step: Complete the 180-hour pre-licensing training program. Step 3: Have your fingerprints taken and ensure that you pass your background investigation. Step 4: Pass the state licensing examination. Step 5: Locate a broker who will sponsor you and help you activate your license. Are you unable to locate your answer? Get in contact with us

How to Get a Real Estate License in Texas

In order to buy and sell real estate in Texas, you’ll need one of these real estate licenses, whether you want to be a real estate agent or a broker. To obtain a real estate license, you must also be at least 18 years old, have completed particular real estate curriculum, passed a test (or two, depending on the licensing level), and have your criminal history checked. Which license is the most appropriate for you? The distinction between a real estate agent and a real estate broker is mostly determined by the number of years of experience and education that each individual has.

In addition, completing extra courses and operating as an agent for a minimum of four years are required in order to become a broker in Texas.

Key Takeways

  • In Texas, real estate agents earn an average yearly compensation of about $88,000, while brokers earn an average annual pay of over $125,000, which includes commission. In order to begin, you’ll need to obtain the necessary license, which might be either a sales agent or a broker. A licensed broker must employ agents, whereas agents must work for a licensed broker
  • Brokers can work for themselves or hire other agents to work for them. To become a real estate agent, you must finish 180 hours of real estate training, whereas a broker license requires 270 hours of study and four years of real estate experience. Following completion of coursework for both licenses, the coursework is valid for two years. Both licenses necessitate passing a final test as well as conducting a background investigation.

Texas Real Estate License Requirements

In Texas, there are two sorts of licenses, and the requirements will differ based on which license you hold. In Texas, for example, a real estate agent is permitted to handle real estate transactions, but he or she must work under the supervision of a licensed broker. A broker, on the other hand, has the ability to operate their own business and employ other agents to work for them.

It is important to note that you must complete all of the criteria for both licenses within one year of filing your application. The following are the prerequisites to become a sales representative:

  • It is necessary to be at least 18 years old. It is necessary to have completed 180 hours of real estate curriculum (divided into six courses) from an accredited provider or to hold a four-year degree in real estate. It is necessary to pass a final test. Must be completely truthful in all of the information submitted and pass a background investigation
  • In order to activate the license, the applicant must be sponsored by a broker.

The following are the prerequisites for obtaining a broker’s license:

  • It is necessary to be at least 18 years old. Applicants must have worked as an agent for a minimum of four years within the previous five-year period. It is necessary to finish 270 hours of real estate coursework—divided into seven courses—through an approved provider, in addition to an additional 630 hours of approved continuing education courses, or to hold a four-year degree in real estate. It is necessary to pass a final test. It is necessary to be genuine and to pass a background check.
You might be interested:  How To Get Real Estate License In Michigan? (Solution found)

A word on background checks: You must report any and all criminal convictions on your application, regardless of how minor the offense was. A conviction may or may not be disqualifying depending on the offence, but failing to declare a record, even if it is for a minor violation, can result in your application being denied on the first day of consideration. You may also submit an application for a Fitness Determination to check if you fulfill the trustworthiness requirements to be considered for a Texas real estate broker’s license.

How Long Does It Take to Get a Real Estate License in Texas?

It might take between three and four months to complete the requirements to become a real estate agent at the sales agent level in Texas, from beginning to end. Agents earn a yearly compensation of around $88,000 on average. As an agent, the road to becoming a broker may be a little longer due to the additional requirements, which include completing 270 hours of real estate coursework (instead of the 180 hours required to become an agent), as well as an additional 630 classroom hours in qualifying courses, and having a minimum of four years of experience as an agent.

How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Texas?

It takes both time and money to pursue a career as a real estate professional in Texas. Ultimately, an aspiring agent will spend between $600 to $700 to obtain their license, whilst a broker may anticipate to pay between $1,000 and $2,000, with each individual spending an extra $110 to $217 every year to maintain their license. The breakdown of these expenses is as follows:

  • The cost of pre-licensing exam courses for agents can range from as little as $149 to as much as $400, depending on the institution
  • However, on average, one could anticipate to pay approximately $400. Brokers will be needed to spend anywhere from $700 to more than $1,000 in order to complete the requisite 270 hours of classroom instruction. It is necessary to complete an extra 630 hours of classroom study. Prices for this vary, but can easily reach $1,000 or more, but there are certain exceptions if you have finished certain college courses that meet the requirements. The fee for a broker application is $235, while the charge for an agent application is $185. An agent license exam costs $43, while broker licensing examinations cost $39
  • Both licenses need fingerprinting, which will cost $38.25
  • And both licenses require a criminal background check.

Real Estate License Reciprocity

The state of Texas does not have reciprocity agreements with any other states, which means that if you want to go into the real estate business in Texas, you’ll have to meet all of the same criteria as everyone else.

Can You Apply for a Texas Real Estate License Online?

You may submit an application for a Texas real estate license either online or through the mail. You may simply access either option by going to the application site for the license you are seeking and following the instructions. The evaluation procedure normally takes a few weeks, following which you’ll be able to arrange your exam with the appropriate testing center. The Texas Real Estate Commission also provides an online application tracker that you may use to get more precise information about your application when you submit with the commission.

Texas Real Estate License Exam

Once your application has been approved, you will be able to schedule your exam, which can be done in person or online, at your convenience. The agent test lasts four hours and includes of 125 multiple-choice questions, some of which are nationwide in nature and others that are particular to each state. The broker test is similarly four hours long and comprises of 145 multiple-choice questions, some of which are national in nature and others that are specialized to a certain state. The Texas Real Estate Commission has produced information booklets for each test that go into additional detail about the subject matter.

If you do not pass the test the first time, you will have the opportunity to repeat it three more times (for which additional fees will apply). You’ll have to complete an extra 30 hours of real estate training before you can sit for the exam again if you still don’t pass after four attempts.

Texas Real Estate License Application

If you pass the exam, your license will be granted to you without further action. It might take up to two weeks to complete the procedure. Remember that agents, also known as sales associates, must activate their licenses by submitting an online application to a broker before they may begin working. Your license will be activated as soon as that is recognized by the system.

Texas Real Estate License Renewal

Texas real estate licenses are valid for two years, and you will be notified by the state roughly 90 days before your license expires or is renewed. The renewal charge for an agent license is $90, while the rate for a broker license renewal is $147.

Does Texas Require Post-Licensing Education?

When renewing their licenses in Texas, real estate agents and brokers are required to complete 18 hours of authorized continuing education curriculum.

Special Considerations

Several legislation and regulations regulate real estate agents and brokers in Texas, all of which are intended to protect the general public from unethical behavior. These are the primary statutes to which licensed professionals are required to adhere: the Texas Real Estate License Act, the Texas Inspector Act, the Residential Service Company Act, and the Timeshare Act.

How to get a Texas real estate license in 6 steps – ASAP

Due to the 180-hour education requirement for a real estate license in Texas, obtaining one may appear to be a difficult undertaking. However, if done properly, this is a method that may provide results in a relatively short amount of time. When compared to other industries, real estate has one of the lowest barriers to entry of any industry you can enter. It is possible to earn six figures in this field if you complete the licensing education requirements, find a supportive broker, and put in the necessary effort and time.

Assuming you meet the eligibility requirements, obtaining a real estate license in Texas requires you to have completed 180 hours of supplemental real estate training.

  • Thirty-hour credits are awarded for Principles of Real Estate I and II
  • Thirty-hour credits are awarded for Agency law and for Contract law
  • And thirty-hour credits are awarded for Real Estate III and IV. Real Estate Finance: 30 hours of credit
  • Promulgated Contract Forms (30 hours of credit)

You may complete the courses in as little as 3-5 weeks, but you can also work at your own speed if you like. The following is a breakdown of the expenses connected with obtaining your Texas real estate license: Expenses associated with pre-licensing study and training: The projected cost for this is between $400 and $1000, or even more, depending on the institution or online program that you choose to attend. This entails locating an approved and certified real estate school where you may log your hours for credit.

  • Fees for real estate license and examination It is projected that this charge schedule will cost around $400.
  • In addition, you will be responsible for the cost of your background check and necessary fingerprinting.
  • TREC costs $54 each exam attempt at the time of writing this article.
  • Broker commissions in the real estate industry These costs are projected to cost anything from $30 to $450 each month, depending on the provider.
  • In recognition of the fact that this is your first year, your sponsor broker will give you with a number of benefits.
  • Additionally, it is probable that you may be required to pay a monthly desk charge in order to help offset some of these expenses.
  • They can also qualify for a tax deduction in the State of Texas, but they are still a considerable expenditure for many Realtors.

For example, you can join your local and state real estate boards to further your career.

MLS or Multiple Listing Service fees will be charged by the local MLS or Multiple Listing Service.

Education that is ongoing Once you have completed your license exams, becoming a real estate agent does not imply that you should stop learning about the industry.

Some continuing education classes are provided for free by local boards of real estate.

“When it comes to real estate licensing in Texas, TREC is essentially a one-stop shop,” says the author.

It is made of of nine members who are selected by the Governor for periods of six years.

Three of the members must be members of the general public who are not subject to the Commission’s rules and regulations. In Texas, the typical real estate agent earns $72,830 per year. The top 90 percent of earners may make up to $121,610 each year.

Perspective from a real estate pro:

Eric P. Hewitt is a writer and editor. Realtor with Berkshire Hathaway Home Services in Texas “A large number of real estate agents work part-time and earn little money since they are not well-trained and do not have the essential abilities or a viable business strategy to succeed in the field.” If you intend to obtain a real estate license, prepare a detailed business strategy and ensure that you have at least six months’ worth of money set up to tide you over until you begin to generate income from your efforts.

  1. A real estate agent profession is similar to that of establishing a small business; typically, a new entrepreneurial endeavor does not earn money for a period of time, and it will most likely lose you money during that period of time as well.
  2. Also, look for a brokerage that offers a comprehensive training program before signing on the dotted line.
  3. It is possible to compensate for a lack of training opportunities at a firm by finding a senior broker/agent who will accept you into their team.
  4. In addition to that, many of them are brand new, with 11,900 of them receiving their license in the first ten months of 2018.
  5. You must be 18 years old or older, a resident of Texas, a Permanent Resident of the United States, or a citizen of the United States, and you must fulfill the integrity, trustworthiness, and honesty criteria of the Texas Real Estate Commission.
  6. All of these requirements, in addition to schooling, are required to become a real estate agent in Texas.
  • Pre-licensing education requirements must be met a total of 180 hours. Register for the necessary course and complete the requisite 180 hours of training
  • Identify a broker who will act as a sponsor. Before you may begin practicing in the state, you must be sponsored by a real estate broker who holds a valid Texas real estate license. Fees and paperwork must be sent to TREC. Once you have finished the 180 hours of mandated license education, you will be able to submit all of the required documentation to TREC. You will have the option of choosing between an inactive and an active initial license. If you wish to work in the real estate industry, you’ll need to obtain an active license first. Fingerprints must be sent. Make an appointment for fingerprints and a licensing inspection. The Texas Real Estate Commission will send you a letter of permission with a link to the CIB or Candidate Information Brochure, which will allow you to schedule a test once you have received the letter of approval. You will also have the option of submitting your fingerprints for evaluation. Ordinarily, you have one year from the date of your application to pass the licensure exam. Preparation for the state license examination is essential. You must pay close attention and prepare for the licensure exam, since this will be the final hurdle on your path to becoming a licensed real estate agent in Texas. The State Exam is taken by many students after they have completed a separate “test preparation” course. Once you have completed this test and the Texas Real Estate Commission has received all of the required documents and fingerprints, you will be able to acquire your Inactive or Active Salesperson License by email from the Texas Real Estate Commission.

On the test, there are some questions that your classes may not have adequately prepared you for. There may be some difficult inquiries that you are unsure of how to respond to. It is possible that you may get disoriented and anxious, which will set the tone for the remainder of the test taking session. As a result, we’ve compiled a list of the best Texasreal estate test preparation companies:

  1. You will get access to live online group webinars, electronic books, online training resources, and thousands of state-specific practice questions when you sign up with PrepAgent. Kaplan– This is the top ranked and most popular test prep in the state
  2. It is also the most expensive. Mbition is a program that is well-known for assisting students in preparing for the math component of the license test. Real Estate Exam Scholar– Provides cheap examinations to assist imitate the exam-taking experience
  3. Real Estate Exam Scholar– AceableAgent is the most convenient exam preparation tool available. Students may access it on the move with the use of a mobile application. According to Real Estate Express, students can prepare for the exam by conversing with agents who are already licensed and experienced in the field.

If you’ve attended a good pre-licensing course and put in the effort to study, passing the state license test shouldn’t be too difficult. Many individuals fail the test in Texas, but it is important to remember that not everyone has attended a cram course to boost their chances of passing. Anyone taking the Texas real estate license exam will have 150 minutes to complete 110 questions. The examination will be administered online. Each question consists of a multiple-choice response, and the questions are divided into two categories: the national part and the state section.

Section 2 of the test is comprised of 30 multiple-choice questions that must be solved within 45 minutes.

The licensure test must be retaken if you are unable to pass the two sections of the test after three attempts.

Once you’ve completed your pre-licensing classes and passed the real estate exam, you’ll be needed to choose a sponsored broker to work with in order to get your license.

If you’re looking for a broker, make sure you’re conducting your research online to find out what the greatest and worst aspects of working there are.

A bachelor’s degree is not required to obtain a real estate license in the state of Texas.

This implies that you should be able to complete the course in a few of months.

Real estate agents in both the commercial and residential sectors are needed to be licensed by the state, although there are notable distinctions between the two types of agents.

A residential real estate agent is not need to hold a bachelor’s degree from a recognized university.

Texas does not have reciprocity agreements with any other states at this time.

If you are interested in becoming a licensed real estate agent in the state, you will need to complete all of the current licensing standards, regardless of whether or not you currently hold a real estate license from another state in order to do so.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *