How To Get Real Estate License Colorado? (Solution found)

Steps to Get a Colorado Real Estate License

  1. Complete 168-Hours of Pre-Licensing Courses.
  2. Pass the Pre-License Course Final Exam.
  3. Pass the Real Estate Exam.
  4. Submit Fingerprints and Complete a Background Check.
  5. Provide Proof of Errors & Omissions Insurance.
  6. Apply for Your License.

What are the requirements for a Colorado real estate license?

  • Be 18 years old or older to be issued a Colorado real estate license.
  • Option 1: Complete 168 hours of Colorado real estate license education.
  • Take and pass both the general and state portions of the Colorado Broker Exam at a PSI test center.

Contents

Is the Colorado real estate exam hard?

The Colorado Real Estate Salesperson Exam is one of the hardest state test to pass in the United States. We have compiled this simple exam cram book that quickly and easily prepares you to take your state licensing exam and pass it on the 1st try with the PSI exam.

How long is the real estate course in Colorado?

Register for 168 Hours of Required Education In order to apply for the Colorado Real Estate License Exam, the state requires you to complete 168 hours of DORA-approved college level real estate courses.

How much money do Realtors make in Colorado?

The average salary for a real estate agent in Colorado is around $60,990 per year.

What disqualifies you from being a real estate agent in Colorado?

Colorado realtors may have their real estate licenses suspended or revoked if they get convicted of a Colorado felony. And having a criminal past can prevent aspiring agents from getting a license in the first place.

How long does it take to get a real estate license in Colorado?

How fast can I get my Colorado real estate license? The whole process from education to license in hand will take approximately 2 to 4 months. Fingerprinting and background check can take up to 2 weeks.

How many math questions are on the Colorado real estate exam?

You can generally expect to see between 5 to 20 math questions on the state real estate exam.

Is it worth it to become a real estate agent?

Choosing to become an estate agent is no longer a stop-gap or part-time job, but a real career choice with excellent prospects. It is an option definitely worth considering for graduates and school leavers, especially those with ambition, drive and initiative and who enjoy dealing with people.

What is the pass rate for the Colorado real estate exam?

What Is the Pass Rate on the Colorado Real Estate Exam? The average pass rate for all real estate education providers is 86.14% for the National portion and 68.22% for the Colorado portion.

How many times can you take the Colorado real estate exam?

You can take the state broker license exam as many times as necessary to pass both the national and state portions. The fee to retake both sections or a single section is $42.50.

How long does it take to become a real estate agent?

You can become a real estate agent in about four to six months, depending on where you live. Online prelicensing classes can speed up the process. Requirements vary by state, but the general steps are to take a real estate prelicensing course, take the licensing exam, activate your license, and join a brokerage.

What is the difference between a real estate agent and broker?

Real estate agents have a professional license to help people buy, sell, and rent real estate. Brokers are real estate agents who have completed additional training and licensing requirements. They can work independently and hire other real estate agents to work for them.

How do I become an independent real estate agent in Colorado?

You will need to:

  1. provide proof active valid law license with the license application.
  2. complete 12 hours of education in trust accounts, closing, and recordkeeping.
  3. pass both national and state portions of the Colorado Real Estate Broker’s Exam.
  4. complete a fingerprint background check.

How much does it cost to become a real estate agent?

As a real estate agent, you’ll be required to be licensed by the state in which you plan to practice, and you can expect to shell out around $2,000 over the course of becoming licensed.

How much does a real estate agent make?

How Much Do Real Estate Agents Make? The median annual pay for real estate agents was $48,930 in 2019, according to the most recent data available from the U.S Bureau of Labor Statistics.

How To Get A Real Estate License In Colorado In 6 Easy Steps

Our team is here to help you through the process of obtaining your Colorado real estate license, which may appear difficult at first glance. Continue reading to discover about the six stages you’ll need to take to complete your real estate career in Colorado. To find out how much it will cost you to obtain your real estate license in Colorado, please see our Colorado Pre-Licensing Pricing page. Purchase your Colorado Pre-Licensing Certificate »

Prerequisites

  • To begin, you must successfully complete a 168-clock-hour Pre-Licensing course that has been approved by the state. Find out more about the many package options available to you here. In order to obtain a Colorado real estate license, licensed attorneys, those who have earned a bachelor’s degree from a university with a major course of study in real estate, former licensees, or those who currently hold a valid license in another jurisdiction should consult the DORA Division of Real Estate website and the license qualification grid, which outlines the education and examination requirements in detail for each candidate’s unique situation.

Pass the course final exam.

  • You must take and pass a course final exam at the conclusion of each semester in order to graduate. Depending on the duration of the course, the final exam for each course will have either 20 or 50 questions. After finishing the whole 168-hour program, you will be required to sit for the program’s final test. Final test consists of 100 state-specific questions and 100 national questions, with a passing score of at least 75% required to pass.

Pass the Colorado Real Estate Broker License exam.

  • Following that, you’ll sit for and pass the Colorado Real Estate Broker Licensing Exam, which is conducted by PSI (Professional Standards Institute). An 80-question National component with a 120-minute time allocation is followed by a 74-question State section with a 110-minute time allowance on this test. Please visit the PSI Candidate Information Bulletin for further information. As an alternative to taking the license exam in person at a testing facility, the state of Colorado now offers the option of completing it online. There will still be on-site testing accessible for students who choose to take the exam in person rather than online, according to the Professional Standards Institute (PSI). You can make an appointment to take a test through the PSI exam portal. Candidates from Colorado can contact PSI at (855) 744-0313, which is a designated line for scheduling and any matters related to their exam. The cost and duration of the exam are the same whether the exam is proctored online or in person at a facility. If you need assistance passing your real estate test, The CE Shop offers comprehensive Exam Prep that is specifically targeted to Colorado requirements.

Complete a background check.

  • The Colorado Bureau of Investigation will require you to submit a set of fingerprints after that. These fingerprints are used to conduct a fingerprint-based criminal history background check in Colorado and the United States, using records from the Colorado Bureau of Investigation and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

Acquire errors and omissions (E O) insurance.

  • You must have an E O insurance coverage in place before you can be granted a valid license to practice. More information may be found by clicking here.

Complete the application.

  1. The Colorado Division of Real Estate’s Online Services uses eLicense to process new licensee candidates’ applications for broker licenses as well as to administer the licenses of current licensees. Join eLicense and follow the on-screen steps to submit an official application for your broker license.

DOWNLOAD THE PROCEDURES »

Get Your License Online

The online platform, self-paced courses, and high levels of student satisfaction are just a few of the factors that distinguish The CE Shop as the finest in real estate education. Take the first step toward a successful real estate career right now! GET YOUR LICENSE »

How Do I Get My Colorado Real Estate License?

Obtaining a Colorado real estate license is essential if you want to pursue a real estate profession in Denver, Colorado Springs, Aurora, Fort Collins, or any other city in the state. If you want to obtain a Colorado real estate license, you must be at least 18 years old, register for 168 hours of needed study, submit to fingerprints and a background check, finish your required education, register for and pass the broker licensure test, and locate a sponsored broker. As a real estate agent, you must follow a procedure that is similar in most states, but each state has its own set of processes that must be followed.

1. Must be at Least 18 Years of Age

You must also be a legal citizen of the United States, in addition to being at least 18 years old.

2. Register for 168 Hours of Required Education

In order to sit for the Colorado Real Estate License Exam, the state requires that you complete 168 hours of college-level real estate courses that have been authorized by the Department of Real Estate. In order to meet the 168-hour requirement, Kaplan Real Estate Study provides four different education alternatives. Learn more about schooling that has been authorized by the DORA.

View Licensing Packages

Your fingerprints must be sent to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI), which will conduct a normal background check on you before the state can issue you a license to sell real estate. Because this procedure might take many weeks to complete, you should begin as soon as possible. For information about fingerprinting hours at the Denver site, call 800.276.7031.

4. Complete Your Required Education

Whether you are fresh out of school or have been out of the workforce for several years, our well-organized prelicensing education courses will get you back on track and keep you on track. Visit the website of the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies to learn more about the education requirements in the state.

5. Register For and Take the Broker Licensing Exam

It is possible to apply for a licensure exam once you have finished all of the requisite coursework. Don’t forget to take advantage of Kaplan’s Exam Prep Course to prepare for your exams. It will assist you in ensuring that you are well prepared for success on exam day. You must get a passing score of 75 percent or more on your exam, but as a Kaplan student, you will be confident and well-prepared for the test itself.

The Colorado Real Estate Commission requires that you provide your social security number or another form of recognized identification to the Colorado Real Estate Commission. In order to make a reservation for a test, please contact the PSI Candidate Care Center at 800.733.9267.

6. Find a Sponsoring Broker

Before you may start selling real estate, you must find a sponsoring broker and submit your license application to the Colorado Real Estate Commission. Please keep in mind that the hiring broker is the one who submits the application to the Colorado Department of Revenue Authority (DORA). Do you already possess a Colorado Broker License? Learn how to obtain a Colorado Employing Broker’s License by reading this article.

You might be interested:  How To Become A Real Estate Agent South Carolina? (Solution)

FREE eBook: Launching Your Real Estate Career

If you could sit down with a room full of accomplished real estate experts and ask them for career guidance, wouldn’t it be fantastic? We asked numerous established real estate professionals what they wished they had known before earning their license and beginning their careers, as well as what they believe all aspiring real estate professionals should know. We received a lot of great responses. We compiled all of their suggestions into a comprehensive eBook that is filled with value. E-book available for free download

How to Get Your Real Estate License in Colorado?

Interested in learning how to become a real estate agent and obtaining your Colorado Real Estate License? With hundreds of aspiring real estate agents in Colorado under our belt, Real Estate Express can assist you in becoming familiar with the state’s real estate licensing requirements. Real estate licensing requirements in Colorado are straightforward: you must pass a background check, complete 168 hours of Colorado real estate license coursework, and pass the Colorado real estate license exam.

What kind of information will I learn from Real Estate Express to help me get a real estate license in Colorado?

Real Estate Express can assist you in preparing for the Colorado real estate license examination. You will be able to progress at your own speed. You will also receive resources that will help you in your future profession. Get through your Colorado real estate licensing test on the first try, or you won’t be charged!

Does Colorado have licensing reciprocity with other states?

The state of Colorado will accept your application for licensure with restricted examination and/or pre-licensing coursework if you hold a valid license in any other state or territory in the United States. It is necessary for you to pass a background check, produce a documented licensing history from the jurisdiction in which you currently hold a license, and pass the Colorado Real Estate Broker’s Exam, which includes the STATE part.

Real Estate Express Courses Fulfill Your Colorado License Requirements

All Real Estate Express programs have been authorized by the Colorado Division of Real Estate and meet all of the statutory criteria to sit for the Colorado real estate licensing examination. Get your real estate license as soon as possible!

Colorado Division of Real Estate

3038942683Address:1560 Broadway, Suite 925 Denver, CO 80202 Phone:3038942166 Fax:3038942683

Colorado Real Estate License

Instructions on how to acquire a Colorado real estate license. To be eligible for a Colorado real estate broker license, you must possess the following qualifications:

  • If you have less than 168 hours of schooling, you may substitute a bachelor’s degree from an authorized college or university with a main course of study in real estate
  • However, unofficial transcripts may be presented if you have not yet completed the broker’s examination. pass the national and state components of the Colorado Real Estate Broker’s Exam
  • Pass a background check that includes a fingerprinting procedure
  • And

All of the necessary information may be obtained by visiting the Colorado State Broker License’s official website. Both the CU Real Estate certificate and degree programs have been recognized by the state and fulfill the educational requirements specified above for real estate agents. Exam for the Real Estate Broker License After completing the real estate certificate or major in real estate with the CU Real Estate Center, you are eligible to sit for the broker licensure test (see eligibility requirements above).

If you live in Colorado, please choose your state and, from the drop-down option, select CO Broker.

See also the section on earning your license.

You should have obtained the majority of the knowledge you need for the test in all of your classes at CU-Boulder, but the test prep course will assist you in passing the exam specifically.

These sorts of intensive training are offered by a variety of organizations. Former students have had positive experiences with both Kaplan University and the American Real Estate College. List of ‘Real Estate Schools’ that have been approved by the state

How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Colorado

Colorado real estate brokers, rather than real estate agents, are the official designation for people who represent buyers and sellers in the state. Taking 168 hours of prelicensing instruction certified by the Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA), as well as passing a test and submitting a license application will be necessary in order to obtain your certification. You will be guided through the process of obtaining your broker’s license in the Centennial State by following the steps outlined in this article.

1. Meet the State’s Legal Requirements

The legal requirements to be eligible for a Colorado real estate license are relatively straightforward. The sole requirement is that you must be at least 18 years old to be considered. In contrast to many other states, Colorado does not need any formal education as a condition for employment.

Did you know?

A comprehensive reciprocity agreement exists between Colorado and all 50 states. Therefore, agents who have already obtained their licenses in other states are exempt from taking DORA’s prelicense courses and are only required to pass the background check and state section of the real estate test in order to obtain their license in New York. In addition, Colorado is a helpful state when it comes to transfer of documents. It permits out-of-state real estate agents or brokers to physically enter the state in order to do real estate business in the state.

Check out our information on real estate license reciprocity and portability in Colorado to learn more about real estate license portability in the state of Colorado.

2. Complete Required Prelicensing Courses

Providing you complete the legal criteria of your state, you will be eligible to begin the real estate prelicensing courses. Courses are available both in-person and online through approved online real estate colleges in Colorado, with prices ranging from $295 to $850 per credit hour. All service providers should be knowledgeable about the following topics:

  • Getting into the Real Estate Business
  • License Law and Qualifications for Licensure
  • License Law and Commission Rules
  • Authorized Relations, Duties, and Disclosure
  • Getting into the Mortgage Business
  • Getting into the Mortgage Business. Procedures and Activities in the Real Estate Brokerage Business
  • Violations of License Law, Penalties, and Administrative Procedures
  • Federal and state laws governing real estate transactions
  • Estates and tenancies, condominiums, cooperatives, and time sharing are all examples of property rights. Title, deeds, and restrictions on ownership are all discussed. Descriptions in the law
  • Contracts for the purchase and sale of real estate Mortgages for single-family homes
  • Mortgages and sources of financing
  • Computations and closing of transactions
  • Types of mortgages and sources of financing An examination of the real estate market and its analysis Real estate appraisal, real estate investment, and business opportunity brokerage are some of the services offered. Taxes that have an impact on real estate
  • Planning, zoning, and environmental hazards are some of the topics covered.

Did you know?

It takes just 12 hours of schooling, passing the broker’s test, and passing a fingerprint background check to become a licensed real estate agent in Colorado. If you are a current member of any bar association, you do not need to fulfill any further requirements. You may also be excluded from the necessary education requirements if you have a bachelor’s degree with a main course of study in real estate. Online real estate colleges are many, but if you want to get started on your prelicensing courses as soon as possible, Kaplan might be a fantastic alternative for you.

Pay a visit to Kaplan

3. Get Your FingerprintsBackground Check

DORA mandates that all candidates submit fingerprints to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation in order to be considered for a position with the agency (CBI).

Due to the fact that this procedure might take several weeks, it is critical to begin as soon as possible to ensure that everything is done in time for you to acquire your license. There are several possibilities for fingerprinting services, including:

  • Option 1 – IdentoGO: Make an appointment by selecting “Schedule or Manage Appointment” from the drop-down menu. The prices range from $20 to $30. Alternatively, persons residing in Colorado can obtain fingerprinting services through the Colorado Applicant Background Services (also known as Colorado Applicant Background Services) (CABS). Create an account to book your appointment, and when required, use the real estate broker code 0800REEI to ensure that your appointment is confirmed. Currently, the cost of this service is $39.50.

Your fingerprints will be used to check both state and federal arrest records at the same time. Applicants are expected to disclose any and all criminal convictions from the previous ten years, as well as any current proceedings. It is necessary to include a written description of the occurrence as well as proof of the incident with your application. Approval will be determined on a case-by-case basis by the Real Estate Commission, and prospective agents can request review prior to commencing their real estate education by submitting a preliminary advisory opinion form (PAO).

4. Take the Exam

Having completed the necessary papers and schooling, you will be needed to sit for and pass the licensure exam. As a consequence, Colorado has a better passing rate than the majority of states, with a 77 percent pass rate, and you will receive your results instantly after finishing the exam because it is done on a computer at a test center or proctored from your home. If you do not pass the exam the first time, you have the option of retaking it as many times as you need to within one year after completing your prelicensing studies.

Exam Details

The PSI Corporation, a national supplier of state licensing examinations, is responsible for administering the Colorado real estate exam. To begin scheduling, you’ll need to register for a PSI account on the company’s website, which will then get you access to the scheduling portal. You will be sent with a copy of theCandidate Information Bulletin, which contains more testing details. A credit or debit card can be used to pay the $44.95 charge for taking the exam, which can be done immediately on the website.

If you need to brush up on your knowledge before taking the test, we offer Real Estate Exam Scholar, which is a thorough exam preparation course.

Even better, it provides a money-back guarantee in the event that you do not pass on your first attempt.

5. Pick a Company to Work for

In order to keep your Colorado license valid, you must identify a sponsoring brokerage with whom to associate your license. Check out our in-depth article on how to choose the best real estate business to work for in order to make your decision a little bit easier. Despite the fact that Colorado is home to a slew of successful brokerages, the following are the top five brokerages predicted to be profitable in 2021. (According to Real Trends2021)

Colorado Cities with Highest Median Sales Price 2021

The median price at which homes are selling is directly proportional to the amount of commission a real estate agent receives on the sale of the home.

Check out the sales statistics from Towncharts.combelow to get a feel of which cities in Colorado are bringing in the most money:

6. Acquire ErrorsOmissions Insurance

All brokers are obliged to have errors and omissions insurance in order to maintain an active license (E O). This is used to shield real estate enterprises from errors that may occur throughout the course of providing professional services. Depending on the brokerage, some brokers may be provided with E O services. Otherwise, you’ll have to pay for it out of your own pocket. Alternatively, you can select your own provider and complete theIndependent Coverage Certification Form, which DORA works closely with to provide inexpensive solutions.

7. Apply for Your License

Once you’ve secured E O coverage, either on your own or through an associate brokerage, you may proceed with the application process for your insurance license. A license application is completed online using eLicense on the DORA website, where you must create an account and follow the steps to submit and complete the necessary papers for licensure. It is necessary for your employing brokerage to consent to your application license, and you must submit your license application within one year after passing your exam.

When your license is legally activated, you will be notified by email of the event.

8. Start Your Real Estate Career

As a result of your education on how to become a real estate agent in Colorado, you are now prepared to embark on your real estate career. See ourTop 25 New Real Estate Agent Tips from the Prosor14 Real Estate Agent Tips for 2021for additional information on how to jump-start your career as a real estate agent.

How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Colorado

Learn more about real estate license and take advantage of exclusive discounts. In contrast to the majority of other states, Colorado does not have any licensed real estate brokers. While all real estate professionals in the state are designated as brokers, they are nevertheless generally referred to as agents by the general public. Listed below is the process for becoming a licensed broker in the state of Colorado.

6 Steps to Getting a Colorado Real Estate License

  1. Attend to your academic responsibilities Pass the background investigation
  2. Make an appointment to take and pass the Colorado Real Estate Broker’s Exam
  3. Purchase Errors and Omissions insurance. Prepare the necessary application documents by gathering them together. Fill out an application for a new Colorado real estate broker license

Step 1. Meet the Education Requirement

For a real estate license, the first thing you’ll need to do is complete the necessary schooling requirements. According to the Colorado Real Estate Commission, all candidates must complete a total of 168 hours of instruction. Courses can be taken through a variety of means, including:

  • Community colleges that are nationally recognized
  • Universities that are nationally accredited Real estate education from a school that has been approved by the Colorado Department of Private and Occupational Schools (DPOS)
You might be interested:  Why Become A Real Estate Agent? (Solution found)

All of the information you need to know to pass the broker’s test and work as a Colorado real estate agent is covered in the pre-licensing real estate courses. The following is a list of the subjects that are covered in the course: The law and practice of real estate – Instruction for a total of 48 hours Contracts and laws in Colorado – 48 hours of classroom instruction Trust accounts and recordkeeping – a total of 8 hours of training. Current legal concerns – 8 hours of education on current legal issues Real estate closings are completed within 24 hours after receiving the necessary instructions.

Following completion of the requisite courses, you will be able to proceed to the next phase. First and foremost, be certain that you have received a certificate of completion from your real estate school or a transcript from your university.

Education Requirement Exceptions

Colorado has reciprocal agreements with a number of other states. There are no educational requirements if you have already had a valid license in another state for more than two years in good standing. You will, however, be required to produce documentation in the form of a verified license history. If any disciplinary action is taken, it must be issued within 90 days of the application being submitted. In order to get a Colorado real estate license, you must be an actively licensed attorney who has completed the necessary schooling requirements.

Step 2. Pass the Background Check

The state of Colorado wants to ensure that all license candidates have a clean criminal record because real estate may entail big quantities of money as well as people’s safety. A fingerprinting application must be completed and submitted to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI). It is also possible that the fingerprints will be processed within the FBI’s system. It makes no difference whether or not the incident happened within the state of Colorado. There are three types of fingerprinting available: IndentoGO- IndentoGO is a CBI-approved vendor having outlets all around the state and the United States, including New York.

In the state of Colorado, there is still another approved provider, Colorado Fingerprinting.

If you are unable to travel to an IdentoGO or Colorado Fingerprinting facility, there is one other option: the FBI Fingerprint Card (PDF).

Once you have submitted your license application, the fingerprints will be linked with your application, and you will not be required to present the prints physically.

Step 3. Schedule and Pass the Colorado Real Estate Broker’s Exam

PSI is in charge of administering the Colorado license tests. It is highly recommended that you review the PSI Colorado Candidate Handbook. Everything you need to know about preparing for exam day is contained inside this guidebook. To book an exam time, you must have your certificate of completion or certified transcripts demonstrating that you have completed the educational requirements. You can schedule an exam appointment online or by calling 800-733-9267.

Exam Questions

The Colorado Broker’s Exam is divided into two parts: the national portion and the state section. For the national segment, you have 120 minutes to finish it, whereas for the state section, you have 110 minutes to do it. On the national test, there are 80 multiple-choice questions, while on the state exam, there are 74 multiple-choice questions.

Exam Fees

The first time you take the exam, the charge is $44.95 (plus tax). A retake of the test will incur a price of $42.50 in addition to the original $42.50 fee.

Exam Scoring

The two parts of the test are graded independently of one another. a. A minimum of 60 correct answers are required to pass the national component of the exam.

To pass the state component of the exam, you must answer at least 53 questions correctly. The good news is that if you only fail one section of the exam, you will not be required to retake the section that you passed the first time.

Step 4. Get E O Insurance

Real estate agents in other states don’t have to worry about errors and omissions insurance since their broker takes care of it for them. However, in Colorado, there are just brokers and brokers who hire other brokers. That implies that if you’re attempting to acquire a new real estate license in Colorado, you’ll need to have E O insurance in place before you can begin working in the industry. All real estate activity that necessitates the use of a license must be covered by an E O insurance policy that is up to date.

A group coverage is also available via Rice Insurance Services LLC, which is administered by the Colorado Division of Real Estate.

Step 5. Gather Together the Required Application Documents

When you’ve finished the needed real estate education for a Colorado real estate broker license, obtained fingerprinting, passed the test, and arranged E O insurance, you’re ready to submit your application to the Colorado Department of Revenue. Failure to provide all of the required documents might result in prolonged delays, which can significantly lengthen the licensing process. You’ll need to provide the following papers in order to be considered for the position:

  • A certificate of completion for the education requirement (REC-33)
  • A professional liability insurance policy (you will not be required to submit papers, but you will be required to supply policy details)
  • If you are already licensed in Colorado or another state, you must provide a certified licensing history.

If you have previously had a professional license and were subjected to disciplinary action, you will additionally be required to submit the following documents:

  • Formalized written and signed declaration indicating the licensure and the activities done
  • The complaint or charges, together with a copy of the agency order issued in response to the complaint or charges
  • And License status confirmation, including the most recent version of the license

Applicants who answer yes to any of the criminal background questions on the application will be required to submit the following documents:

  • If the court papers are no longer available, a signed declaration must be submitted in their place. Original charging documents in their entirety. Any and all police officer reports
  • All arrest affidavits
  • And any other documentation. written account of the events, including any rehabilitative efforts that have been implemented. You will need a formal statement from your hiring broker (if you have one). Each and every sentence and judgment order
  • The terms and conditions of probation
  • All delayed judgements
  • And any other relevant information. Information about cases that have been dismissed

All of the papers listed above will need to be scanned in order to be submitted electronically.

Step. 6 Apply for a New Colorado Real Estate Broker License

You are now ready for the relatively simple task of completing your Colorado broker license application! The state of Colorado has implemented an online application system. To gain access to and finish the application, follow these steps:

  • Visit the Colorado Division of Real Estate’s online eLicense application portal. You must first create an account if you do not already have one. Log in and select the “Create/Continue Application for NEW License” link from the drop-down menu. If you want to launch the relevant application, choose “Real Estate – Brokers.” Please fill out the application in its entirety, answering all pertinent questions
  • Upload all of the necessary paperwork. You must pay a $485 broker application fee.

Once you have filed all of the required paperwork and there are no difficulties with the criminal background check, you will be awarded a Colorado real estate license. You’ll be able to start operating as a broker right away due of the way the procedure has been set up to begin with. Aceable, Inc. retains ownership of all intellectual property rights.

How To Get Your Real Estate License In Colorado

Is that something you’ve been thinking about lately, acquiring your real estate license in Colorado? Congratulations on coming to this conclusion! We’re delighted that you’ve arrived and are taking steps toward a new and exciting professional path. In this section, we’ll talk about why individuals are drawn to the real estate market, and then we’ll go over the six stages you must do to obtain your Colorado real estate license. Before we get into the specifics of the process, let’s discuss some of the advantages of obtaining your license in Colorado.

You’ll have greater control over your schedule and workload as a result of this.

Agents have the opportunity to confront new difficulties on a daily basis, meet new people, and expand their businesses in any way they see fit, all while making a respectable income in a variety of methods.

When it comes to establishing a career in the real estate sector, one of the most appealing aspects is that you don’t need any prior experience or college education to get started.

In fact, RealEstateU allows you to complete your real estate licensing requirements online at your own speed. The following are the six stages you must do in order to obtain your Colorado real estate license.

The Steps To Obtain A CO Real Estate License

1. Completion of the 168-hour Colorado Real Estate Broker Pre-license Course or a major course of study at a recognized college or university (Step 1 of 2). Step 2: Make an appointment for your Colorado State License Exam. Step 3: Submit fingerprints for a criminal history check in the state of Colorado. The fourth step is to sit for and pass the State Broker Exam. Purchase Errors and Omissions Insurance as a fifth step. Step6: Submit an application for your Colorado real estate broker license.

Step 1: Complete The Pre-License Course

Meeting the pre-license education requirements is the first stage in the process. In order to be licensed in Colorado, you must either have documentation of a major course of study in real estate or finish a 168-hour pre-licensing course from a Colorado-approved education institution. Both online and in-person courses are available for enrollment. Once you have completed the 168-hour course and passed the final test, you will be awarded the course completion certificate that you will need to complete the broker application process.

Step 2: Apply for the State Exam

Colorado’s Real Estate Broker Licensing Exam is administered by PSI, and it costs $44.95 to take. By contacting 1-855-744-0313, you may make an appointment for your checkup right now. Additionally, there are exam locations situated around the state, and you may get a list of addresses by searching the website or by viewing theColorado Candidate Bulletin, both of which are available online.

Step 3: Take and Pass the State Exam

It is broken into two sections: the national component and the state section of the Colorado Real Estate Broker Licensure exam. The national part is more generic in nature and includes subjects related to national real estate. This segment will take you 120 minutes to complete. Your time for the state part is 110 minutes, and you will be covering Colorado-specific rules and regulations. As soon as you finish the exam, you will be able to see your results on your computer screen. It is also possible that your findings may be forwarded to the Colorado Division of Real Estate.

The state of Colorado enables you to take the failed section over again if you fail one of the sections.

Step 4: Get Your Fingerprints Taken

Every candidate is required to have their fingerprints taken and to pay for a background check via the Colorado Bureau of Investigation before they may be considered for a broker license. The state has three recognized vendors that may organize your appointment and submit your fingerprints on your behalf.

Step 5: Acquire ErrorsOmissions Insurance

The state of Colorado mandates that all real estate agents have an up-to-date Errors and Omissions Insurance coverage before they may be granted an active license. More information on those criteria may be found here.

Step 6: Apply for Your License

After completing both sections of the Colorado Real Estate Broker test, you will have one year to submit an application for your broker’s license with the state. Following that, you may apply for a real estate license online through the state’s website. You’ll be required to provide documentation of your real estate education, such as a REC-33 certificate from your 168-hour course or a transcript from your major course of study in real estate, in order to be considered for the position. In addition, you’ll be required to answer some background screening questions, which may need the submission of extra court papers and sworn statements, as well as extensive insurance information, before you can be hired.

In order to sell real estate in the state of Colorado, you must first get the services of an employing broker. After being employed by a broker and having your application accepted, you’re officially a member of the club! You are now a licensed real estate broker in the state of Colorado.

Colorado Real Estate Application

One important piece of advice we usually advise to those who want to get into the real estate sector and pass their state test the first time is to familiarize themselves with the dictionary of vital phrases. Your online course includes a course glossary, which you can use to familiarize yourself with all of the terms that will most likely appear on the test. Despite the fact that you will not be required to memorize everything, it is always a good idea to have a broad understanding of what the phrases imply.

Despite the fact that broad real estate information is applicable across the country, certain states need things that other jurisdictions do not, so make sure you examine state-specific questions in the course so that you are not caught off guard.

Next Steps With RealEstateU

You’ve made the decision to start your real estate career. Are you ready to get started? We’d be delighted to assist you! We have courses at RealEstateU that will assist you in obtaining your Colorado broker’s license online and at your own speed. Learn more about the criteria for a Colorado real estate salesperson’s license and see whether it is a suitable match for you. Furthermore, if it does not work for you after 30 days, we will refund your money with no questions asked.

Colorado Real Estate Continuing Education FAQ

Brokers in Colorado are required to complete 24 hours of continuing education credits per three-year licensing cycle in order to maintain their license. Three distinct 4-hour Annual Commission Update Courses must be included in half of those hours (12 hours total). These courses are only accessible from January 1st through December 31st of their respective year, and they must be finished by December 31st in order to qualify. The remaining needed hours (12) can be made up of any combination of optional credit hours that have been authorized by DORA.

You might be interested:  How To Start A Real Estate Investment Business? (Solution)

How often must I renew my Colorado real estate license?

Denver-based broker licenses are need to be renewed every three years.

When do I need to renew my Colorado real estate license?

Currently, all broker licenses in Colorado expire on the anniversary of the date on which they were first issued. However, as of January 1, 2018, all licenses will have a December 31 expiration date, instead of the current January 1. DORA is presently working on finalizing the specifics.

Are your courses approved by Colorado Division of Real Estate?

Yes! The course title contains our course approval numbers, which are contained in the course description.

Do you report my continuing education to Colorado Division of Real Estate?

No. The Department of Revenue does not require continuing education providers to report course completion on the licensee’s behalf. We give you with printed certificates of completion that are instantly accessible for printing after completing the course. Every quarter, the state of Colorado randomly chooses a number of licensees to participate in a real estate broker continuing education audit. Licensees who have been selected must demonstrate that they have met the continuing education criteria for the three-year licensing cycle that they have recently finished.

Your certificates are maintained in your profile and are accessible for printing at any time for a period of five years after they have been created.

How long do I have to complete my courses after I purchase them?

Individual courses are available for download for a period of six months from the date of purchase. A package will get you access to the coursework for the duration of your license cycle if you purchase it in advance of the deadline (3 years). Please keep in mind that the Annual Commission Update course is only accessible during the calendar year in which the course is applicable, and it must be completed by December 31st of that calendar year, according to Colorado Department of Real Estate standards.

Only the content for the 2017 Annual Commission Course is available for review, and it must be completed by December 31, 2017, or it will be considered incomplete.

Do I have to complete the course at one time?

No! You are not required to complete each lesson in a single session. Any internet-capable device may be used to access your classes, and our system will keep track of where you begin and end each session. Our courses are often divided into 20-25 minute segments, making it simple for you to complete your course whenever it is most convenient for you!

How do I renew my Colorado real estate license?

Brokers in Colorado are required to renew their licenses using the state’s online portal. If you do not already have an account, you will be required to create one prior to using the service.

How much does it cost to renew my Colorado real estate license?

Renewal of the Broker Base Rate is $123.00. Fee schedule in its entirety

I missed the due date for my Colorado real estate license renewal, can I still renew?

Yes. Brokers in Colorado have the option of renewing their licenses for up to two years after their current license expires.

Do I have to complete any continuing education if my Colorado real estate license is inactive?

No. If your license is now inactive, you are not required to fulfill any continuing education requirements for it. To have your license reinstated, you will need to provide proof of completion of the requisite continuing education credits or proof of completion of the 24-hour Broker Reactivation course. If your license has been inactive for more than three years, you must complete one of the following requirements:

  • This is referred to as the State section of the Colorado Broker’s Exam, or
  • Colorado Contracts and Regulations requires 48 hours, and Real Estate Closings need 24 hours (for a total of 72 hours).

TOP-RATED 3 Online Real Estate Schools in Colorado – 2022

The Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies will need you to go through the process of becoming a real estate agent before you can begin working in the state (DORA). This is the government agency that is in charge of establishing all of the rules and regulations that apply to real estate in the state of Colorado. Because their number one aim is to safeguard the customer, they hold real estate professionals to the highest standards and ensure that anybody new to the business has proper training before entering the sector.

There is no difference between the school you go to obtain the 168 hours; they will all cover the same topics:

  • It is a beginning course that covers common real estate terminology, ideas, and information as well as national legislation that are shared by a majority of states
  • It is 48 hours in length. Colorado Statutory Relationships (48 hours)– This course covers the several forms of Colorado Statutory Relationships, Brokerage Relationship Agreements, Sales Contracts, and other important factors in contracting. Student Training in Record Keeping and Trust Accounts (8 hours)– This course teaches students how to maintain accurate records as required by law and handle the finances of other people. Current Legal Concerns (8 hours)– This topic is concerned with current issues affecting the real estate business, and it is updated on a regular basis as new and significant legal issues and developments occur. Closings (24 hours)– This topic is intended to provide people with the fundamental knowledge and abilities necessary to effectively close a real estate transaction, including all of the duties that arise once the transaction is completed. The Practice Applications course (32 hours) is designed to provide new agents with a working understanding of practical applications so that they may establish a baseline level of proficiency before entering the real estate profession.

The school you pick will have a significant impact on your ability to obtain a professional license.

That is why it is critical to analyze the advantages and disadvantages of many options in order to pick the one that best suits your learning style. Here are the top three real estate colleges in Colorado that will prepare you to become a licensed real estate agent.

Best School for Overall Value

When it comes to the real estate education sector, Real Estate Express now has the number one market share position. In addition to helping you get licensed, they also provide a wealth of tools and resources to assist you begin your career. In fact, they have so many selections accessible that you may have a difficult time picking which one to choose to purchase. Real Estate Expressprovides you with two options for completing the 168 hours of study necessary. Traditional methods of learning the course information include reading the course material online and/or using a physical textbook.

  1. A maximum of six months is allowed for you to finish the program.
  2. The alternative option for taking the course is through their new Livestream videocourse, which allows you to watch a trained teacher deliver the class through a Zoom online conference call.
  3. If you are afraid that studying would be too monotonous and you also have a flexible schedule, this will be a better alternative for you than the other two options available.
  4. Real Estate Express has also recently launched a new live video course to assist you in preparing for the real estate test, dubbed the Live Exam Crammer Series, which is available now.
  5. Each session lasts one hour.
  6. If you do not pass, you will receive a refund of your money.
  7. They even feature what is undoubtedly the finest price on the market, thanks to the constant stream of specials that seem to be running.

Kaplan Real Estate is, without a doubt, the most well-known name in the education sector.

As a result, they may have a basic understanding of how to teach a course.

More accurately, they are a huge education firm that provides courses across a wide range of sectors.

While Kaplan Real Estate offers live video and online reading courses, what truly distinguishes them from other schools is their recorded video courses, which can be found under the OnDemand Online Video Packages section of their website.

You can start watching the videos right now.

You have the best of both worlds in this situation.

The same exam preparation and live help are included in every package, regardless of the course type you pick.

You may tailor the tests to focus on certain areas of your choosing by modifying the questions.

While enrolled in the course, you will have access to their helpful Interactive Study Groups, which will come in handy if you want any assistance.

It’s similar to participating in a virtual study group where you may ask any and all of your queries.

This includes an intensive 8-hour online course that teaches you how to get your real estate business up and running as soon as you have your license. For the first eight weeks, you will have access to a professional real estate coach who will assist you in getting started.

Perfect for Knowledge Seekers

Product and material from The CE Shop are available in all 50 states because it is a 100 percent online-only school. You can tell they care about Coloradoans because they are based in Greenwood Village, so you can bet they will go out of their way to help their fellow residents. However, regardless of where you are located, they have a 96 percent total student satisfaction percentage in place. What actually distinguishes them from other institutions is the rigid format that they follow. They have specially created their curriculum to educate you how to master the subject matter.

  1. You will know the content like the back of your hand, which means you will be able to pass the exam with flying colors on one hand.
  2. This is an excellent school for persons who want to actually learn as much about real estate as they possibly can and who are not in a rush to become certified in the field.
  3. In order to make learning more interesting, this approach includes real-life events and a range of interactive exercises throughout the course.
  4. Another feature that distinguishes The CE Shop from other schools is the manner in which their courses are presented.
  5. It is possible to use a tablet or smart phone to smoothly continue your studies while on the road because they have extended their easy interface to mobile devices as well.

Real Estate School

Are you interested in obtaining a Colorado real estate license? Do you require the reinstatement of your Colorado real estate license? Are you a licensed professional in another state who needs to earn a Colorado license? SELF-STUDY COURSES ARE AVAILABLE IN THE CLASSROOM AND ON THE WEB! Classes are available throughout the day and at night at your convenience (taught Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday) The following daytime class will begin on January 4, 2022. The next Evening Class will begin on March 15, 2022.

ABOUT US

The Real Estate College of Colorado, Inc., was founded in 1978 as a non-profit organization. According to Colorado Department of Higher Education, the school has been approved by their Division of Private OccupationalSchools and is controlled by the Colorado Division of Real Estate. All licensing programs are designed to fulfill the particular criteria of the State of Colorado for obtaining a real estate license, and all continuing education courses have been authorized by the Colorado Division of Real Estate to meet those requirements as well.

Our corporate headquarters in Colorado Springs is responsible for the upkeep of school buildings and student data. ​

Click on the Catalog to download a pdf copy.

The Real Estate College of Colorado is a private, non-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of real estate education in the state of Colorado. 611 North Weber Street, Suite 202 Colorado Springs, Colorado 80903 (USA)

Real Estate Licensing Requirements in Colorado

The Colorado Bureau of Investigation conducts background investigations on potential employees (CBI). Your fingerprints will be examined by both the CBI and the FBI (Federal Bureau of Investigation). They will have up to one year to utilize the findings of the background check when applying for a driver’s license if they establish that you do not have a criminal record. The findings of the inquiry must be submitted with your application. The next step is to complete your pre-licensing education requirements.

Pre-Licensing Education

Pre-licensing education is training that has been approved and is required by the Department of Revenue. The instruction is provided at colleges, universities, and DORA-approved schools around the country. Future brokers must complete a total of 168 hours of pre-licensing education before they may be licensed. Courses can be taken either online or in a traditional classroom setting. The following subjects are covered in pre-licensing education:

Credit Hours Subject
48 hours Real Estate Law
48 hours Colorado Real Estate Regulations
32 hours Practical Applications
24 hours Real Estate Closings
8 hours Trust Accounting
8 hours Legal Matters

Once you have completed the program, you will be issued a certificate of completion on DORA form REC 33, which will be valid for one year. The certificate will be valid in perpetuity. There are a few exceptions to the necessity for a college education. If you majored in real estate during your undergraduate or graduate studies, or if you previously had a real estate license, you may not be required to complete pre-licensing coursework.

Passing The Test

Obtaining a passing score on the state test is the next stage in the licensing procedure. Each section of the test is divided into two parts: a national section and a state section. You will have three hours and fifty minutes to complete 154 multiple-choice questions on the exam. To pass, you must have a grade of at least 75 percent. Unless you fail the entire exam, you will only have to retake the component of the exam that you failed. Once you pass the exam, you will have up to one year to submit an application for your associate broker’s license.

In addition, you will be subjected to another background check.

When a Broker Needs a Broker

A contract with an employment broker will be required before you can submit your application for consideration. The employing broker is in charge of overseeing the associate brokers under his or her supervision.

Insured To Sell Real Estate

You will be required to obtain errors and omissions insurance, which is also known as E O insurance. The insurance will pay for any mistakes you make that result in a loss for your clients.

The majority of brokers and real estate firms that employ people have a general E O policy. The blanket policy applies to everyone who works for the firm. It is possible that you will only be obliged to pay a fraction of the premium.

Time To Apply

You will require the following elements in order to submit your application to DORA:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *