How To Become A Real Estate Agent In Oregon? (Question)

How to become real estate agent in 5 steps?

  • How to Become a Real Estate Agent in 5 Steps Take a pre-licensing course. States require people to take pre-licensing training from a certified institution before they can sit for the real estate licensing exam. Take the licensing exam. Revisit your state real estate commission’s website for instructions on how to sign up to take the licensing exam. Active your real estate agent license. More items

Contents

How much does it cost to get a real estate license in Oregon?

It costs around $1,000 to get your real estate license in Oregon. While some costs are fixed, such as the state’s application, exam fee, and fingerprint fee, others can vary greatly, including the price of your prelicensing education, which ranges from $329 to $429 depending on the provider you choose.

How long does it take to become a real estate agent Oregon?

Oregon requires that you obtain 150 hours of broker pre-licensing education through an agency-approved school. This includes a total of seven courses total. Education includes a combination of 30 hours of real estate law, 30 hours of real estate finance, and 30 hours of Oregon real estate practice.

What are the requirements to be a real estate agent in Oregon?

To get a real estate broker license in Oregon and start working as a real estate agent, you must:

  • Be at least 18 years of age.
  • Have a high school diploma or GED.
  • Submit your license application to the Oregon Real Estate Agency.
  • Pass a 150-hour pre-license course.
  • Pass a state licensing exam.
  • Pass a background check.

Is it hard to get hired as a real estate agent?

It takes hard work, dedication, and perseverance to become a successful real estate agent. To become an agent, you must take classes, pass a test, and find a broker to work for. Once you get your license, the work is not over. You must learn to sell houses, which they do not teach in real estate school.

Do Realtors make a lot of money?

In Alberta, Real estate agents and salespersons earn an average of $30.35/hour or $61,168.00/year.

Is it worth it to become a real estate agent?

Choosing to become an estate agent is no longer a stop-gap or part-time job, but a real career choice with excellent prospects. It is an option definitely worth considering for graduates and school leavers, especially those with ambition, drive and initiative and who enjoy dealing with people.

Is Oregon real estate exam open book?

The exam has 80 multiple-choice questions and is open book. A passing score is 70 percent. Oregon Real Estate Brokers Tests and Licensing – Real estate brokers must pass an Oregon Real Estate Agent Licensing Examination before getting a license to work.

Is the Oregon real estate exam multiple choice?

The exam is given on a computer and is multiple choice.

Why I quit being a real estate agent?

Most new real estate agents quit their first year because of the emotional toll of “fear of failure” and rejection. Nobody likes to feel rejected. Rejection is part of the job but remember that people are not rejecting you. They are rejecting the notion of buying or selling at that time.

Why do most realtors fail?

Failing To Set Goals & Action Plans Is A Common Reason Why Most Real Estate Agents Fail! Goal setting and action plans are a critical part of any successful business. Most real estate agents fail because they don’t understand how to properly set goals or create action plans.

How many hours do real estate agents work?

Daily and Weekly Routines Nearly half (49 percent) work 40 hours or more. What’s more, over half (53 percent) say they work the same hours or longer today than they did their first year.

State of Oregon: Get a License

In Oregon, a broker license is the first and most basic license to get. A licensed real estate broker who is under the supervision of a main broker is permitted to engage in professional real estate activity as defined in ORS 696.010. A person can only possess one real estate license (broker, principal broker, or property manager) at a time, and that license must be in good standing.

Qualifications

  • You must be at least 18 years old. A high school diploma, GED, or the foreign equivalent is required.

Licensing steps​

  1. Subscribe toineLicense, the Agency’s online licensing management system
  2. And Complete the broker licensing application and submit the $300 nonrefundable application fee through eLicense. An Applicant ID number will be assigned to you once your application has been reviewed and completed. Obtain the 150 hours of needed broker pre-license study from anAgency-approved real estate school.
  • Provide the school with your Applicant ID number as well as your entire name. If you attend real estate school, you will be qualified to sit for the licensing exam. Classes completed on or after January 1, 2013, are eligible to count toward licensure criteria.
  1. Schedule and pay for the broker licensing exam with PSI, our testing services provider, online or by phone at (833) 892-5441
  2. Pass both portions of the broker license exam*
  3. While at a PSI exam facility, you can pay for the mandatory background check and have your fingerprints taken.

*Please keep in mind that both license test results and background check clearances are only valid for one year. The Agency can only award a license if the applicable test scores and background check clearance are still valid at the time of application.

A license is issued when

  • It is determined that your background check was successful
  • Your pending license(PDF) is accepted by your new principal broker
  • And the Agency has completed a final evaluation of your application.

When your license is issued, you will receive an email notification. ​​​​​​​

How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Oregon

An Oregon real estate license is required for anybody who wishes to pursue a real estate profession in any of the state’s major cities such as Portland, Eugene, Salem, Gresham, or any other city in Oregon. To receive your real estate license in Oregon, you must first apply for a state license, then complete 150 hours of needed study, pass the Oregon Broker licensure test, submit to fingerprinting, and obtain a sponsored broker to help you through the process. As a real estate agent, you must follow a procedure that is similar in most states, but each state has its own set of processes that must be followed.

Step 1: Be at Least 18 Years of Age

In addition to being at least 18 years old, you must be a citizen of the United States or a permanent resident alien who can provide proof of high school graduation or an equivalent qualification.

Step 2: Apply For Your State License

Complete and submit the Oregon Real Estate License Application, along with the $230 application fee, to the Oregon Real Estate Commission. More information about how to apply may be found on the State of Oregon’s official website.

Step 3: Complete Your Required Education

Broker applicants must complete 150 hours of prelicense study before being considered for licensure. The 150 hours are made up of seven mandatory courses: Students will learn real estate law and finance in addition to Oregon real estate practices. They will also learn contracts and agency in addition to 20 hours of real estate brokerage and 10 hours of property management. On the website of the Oregon Real Estate Agency, you may get further information on education. Explore further the details of our Oregon real estate test preparation programs, and begin studying right away!

Step 4: Take the Oregon Broker Licensing Exam

Psychological Services, Inc., the exam provider, requires that you register and pass the broker’s exam (PSI). To make an appointment for your exam, go to the PSI website.

Step 5: Have Your Fingerprints Taken

At the same time as your licensing examination, your fingerprints will be taken at a PSI testing site for processing. fingerprints are collected and processed in conjunction with the Oregon State Police (OSP) and by the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) (FBI). On the State of Oregon website, you may find information about background checks and fingerprinting.

Step 6: Obtain a Principal Broker Sponsor

A licensed Oregon main broker must sponsor you in order for you to be able to work as a real estate broker in Oregon. Filling up and submitting the Registered Business Name Association form will be your responsibility as well as that of your sponsor.

Upon acceptance of the application form by the Real Estate Agency, your license will be issued, and you will be able to engage in real estate transactions under sponsorship of the major brokerage firm.

FREE eBook: Launching Your Real Estate Career

If you could sit down with a room full of accomplished real estate experts and ask them for career guidance, wouldn’t it be fantastic? We asked numerous established real estate professionals what they wished they had known before earning their license and beginning their careers, as well as what they believe all aspiring real estate professionals should know. We received a lot of great responses. We compiled all of their suggestions into a comprehensive eBook that is filled with value. E-book available for free download

How to Get An Oregon Real Estate License In 7 Easy Steps

Obtaining your Oregon real estate license may appear to be a difficult task, but we are here to assist you along the process. Continue reading to discover about the seven steps you’ll need to do before you can begin your real estate business in Portland, Oregon. To find out how much it will cost you to obtain your real estate license in Oregon, please see our Pre-Licensing Pricing page. Purchase your Oregon Pre-Licensing Certificate »

To be eligible to become an Oregon real estate broker, you must:

  • You must be at least 18 years old to participate. A high school diploma, GED, or the foreign equivalent is required.

Register with the state.

  • Create an account with eLicense, the Oregon Real Estate Agency’s online licensing management system, to manage your licenses. Complete the broker licensing application and submit the $300 nonrefundable application fee through eLicense. An Applicant ID number will be assigned to you once your application has been reviewed and completed.

Successfully complete 150 hours of approved pre-licensing education.

  • To begin, you must furnish the school with your Applicant ID number as well as your entire name. The real estate school will prepare you to sit for the state licensing exam for real estate agents. After that, you must successfully complete 150 hours of state-approved pre-licensing instruction before you can apply for your license. Find out more about the many package options available to you here.

Pass the final exams for all courses.

The final test for each course is administered once you have completed all of the course materials, met the minimum time requirement, and passed all of the practice examinations. The passing mark on all tests is 75 percent, which is the absolute minimum. The following are the course tests that are needed of real estate broker applicants:

  • Real Estate Law: 30 clock-hours and a 60-question final exam
  • Oregon Real Estate Practice: 30 clock-hours and a 60-question final exam
  • Real Estate Finance: 30 clock-hours and a 60-question final exam
  • Oregon Real Estate Practice: 30 clock-hours and a 60-question final exam Contracts: 15 clock-hours with a final exam consisting of 30 questions
  • Agency Law: 15 clock-hours with a final exam consisting of 30 questions
  • Property Management: 10 clock-hours with a final exam consisting of 20 questions Real Estate Brokerage: 20 clock-hours with a final test consisting of 40 questions. a final exam consisting of 100 questions (for the national component)
  • A final exam consisting of 50 questions (for the state portion)
  • And
You might be interested:  Why Invest In Real Estate? (Question)

Schedule and pass the Oregon Real Estate Broker Exam.

  • PSI, the testing service provider, allows you to schedule and pay for a licensure exam online or by phone at (833) 892-5441. On or before October 1, 2020, PSI will offer the option of remote proctoring for OR licensure applicants who choose to take their exams from home. Beginning on October 2, 2020, students will be able to take a remote proctored exam from anywhere in the world. PSI’s website allows you to arrange your remote examination. This 130-question test is divided into two sections, each of which covers state (50 questions) and national (80 questions) licensing criteria. You will have 75 minutes to finish the state section of the exam and 120 minutes to complete the national portion of the examination. Please visit the PSI Candidate Information Bulletin for further information. When it comes to helping you pass your Oregon real estate test, The CE Shop also offers thorough Exam Prep that is specialized to the state of Oregon.

Complete your fingerprinting and background check.

  • When you establish a license application in the Oregon Real Estate Agency’s eLicense system, the background check procedure will begin automatically. Your fingerprints will be taken at the PSI testing site once you have passed your licensure exam. You will be required to pay a charge to PSI in order to have your fingerprints taken and processed. For the most up-to-date cost, please contact PSI. The Oregon Real Estate Agency has been informed that the Oregon State Police will take about 3-4 weeks to process fingerprints
  • However, this is subject to change.

Select a sponsoring broker.

It is necessary for an applicant to be affiliated with a current and active Oregon sponsoring principle broker in order to conduct real estate brokerage services. Your primary broker should be aware of your application for a license to conduct business in the registered business. Find out more about how to locate a sponsored principle broker by visiting this page. When the following conditions are met, a license is issued:

  • Your background check has come out clean
  • Your new primary broker incorporates your pending license into the company’s operations. Following completion of a final assessment of your application by the Oregon Real Estate Agency

Get Your License Online

The online platform, self-paced courses, and high levels of student satisfaction are just a few of the factors that distinguish The CE Shop as the finest in real estate education. Take the first step toward a successful real estate career right now! GET YOUR LICENSE »

How to Get an Oregon Real Estate License in 5 Easy Steps

Have you ever thought about pursuing a career in real estate? Do you like the idea of having a flexible schedule, being your own boss, and making a good living wage? When it comes to getting your Oregon real estate license, the good news is that it only takes five easy steps if you live in the state. In order to become a real estate agent in Oregon, you must meet the following two requirements:

  • To qualify, you must be at least 18 years old and possess a high school certificate or GED.

In the event that you match the above qualifications, you will need to complete the following processes in order to obtain your Oregon real estate license, also known as a broker’s license:

How Much Does It Cost to Get an Oregon Real Estate License?

The cost of obtaining a real estate license in Oregon is around $1,000. The cost of your prelicensing education, for example, may range from $329 to $429 depending on the service you pick. While certain fees are constant, such as the state’s application fee, test fee, and fingerprint fee, others can fluctuate significantly, such as the cost of your state exam.

Oregon Real Estate License Costs

Prelicensing Classes, Including Exam Prep (150 Hours) $489 (throughMbition)
Oregon Broker Real Estate License Exam Fee $75
License Fee $300
Fingerprinting Fee $56.25
Total Cost $920.25

(*As of July 2021, the costs of an Oregon real estate license are as follows: To thank you for reading The Close, Mbition is offering a discount.

Prelicensing courses in Oregon are 150 hours long, and you may save 15 percent on your 150-hour prelicensing course. To get started, simply click here.

How to Get an Oregon Real Estate License in 5 Easy Steps​​

In most states, a real estate broker is a licensed professional who is responsible for overseeing the work of other licensed real estate professionals. In Oregon, however, this is not the case. Typically, a real estate agent advances to the position of broker after accumulating a certain amount of experience and completing extra training. A broker is someone who has completed a higher-level licensure test in most states. A principle broker is a highly experienced professional who oversees the work of other agents in the state of Oregon.

You’ll need to complete the following procedures in order to acquire your license to practice real estate in Oregon and begin your new profession.

Step 1. Create an eLicense AccountApply for a Broker’s License

Cost:$300 One hour of your time is required. Before you may enroll in real estate programs, you must first register for aneLicenseaccount with the state of your residence. Apply for a real estate broker license online using your eLicense account, and pay the $300 application cost. Once your request has been completed, you will be notified via email and given an application ID number. To register for prelicensing classes, you’ll need to know your registration number.

Step 2. Complete a 150-Hour Prelicensing Course

Costs range from $329 to $429. Approximately one to three months of time commitment In your role as an advisor, you’ll be assisting customers with one of the most critical financial choices of their life. As is to be expected, the state of Oregon places a high value on real estate education. An accredited real estate school must provide you with a 150-hour prelicensing curriculum before you can apply for your Oregon real estate license. The 150 hours of classroom instruction address all facet of purchasing and selling real estate, including all contractual and legal considerations.

Whether you live in Salem, Eugene, or the greater Portland region, you should be able to locate an Oregon real estate school that provides in-person programs that meet on a regular basis during regular business hours.

Those wishing to become real estate brokers in Oregon are increasingly turning to online courses.

There are advantages and disadvantages to each form of education.

Types of Instruction Pros Cons
In-person Classes
  • Setting in a traditional classroom
  • Get to know your fellow students. Access to the teacher is simple
  • Commuting and traffic congestion make on-campus programs more costly than online classes. Finding class times that are convenient for you
  • There is no need to commute. If you live far away from traditional schools, this is an excellent option. You may interact with professors in real time by asking them questions.
  • Finding lessons that are convenient for your schedule
  • There is little interaction with other students. Technology does not always perform as expected
  • For example,
  • Work at your own speed from any location with internet access
  • Attend lessons when it is most convenient for you. Option with the lowest price
  • Instructors may only be reached via email or phone
  • No other means of communication is available. There is little interaction with real estate professionals. Technology does not always perform as expected
  • For example,

Our recommendation forMbition is if you’re searching for a cost-effective, online real estate prelicensing bundle and test preparation resources to help you pass the Oregon real estate broker examination. In our evaluation of Oregon real estate schools, we determined that Mbition was the top overall provider.

Why? A clear and comprehensive instruction manual is provided, and difficult content is presented to the user in an easy-to-follow fashion. Save 15% on any Mbition prelicensing course and put yourself in the best possible position to succeed while taking the Oregon real estate license test.

Step 3. Pass the Oregon Real Estate License Exam

Your study will be considered complete once you have finished 150 hours of classroom instruction. You will then be eligible to schedule and take the Oregon real estate broker test. The test is offered by PSI, in collaboration with the Oregon Real Estate Agency, and is open to the public. When you arrange your exam online, you will be charged a cost of $75 for the examination. PSI provides seven testing centers in Oregon, but you may also choose to take the Oregon real estate licensing exam from the comfort of your own home if that is more convenient for you.

Alternatively, you can take the test in person at the following locations:

  • Baker City, Bend, Eugene, Independence, Medford, Portland, and Wilsonville are all located in Oregon.

To the in-person testing location, you’ll need to bring two pieces of government-issued picture identification that are both current and valid. The test is multiple-choice and consists of 80 questions from throughout the country and 50 questions that are exclusive to Oregon. Make sure to acquire the candidate information package from their website in order to understand about typical objects that are forbidden from being brought into the exam room, such as pens and cell phones, among other things.

  1. The broker test can be taken again if you fail it the first time.
  2. To prepare for the exam, you’ll need at least a week of dedicated study time.
  3. TheMbitionOregon Master Exam Prep Package has additional exam preparation products that may be purchased separately.
  4. Click here to receive a 15 percent discount on Mbitiontest prep kits, which can assist you in passing the Oregon real estate exam on your first attempt.

Step 4. Get FingerprintedSubmit to a Background Check

Cost:$56.25 One month’s commitment is required. PSI Candidate Information Bulletin is an excellent resource. Before you may operate as a real estate broker in Oregon, you must first pass a criminal background check. As part of the testing procedure at the PSI testing facility, you will be fingerprinted as soon as you pass the brokerage examination. Preparation for the fingerprints and background check expenses will cost you $56.25 in total. The processing of fingerprints might take up to four weeks.

During the time it takes for your background check to be conducted, you might want to consider enrolling in business-building courses via The CE Shop.

Customers of The Close will receive a 30 percent discount on any of The CE Shop’s prelicense and business-development courses. At checkout, enter the offer code TheClose30 to receive a 30% discount.

Step 5. Find a Principal Broker to Hire You

It will cost you nothing and take two to four weeks of your time. Oregon real estate brokers are required to work under the supervision of a main broker. For the purpose of managing Oregon real estate brokers, a principal broker must complete extra training and pass a supplemental examination. Starting with the big-name real estate agency in your city or town, you may locate a principle broker to represent your interests. However, smaller brokerages should not be overlooked since they may be able to provide novice real estate agents with more personalized supervision and training.

  • Inquire about your split, which refers to the manner in which you will distribute the commissions you make.
  • Some brokerages will offer you a bigger percentage for your split, but they may charge you a monthly desk fee in exchange for their services.
  • Here’s how.
  • This email address has been found to be inactive.
  • Please tell us about yourself so that we can choose what to provide you.
  • Once you’ve reached your commission ceiling, you’ll be able to keep all of the money you’ve earned in commissions.
  • The fact that you are being compensated as a commissioned salesman may seem strange at first, but the benefit of commissioned sales is that it rewards those who work hard and give outstanding customer care to their customers.

How to Get an Oregon Real Estate License: FAQs

Despite the fact that we’ve covered a lot of ground in this essay, you may still have some questions. Don’t be concerned; as a group of licensed real estate professionals, we have the answers you want.

How much does a realtor in Oregon make?

According toIndeed, real estate agents make an average of $92,806 per year. Oregon real estate brokers are only compensated when they receive a commission following a transaction. To help you figure out your income potential as an Oregon real estate broker, we collected up a list of median property prices in major cities in Oregon

Median Oregon Home Prices by RegionTypical Commissions per Sale

Region Median Home Price Typical 3% Commission
Portland $544,136 $16,324
Salem $363,829 $10,915
Eugene $414,246 $12,427
Bend $641,497 $19,245
Medford $362,576 $10,877
Klamath Falls $240,919 $7,228

How long does it take to get a real estate broker in Oregon?

In Oregon, becoming a real estate broker might take anywhere between four and six months. The real amount of time required depends on how many hours per week you are able to devote to the procedure. Some firms provide in-person lessons, while others provide expedited sessions that cover the curriculum in ten weeks instead of the usual eight.

It goes without saying that you should include in the time it will take you to study for the test as well as the time it will take the Oregon Real Estate Agency to perform your background check.

How much does it cost to get a real estate license in Oregon?

The cost of obtaining a real estate license in Oregon is around $1,000. Some of these prices are set in stone, such as the application, test, and fingerprint fees. Others are subject to change. Which service you pick will determine how much your prelicensing training will cost. Check out the discount codes for online Oregon real estate schools that are scattered throughout this post to save money. When purchasing any of The CE Shop’s Oregon prelicensing courses, our readers may save 30 percent by entering the discount code TheClose30 during the checkout process.

Is the Oregon real estate exam hard?

The national portion of the broker examination consists of 80 questions, while the state-specific portion of the examination consists of 50 questions. The questions are all multiple-choice in nature. To pass the test, you must earn a score of at least 75 percent. If you do not pass the exam, you will be provided with a diagnostic report that will outline your strengths and shortcomings in specific topic areas. You can use this material to assist you in your preparations for retaking the test.

Can I use my California real estate license in Oregon?

If you’re looking for a quick response, the short answer is “no.” You cannot utilize your California real estate license in Oregon. However, if an out-of-state real estate agent enters into a written cooperative agreement with an Oregon licensee, the out-of-state real estate agent can perform work on a “nonresidential real estate” transaction (defined as property that has or could have commercial development or a property with five or more residential units) in Oregon. [See also: Real Estate License Reciprocity and Portability: A State-by-State Guide for more information.]

What if I have a real estate license from another state?

Oregon has reciprocity agreements with the following states and provinces of Canada: Special consideration is also given to the wives and domestic partners of members of our Armed Forces, as well as to their children. On the Oregon Real Estate Agency website, you may find additional information about these agreements, including a copy of the agreement. As an agent in one of the following states, however, you will not be required to go through the complete licensing procedure if you have your real estate license in Oregon:

  • North Carolina, Virginia, Washington, Alaska, Colorado, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Missouri, Nebraska and Nevada. North Carolina, Virginia, Washington

Can I get my Oregon real estate license online?

Almost all of the requirements for an Oregon real estate license may be completed from the convenience of your own home, if you want. The way it works is as follows: Enroll in your prelicensing classes via Mbition to get the training you need. With Mbition, you may save up to 15% on prelicensing courses and test prep materials. Click here to learn more. Then, using PSI, you may take a distant, online proctored examination. You’ll need to go to a testing facility to get your fingerprints taken, but you may complete the rest of the exam at your convenience.

More Career Resources From The Close

Your inquiries about how to become a real estate agent in Oregon may have increased in number now that you’ve discovered how to do so. If you have any queries, please post them in the comments area below. We at The Close are here to serve as a resource for people who are new to the profession.

Please sign up for our newsletter and become a member of The Close Pro and our Facebook Mastermind Group. With this newsletter, you’ll receive the latest news, actionable real estate strategies, and insight from (and for) the world’s top real estate professionals.

Become a REALTOR®

To sell real estate in Oregon, you must be in possession of a valid real estate license issued by the Oregon Real Estate Agency at the time of the transaction. An active member of the National Association of REALTORS®, a REALTOR ® is a licensed real estate broker who has joined the association (and appropriate state and local associations). The term REALTOR® is a registered trademark that may only be used by our members. The value, professionalism, and integrity that REALTORS® promote are among the many advantages of becoming a REALTOR®.

Because of the value of your membership, you receive significantly more in terms of perks and services than what you pay in dues.

Take advantage of all that becoming a member of the REALTOR® organization has to offer by beginning with the following actions:

  • Obtaining a real estate license in Oregon
  • Becoming a member of the National Association of REALTORS®. It is necessary to first join the relevant local and state chapters in order to do this. For additional information, get in touch with a local group or board in your area now. To learn more about this new agent success kit from realtor.com and Top Producer, click here. It has the resources, training, and software you need to begin your career effectively.

How to Get Your Real Estate License in Oregon

The broker license is the entry-level real estate license in the state of Oregon. Although this is different from many other states, the rights and obligations of the real estate salesperson license in this state are comparable to those of the real estate salesperson license available in other states. Real estate brokers in Oregon are licensed professionals who undertake professional real estate operations under the supervision of a main broker. Some of the processes needed of real estate brokers in Oregon are different from the steps necessary in other states, which might be perplexing for new brokers.

  1. Basic Oregon Real Estate Qualifications must be met.
  2. These credentials ensure that you will be well-prepared for the college-level education that will follow once you graduate.
  3. Despite the fact that this procedure is straightforward, a computer and an Internet connection are required.
  4. Submit a Real Estate Application for consideration Submission of an application is the final stage in many jurisdictions.
  5. First and foremost, you will submit a license.
  6. There are no refunds available for this price.
  7. In exchange, you will receive an application identifying number in the form of an email message.

Oregon mandates that you complete 150 hours of broker pre-licensing education via an agency-approved institution in order to earn a broker license.

Thirty hours of real estate legal instruction, another thirty hours of real estate finance instruction, and another thirty hours of Oregon real estate practice make up the required education.

In order to enroll in a real estate school, you will need to supply your application identification number as well as your full name and address.

Various real estate issues are covered in depth in both state and national level courses.

Home owners association rules, market value, real estate assessment, lender requirements, reverse mortgages, and financing restrictions will all be covered in depth in the course work.

Topics covered include agency relationships, fiduciary obligations, disclosures, agent and broker responsibilities, as well as the termination of agency agreements.

The contracts course covers topics such as general contract knowledge, breach of contract, listing agreements, contingencies, counter offers, leases, and different forms of deeds, among other things.

Real estate calculations will be covered in depth in the coursework, which will include basic arithmetic principles, transaction calculations, property tax calculations, pro-rations, and depreciation.

Pass the Oregon Real Estate Exam with flying colors!

To begin, you must become a member of PSI (Psychological Services, Inc.).

It is essential to study for the exam in order to be prepared because it is closed-book.

It is necessary to pass the test on both the national and state levels with a score of at least 75%.

The national component of the exam consists of 80 questions and requires 120 minutes to complete.

The Oregon component of the test consists of 50 multiple-choice questions and is limited to 75 minutes.

The results of the real estate examination are valid for one year.

Pass a background investigation After that, you must go to a PSI testing facility and submit your fingerprints as well as money for a background check.

Upon completion of this phase, you will have one year to finish the application process.

While having a criminal record does not automatically exclude you from becoming a real estate broker in Oregon, the presence of a criminal record does indicate that the commission will take the circumstances into consideration.

Consult with a seasoned real estate professional.

It is this primary broker’s responsibility to manage your real estate brokerage activities and assist you in adjusting to your new professional path.

Once your background check has been completed and you have identified a primary broker with whom to collaborate, you will be issued a real estate license.

After that, you will be able to operate as a real estate broker anywhere in the state of Oregon.

Keep current with new trends and developments in Oregon’s real estate concepts and practices by participating in continuing education opportunities. More information on taking real estate courses in Oregon may be obtained by contacting us.

How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Oregon

In Oregon, the term “broker” refers to the person who has the first real estate license. To get a broker’s license, you must first register online, then complete 150 hours of prelicensing coursework, pass the state real estate test, and submit your fingerprints to the Department of Justice. Starting from the beginning to the conclusion, this step-by-step guide will walk you through the process of becoming a real estate broker in Oregon.

1. Meet the State’s Legal Requirements

Obtaining a real estate license in Oregon is a straightforward procedure, despite the fact that additional hours of real estate education are necessary. You must be at least 18 years old and possess a high school certificate or GED, as well as be a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted immigrant.

Did you know?

Arkansas, Alabama, Alberta (Canada), Georgia, Nebraska, and South Dakota are among the five states or jurisdictions with which Oregon has reciprocity agreements. The Oregon Real Estate Agency (OREA) does not provide information for applicants seeking reciprocal licensing; instead, you should contact the agency to see if you qualify for a license. It is also a cooperative state, which means that it permits real estate agents and brokers from other states to join the state and conduct real estate business.

More information about real estate license portability in Oregon may be found in our guide on real estate license reciprocity and portability, which can be accessed here.

2. Complete Required Prelicensing Courses

Registering for an account on eLicense is the first step toward becoming a registered real estate broker if you match the eligibility requirements. You must first pay a $300 nonrefundable application fee, after which you must wait for your application to be approved. When your application has been approved, you will be notified via email and given an Applicant ID number. With your Applicant ID number in hand, you may begin taking the courses necessary for your Oregon real estate prelicensing license application.

All of the recognized providers give coverage for the following topics:

  • Property ownership
  • Land use laws and regulations
  • And other related topics. Finance, general agency principles, property disclosures, contracts, leasing, and property management are all topics covered in this course. Transfer of ownership
  • Real estate business practice
  • Calculations pertaining to real estate

Did you know?

A member of the Oregon Bar who is currently active and in good standing, as well as qualified under the state’s real estate licensing statute, is excused from completing the real estate broker prerequisite course. Making use of the internet to finish your real estate prelicensing courses is an effective approach to fulfill the requirements on your own time. Consider enrolling in an online real estate school that is recognized by the state of Oregon and that provides interesting, high-quality instruction that is available from any device.

TryOnlineEd, a source of inexpensive online real estate education courses, as well as test preparation tools and materials, to learn more about the industry. Go to OnlineEd.com for more information.

3. Take the Exam

When it comes time to sit for your Oregon real estate test, you must get a combined score of 75 percent on both the national and state components of the exam. However, if you fall short, you simply have to retry the area in which you were unsuccessful. Despite the fact that you must wait one day before scheduling your next try, you have a 12-month window in which to retake and pass the remaining component of your test. You can repeat the exam as many times as you need, but you will be required to pay the exam price each time you do so.

Exam Details

The Oregon real estate test is conducted by PSI, which is a nationwide supplier of state licensing exams, as is the case in many other jurisdictions. You can schedule your exam on the PSI website or by phone, and you will be required to pay the $75 exam cost at the time of enrollment. PSI will collect your fingerprints at the Oregon real estate test facility once you have successfully completed the exam and received a passing score. Read thefingerprinting instructionsfor more information on the procedure and locations, and be prepared to pay a charge of $56.25 at the time of the appointment to have your fingerprints taken.

This can take anywhere from three to four weeks to complete.

They provide high-quality test preparation at a reasonable price, and they give a money-back guarantee if you don’t pass the exam on the first try.

4. Pick a Company to Work For

A sponsoring brokerage firm with which to affiliate your license is required in order to maintain a current license in Oregon. Check out our in-depth article on how to choose the best real estate business to work for in order to make your decision a little easier. Despite the fact that there are other successful brokerages in the Union state, the following are the top five brokerages predicted to be successful in 2021. (Image courtesy of Real Trends2021)

Oregon Cities With Highest Median Sales Price 2021

The higher the price at which a house sells, the greater the chance you have of earning a bigger percentage commission. Check out the sales statistics fromTowncharts.combelow to get a feel of which communities are bringing in the most money in the Beaver State:

5. Apply for Your License

Once you have passed your test and submitted your fingerprints, the process of obtaining your license has already begun. All of the information that you provided in your initial application will be combined with your fingerprints for the purpose of completing your background check. The only other activity you must complete is to ensure that your sponsored broker incorporates your pending license into their firm through the use of eLicense.

When your background check is completed, it will take around three to four weeks, after which you will receive an email confirming that your license has been granted.

Did you know?

It is still possible to apply for a real estate license even if you already have a criminal record on your record. In order to maximize the chances of acceptance, candidates should mention their criminal background on their application, along with any essential documentation linked to the conviction (if any). Following the submission of your fingerprints, your application will be transferred to the Division of Criminal Justice Information Systems and the Federal Bureau of Investigation for further review and consideration.

6. Start Your Real Estate Career

Now that you’ve learned everything you need to know about how to become a real estate agent in Oregon, you’re ready to begin your real estate career. Check out ourTop 25 New Real Estate Agent Tips From the Prosor14 Real Estate Agent Tips for 2021for additional information on how to get your career off to a good start in real estate.

Real Estate

This course is designed as an accelerated pre-license course to prepare you for the Oregon RealEstate Brokers’ License Exam. It is the quickest method to qualify to take the exam and is the most convenient way to qualify to take the exam. The majority of the course content for this 150-hour curriculum is available online. Students are required to have access to the internet, to participate in all class sessions, and to participate in a 9-5 study session each week. CRN 32103 is an identification number.

The next session will begin on January 5 and will meet for 10 Wednesdays from 6-9 p.m., as well as one Saturday from 9 a.m.

on March 12.

Property Management Pre-license Winter 2022

Prepare for the Property Manager Licensing Exam administered by the State of Oregon. The quickest method to qualify for the exam is to complete this course, which covers topics such as the function of property managers, tenant relations, fair housing, lease agreements, and other related topics. You must be able to participate in all evening class sessions via Zoom and have access to the internet in order to complete the self-study section of this course. CRN 34917 is a unique identifier. This course will be delivered using video conferencing software called Zoom.

starting on January 11 and will last for seven weeks.

If you would like to register, you may do so by calling (541) 917-4840.

See if we may be of assistance.

How To Become A Real Estate Agent In Oregon

Most states refer to entry-level licensees as “salespersons” or “sales agents,” and they only use the word “broker” when referring to those who hold a higher degree of certification or licensing. For entry-level licensees, the OREA used the term “broker.” Oregon’s “principal broker” designation denotes the next level of licensure, which legally allows a real estate professional to manage a brokerage, conduct transactions, supervise new agents, and perform a variety of other tasks.

While discussing the procedure in Oregon, we’ll refer to it in words that are familiar to us.

What Are Oregon’s Resal Estate Pre-Licensing Education Requirements?

OREA requires 150 hours of pre-licensing education from a source that has been approved by the Agency. First and first, you must register with the state of Oregon in order to be able to furnish your school with an Applicant ID number. The following are included in the curriculum:

  • Real Estate Law (30 hours)
  • Oregon Real Estate Practice (30 hours)
  • Real Estate Finance (30 hours)
  • Contracts (15 hours)
  • Agency Law (15 hours)
  • Property Management (10 hours)
  • Real Estate Brokerage (20 hours)
  • Real Estate Law (30 hours)

Unfortunately, AgentCampus by 360training does not currently provide pre-license courses in Oregon; instead, it solely provides ongoing education. On the OREE website, you may discover a list of schools that have been approved to provide pre-license training.

Who is Eligible to Become a Real Estate Agent in Oregon?

To be eligible to become a broker in Oregon, you must meet the following requirements:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • A high school diploma or GED, or an international equivalent, is preferred.

What Else Do I Need to Do to Earn My Oregon Real Estate License?

To obtain your broker’s license in Oregon, you must complete the following requirements:

  1. Input your information into OREA’s eLicense system, which includes a nonrefundable application fee. Successfully complete the appropriate pre-license courses with an approved provider. Make an appointment for and pass your Oregon real estate licensing exam. To submit to a background check procedure
  2. Find a principle broker that is currently operating and in good standing in Oregon to sponsor you.

What is the Oregon Real Estate Licensing Exam Like?

An independent testing corporation, PSI, administers the Oregon Real Estate License Examination. They have testing facilities all around the state of Oregon. Eighty nationwide questions (which you have two hours to complete) and fifty Oregon-specific questions comprise the test (for which you have 75 minutes). To pass the test, you must receive at least a 75 percent on both portions. Before you leave the testing center, you will be informed of your pass/fail status.

How Often Does an Oregon Real Estate License Have to Be Renewed?

Oregon real estate licenses must be renewed every two years in order to remain valid. Your driver’s license expires on the final day of the month in which you were born. You can submit your request for renewal as early as the first day of the month in which you want to renew. Your first renewal period will be a little shorter than the second.

What Are the Real Estate Post-Licensing / First Renewal Requirements in Oregon?

A Certified Continuing Education Provider will provide you with 30 hours of coursework if this is your first time renewing as an active licensee (or if this is your first time activating an inactive license). LARRC (Law and Rule Required Course) will account for 3 hours of the total time required. The remaining 27 hours will be spent in a course on Broker Advanced Practices (BAP). The following are included in the curriculum:

  • In addition to business ethics (9 hours), recent administrative actions issued by the Agency (3 hours), real estate management (4.5 hours), business economics (3 hours), advanced agency connections (3 hours), misrepresentation and negligence (4.5 hours) are covered.

First renewal packages are not available at this time; instead, packages to complete the second and future renewals are available, as detailed below.

What Are Oregon’s Continuing Education Requirements for Real Estate?

Every two years, the state of Oregon requires you to complete 30 Continuing Education hours from an approved source (like us! ), which must include the following topics:

What Kind of Jobs Can I Get with an Oregon Real Estate License?

With a real estate license in Oregon, you can pursue a range of vocations, including the following:

  • Residential real estate agent, commercial real estate agent, principal broker, and property manager are all examples of real estate professionals.

Within each function, there is a large range of specializations and niches that can be pursued. Some professional areas are more lucrative than others; however, those that are more lucrative sometimes need further licensure or certification. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the following salary statistics may be used to gain a rough notion of wages in Oregon:

Job Title Average Hourly Wage Average Yearly Wage
Sales Agents $18.54 $38,560
Brokers $27.85 $57,930
Property Managers $23.48 $48,840

Because a real estate agent’s income is generally derived from commissions, the compensation range is rather vast for this position. Some real estate professionals make far less than the national average.

Others earn even more — in Oregon, the top 90th percentile of brokers earns $102,590 per year. For more information about your career alternatives, prospective specializations, and how commissions operate, please see our Resources page for more information.

Oregon Real Estate FAQs

Each licensing cycle of two years requires Brokers and Principal Brokers in Oregon to complete a total of 30 hours of continuing education credits. For the first time, you must complete the 3-hour Law and Rule Required Course (LARRC) as well as the 27-hour Broker Advanced Practices course if this is your first renewal. In order to renew your license, you must complete 30 hours, which must include the 3-hour LARRC and 27 hours of electives.

How often must I renew my Oregon real estate license?

Licensing for the positions of broker, principal broker, and property manager must be renewed every two years. Your initial licensing period, on the other hand, will most likely be shorter. Regardless of when you were born, your license always expires on the final day of the month in which you were born.

When do I need to renew my Oregon real estate license?

Unless you renew it, your Oregon real estate license will expire on the last day of the month in which you were born, every other year.

How do I renew my Oregon Broker, Principal Broker or Property Manager real estate license?

  1. Take the necessary continuing education courses
  2. Enter the information about the continuing education course into eLicense. ineLicense allows you to renew your license. Keep your completion certificates for a period of three years. (Your certificates will be stored in our system for 5 years, and you will be able to reference or print them at any time.)

How much does it cost to renew my Oregon Broker, Principal Broker or Property Manager real estate license?

$230 | Renewal of an active license $110 | Renewal of an inactive license

I missed the due date for my Oregon real estate license renewal, can I still renew?

Failure to renew your license before the license expiration date results in a one-year grace period to complete the renewal process. Continue to renew your license in the same manner as you would for an active license, but pay the $30 late charge in addition to the $230 license renewal price.

Do I have to complete any continuing education if my Oregon real estate license is inactive?

If your Oregon real estate license is now inactive, you are not obliged to participate in continuing education.

Does Oregon have reciprocity with other states?

Among the states and provinces with which Oregon has reciprocal licensing agreements are the following: For additional information, please contact OREA.

How to get a Oregon real estate license in 5 steps – ASAP

Did you know that the state of Oregon does not have a sales tax? Yes! One of the reasons why people are coming to the state is because of its natural beauty. Additionally, this is the home of celebrities such as Danny Glover, Tonya Harding, Kaitlin Olson, and James Beard, the cuisine guru. ” When it comes to cuisine, you may readily get cheese, hazelnuts, Chinook salmon, and other delights in this area, among other things. Having a real estate license in Oregon has always been something you’ve wanted to do, and now is your lucky day!

Whether you want to get your driver’s license in Portland, North Bend, Salem, Eugene, or Albany, we can help.

1st Step: What Are the Requirements for Sales Representatives?

Before you may apply for a real estate salesperson’s license in Oregon, you must first complete the fundamental qualifications established by the Oregon Real Estate Agency, which are shown below.

  • You must be at least 18 years old to participate. You must be a citizen of the United States or a lawful immigrant. You must possess a high school diploma (GED) or an equivalent qualification. You must pass a background check, which will require you to submit your fingerprints.

Reciprocity is important. If you’re currently a licensed real estate salesperson in another state and want to extend your business to Oregon, the state allows complete reciprocity with currentLicensees who possess an active real estate broker license in any of the following states: California, Nevada, New York, and Pennsylvania.

  • Alabama, Alberta (Canada), Georgia, Nebraska, and South Dakota are among the states represented.

Before you may submit an application for a reciprocal license, you must first confirm the following:

  • You are need to pay the salesperson licensing cost. a copy of your state identification card serving as evidence of residency is required a copy of your social security card, a notarized certification of your legal presence, and a copy of your birth certificate Evidence that you now possess a valid salesperson’s license in one of the participating states

Spouses and domestic partners of active military personnel are exempt from this requirement. It is possible to obtain a temporary license from the Oregon Real Estate Agency if you are the spouse or domestic partner of a member of the United States military stationed in this state. In accordance with Chapter 142 and Chapter 626 of the Oregon Laws 2019, this is the case. If you are eligible for this program, you must comply with the following requirements:

  • Be in possession of an active license in the same real estate license category in another U.S. state
  • Submit a background check and fingerprints along with the $300 application fee
  • Present your certification of an active license from another U.S state
  • And Pay the required fee to the exam services provider for taking the applicable license examination.

Step 2: Fill out and submit an application Oregon Approaches Things a Little Differently. In many other states, this is normally the final stage; but, in Oregon, things are a little different. Before you may apply for a license, you must first complete the registration process. The Oregon Real Estate Agency requires that you submit an application. In addition, you must pay a non-refundable processing charge. In the form, it is critical that all information be filled out completely and accurately.

  1. A confirmation number for the applicant’s identification will be issued to you through email following this.
  2. Step 3: Completion of 150 hours of pre-licensing instruction.
  3. This will have to be completed in an accredited real estate school, such as AdentAdvice.
  4. What Is Covered in the Courses This course will address several areas of Oregon’s real estate laws and concepts, including but not limited to:
  • Formalize your application in Step 2. Oregon Has a Unique Approach to Everything. Many other states consider this to be the final stage, but in Oregon, things are a little different. Before you may receive a license, you must first register with the state. Application for membership in the Oregon Real Estate Agency Additionally, a nonrefundable charge must be paid. It is critical that all information on the form be filled out completely and accurately.. You may be disqualified from consideration if you provide incorrect information. Following that, you will receive an email with an application identification confirmation number. As soon as you have obtained the number, you must authenticate it and remember or store it for future reference. Obtain 150 hours of pre-licensing education. Step 3: You must complete a pre-licensing course that includes 150 hours of classroom instruction in order to advance to the next level of real estate agent training in the state of Oregon. This will have to be completed in an accredited real estate school, such as AdentAdvice, in order to be considered. Your Applicant ID number and complete name will also need to be provided to the university. Topics Included in the Courses A variety of topics related to Oregon’s real estate laws and concepts will be covered in this course.

Fourth, you must pass the Oregon Real Estate Broker Examination. It is necessary to pass the real estate broker examinations in order to go one step closer to becoming an agent. It is possible to answer up to 150 questions. The national section of the test consists of 100 questions, whereas the state portion consists of fifty questions. You must obtain a score of at least 75% on the examination. You will have a total of 195 minutes to complete the examination. Arrive at your destination as early as possible.

Additionally, you should bring at least two (2) kinds of personal picture identification.

The Oregon Exam Prep Course, which we provide through PrepAgent, will give you with the greatest practice questions, practice quizzes, and simulated tests available on the market today.

Step 5: Pass a background investigation Don’t be concerned, it’s simply routine operating practice.

The Oregon State Police (ORS) or the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) are often in charge of this (FBI).

Step 6: Locate an experienced real estate broker.

After passing your test and background check, you will need to identify a real estate main broker with whom you may work under the supervision of a principal broker who has agreed to sponsor your license.

To begin, what exactly is a broker?

A broker is a real estate salesman with extensive expertise who is in charge of a brokerage.

A brokerage is a group of real estate salespeople who are under the supervision of a broker.

You will be working in a brokerage, and the broker and other senior agents will be present to guide you through the process.

A newcomer will have difficulty understanding them at first, but the brokerage system will assist you in becoming more familiar with the business.

Wait.

CONGRATULATIONS.

Once your background check has been approved and you have put in the necessary time and effort with a principle broker, you will obtain the license as a matter of course as part of the agreement.

Just wanted to let you know that congrats on receiving your well-deserved license, which was long overdue!

You must continue attending classes in order to keep your license current.

Every two years, all Oregon real estate agents are obliged to participate in this 30 hour instructional course.

Of course, this will need a lot of effort and attention.

We are confident that following these suggestions will assist you in obtaining your license quickly.

* This article was last updated on December 9, 2021.

Chris is on the AgentAdvice Editorial Board and is the Chief Real Estate Officer at OJO Labs, where he also works as the Chief Real Estate Officer.

Chris brings extensive industry experience to the table, having previously served as the CEO of mellohome and as the former CEO of Keller Williams Realty International, among other positions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *