How long did it take you to get a real estate license?
- Where you get your real estate education will also contribute to how long it takes to get your real estate license. One option is a traditional real estate school. Depending upon the state that you are in and the number of hours offered per week, in most cases the educational requirements can be completed in 4-6 months.
- 1 How long does it take to get a VA real estate license?
- 2 How do you get your real estate license in Virginia?
- 3 How long is a real estate course in Virginia?
- 4 How much does it cost to maintain real estate license in Virginia?
- 5 How do I find a broker to sponsor me?
- 6 Is the Virginia real estate exam hard?
- 7 How long does it take to become a real estate agent?
- 8 How many times can you take the Virginia real estate exam?
- 9 How much does a real estate agent make?
- 10 Real Estate Board: Pre-License Education
- 11 Broker Pre-License Education
- 12 Examination
- 13 How To Get A Real Estate License In Virginia In 6 Easy Steps
- 14 Get Your License Online
- 15 How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Virginia
- 16 Five Steps to Becoming a Real Estate Agent in Virginia
- 17 How to Get a Real Estate License in Virginia
- 18 Step 1: Be at Least 18 Years of Age
- 19 Step 2: Register and Complete the 60 Hours of Required Education
- 20 Step 4: Complete Your Fingerprinting and Background Check
- 21 Step 5: Apply for Your Virginia Real Estate Salesperson Licensing
- 22 Virginia State Requirements: Salesperson
- 22.1 How long does it take to get a Virginia real estate license?
- 22.2 What kind of information will I learn to help me get a real estate license in Virginia?
- 22.3 How do I apply for and take the Virginia Salesperson licensing examination?
- 22.4 How do I submit my fingerprints for the background check?
- 22.5 How do I submit my Virginia Salesperson application?
- 22.6 Does Virginia require post-licensing education?
- 22.7 Does Virginia offer reciprocity?
- 22.8 Regulatory Notes:
- 23 How to Become a Realtor in Virginia
- 24 What Is a Realtor®?
- 25 Why Become a Realtor?
- 26 Is There a Downside to Becoming a Realtor?
- 27 Is Being a Realtor Mandatory?
- 28 Before You Become a Realtor, You Must Become a Virginia Real Estate Agent
- 29 Taking the Extra Step to Become a Realtor
- 30 How to Get a Real Estate License In Virginia
- 31 About This Article
- 32 Did this article help you?
- 33 Requirements – Act Web Real Estate School
How long does it take to get a VA real estate license?
On average, it takes between five (5) and six (6) months to get a California real estate license depending on the pace in which you complete the 135 hours of pre-licensing courses and pass your licensing examination, the time it takes you to complete the application process and find a sponsoring broker, and application
How do you get your real estate license in Virginia?
Hold a high school diploma or its equivalent.
- Complete 60 hours of approved Pre-Licensing education.
- Pass the course final exam.
- Pass the Virginia real estate salesperson exam.
- Complete fingerprint requirement.
- Select a sponsoring broker.
- Complete the application.
How long is a real estate course in Virginia?
Complete 60 hours of official pre-licensing classes. Virginia requires 60 hours of education, which you can take in a classroom or online. Contact the Long & Foster Institute of Real Estate to learn more.
How much does it cost to maintain real estate license in Virginia?
MLS fees: The cost to belong to a multiple listing service (or MLS) costs about $65/month. Lockbox and card fees: Runs around $100. License renewal fee: $65 every two years for a salesperson; $80 for a broker.
How do I find a broker to sponsor me?
You can find independent broker sponsor by just googling “broker sponsorship”, and you should see several sponsoring brokers for a fee that will let you keep 100% of the commission.
Is the Virginia real estate exam hard?
The real estate exam is a knowledge test. It does not test applicants on information that they will intuitively know. In other words, you must study to pass this exam. With proper preparation, the real estate exam is not that hard.
How long does it take to become a real estate agent?
You can become a real estate agent in about four to six months, depending on where you live. Online prelicensing classes can speed up the process. Requirements vary by state, but the general steps are to take a real estate prelicensing course, take the licensing exam, activate your license, and join a brokerage.
How many times can you take the Virginia real estate exam?
You can take the Virginia state licensing exam as many times as needed until you pass. You simply have to schedule a new exam attempt through PSI and pay the $60 exam fee for each attempt.
How much does a real estate agent make?
How Much Do Real Estate Agents Make? The median annual pay for real estate agents was $48,930 in 2019, according to the most recent data available from the U.S Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Real Estate Board: Pre-License Education
The following requirements must be met before an applicant can be licensed as a real estate salesperson by the Real Estate Board:
- To become a licensed professional, you must complete 60 class/clock hours of a Board-approved Pre-License Course(PDF) and pass both the state and national components of the test.
Broker Pre-License Education
You must meet the following requirements in order to be licensed as a real estate broker by the Real Estate Board:
- Successfully complete 180 class/clock hours of Board-approved Pre-License Courses (PDF), pass both the state and national components of the broker test, and provide documentation of experience (actively employed as a salesman for 36 of the 48 months preceding application).
A broker pre-license education course that is equivalent to a course recognized by the Board and is provided by an accredited university, college, community college, or other school or educational institution may be accepted for credit. Each course must have a minimum of 45 class/clock hours or 3 semester hours to be counted. To be approved for the course, you must provide proof of course completion, which includes a supervised final written test. You must finish a Real Estate Brokerage training program.
- Property Abstracting
- Real Estate Contract Law
- Real Estate Economics
- Real Estate Feasibility Analysis
- Real Estate Investments
- Real Estate Math
- Real Estate Property Management
- Real Estate Property Law
- SIR/SIOR designation
- CCIM designation
- CRB designation
- GRI designation
- CCIM designation Law of Business
- Business Ethics
- Business Law
- Business Commercial mortgage lending, land planning and use, and urban development are some of the specializations available.
It is important to note that courses completed to fulfill continuing education requirements are not accepted for pre-license credit in Virginia. Any real estate principles course taken for licensure as a salesperson is not acceptable as a pre-licensing education course for brokers. For verification of broker pre-license courses, original or certified copies of transcripts are required to be submitted. For reciprocal candidates from other states, a chart of Broker Pre-License Education Credit (PDF) is available.
Coronavirus (COVID-19) – PSI Test Centers in Virginia – Important Notice Fingerprinting Services: The Department of Public Safety (DPOR) now offers two more fingerprinting service options: PSI exam locations and Fieldprint services.
- From 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m., fingerprinting services are available at PSI exam venues. There is no need to make an appointment
- Simply locate a location near you. Livescan fingerprinting is available at Fieldprint locations around Virginia, where license applicants can go to get their fingerprints taken.
- Fieldprint requires that candidates arrange an appointment on the company’s website at in order to utilize the service. More information on the Fieldprint scheduling procedure may be found here.
|Exam Vendor||PSI(855) 340-3910|
|Frequency and Dates of Exam||DailyContactPSI(855) 340-3910|
|Deadline for Application||No application deadline.Allow two weeks for processing of exam application.|
|Exam Fees(paid directly to PSI)||$60|
|Exam Locations||CharlottesvilleRichmondRoanokeViennaVirginia BeachJohnson City, TN*Salisbury, MD**NOTE: Test sites located outside Va. are not able to do electronic fingerprinting.|
|Questions About Exam Scheduling or Registration?||Contact PSI at (855) 340-3910 or.|
|Other Questions?||Contact the Board office at (804) 367-8526 [email protected]|
How To Get A Real Estate License In Virginia In 6 Easy Steps
Obtaining a Virginia real estate license may appear to be a difficult task, but we are here to assist you throughout the process. Continue reading to discover about the six steps you’ll need to do before you can begin your real estate profession in the Commonwealth of Virginia. To find out how much it will cost you to obtain your real estate license in Virginia, please see our Virginia Pre-Licensing Pricing page. Purchase your Virginia Pre-Licensing Certificate »
To begin, you must do the following:
- Be at least 18 years old
- Possess a high school certificate or an equivalent qualification
Complete 60 hours of approved Pre-Licensing education.
- Complete 60 clock hours of pre-licensing salesperson courses that have been authorized by the state. Find out more about the many package options available to you here. If you currently hold a valid license in another jurisdiction and wish to get a Virginia real estate license, please consult the Virginia Real Estate Board website for information on the particular education and examination requirements.
Pass the course final exam.
- After you have completed all of the course materials, you will be required to take the course final exam. The passing mark is 75 percent, which is the bare minimum. It is necessary for you to take each final in the presence of a proctor, which means you will need to make an appointment with a proctor ahead of time. Learn more about our online proctoring services by visiting this page.
Pass the Virginia real estate salesperson exam.
- PSI is in charge of administering the Virginia real estate salesperson license examination. This 120-question exam is divided into two sections, each of which covers both state and national requirements in the 150 minutes allocated for completion. You will be given 105 minutes to complete 80 national questions and 45 minutes to complete 40 state questions on the exam. Please refer to the PSI candidate information bulletin for further information on this topic. It is necessary to provide a digital photograph of the candidate in order to sit for the PSI test. The specifics and methods for fulfilling this criterion may be found at this link. When it comes to preparing for your Virginia real estate test, The CE Shop also offers thorough Exam Prep that is specialized to the state of Virginia.
Complete fingerprint requirement.
- For those who live in Virginia, you must get your fingerprints taken at one of the PSI testing centers in the state. It is still strongly recommended that you get your fingerprints taken at a Virginia PSI testing center, even if you do not live in Virginia. Within 45 days, a full application must be submitted to the board, or else fingerprints will have to be taken again at an extra cost.
Select a sponsoring broker.
To get licensed in Virginia, you must first be affiliated with a current and active sponsoring broker in the state. You must be affiliated with a licensed real estate business or single proprietorship in order to get an active license upon submitting your application. It’s critical to choose the proper broker to work with since this individual will act as your mentor as you begin your new real estate career. Here are some questions to think about as you begin your search:
- What is their standing in the community, both locally and nationally
- It is unclear what type of real estate agents the company is seeking. Are they technologically sophisticated and up to date with the most recent systems available? The manner in which they assist their agents with education and training. Does the brokerage give their agents with leads and marketing materials? Is there space for advancement within the organization? Are there any advantages available?
Complete the application.
- As soon as you have fulfilled all of the prerequisites, you must complete and send your entire application packet.
DOWNLOAD THE PROCEDURES »
Get Your License Online
The online platform, self-paced courses, and high levels of student satisfaction are just a few of the factors that distinguish The CE Shop as the finest in real estate education.
Take the first step toward a successful real estate career right now! GET YOUR LICENSE »
How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Virginia
Real estate is a popular career choice for people who want a flexible profession with infinite development possibilities, such as empty nesters. A Realtor is in charge of his or her own business, in which he or she can devote as much time and effort as they like. The following are the five stages you must accomplish in order to obtain your Virginia real estate license. Make sure to visit ourhow to become a real estate agentpage for more information on how to get started. Get Things Started
Five Steps to Becoming a Real Estate Agent in Virginia
Make sure you’re prepared for both the advantages and the hazards of owning and operating your own real estate company. Attending a career seminar at your local Long Foster office may be an excellent idea. Schedule a private, confidential appointment with one of our recruitment colleagues, who will be able to answer any questions you may have about the position. Virginia requires 60 hours of instruction, which can be completed in a traditional classroom setting or online. For additional information, contact the LongFoster Institute of Real Estate.
- In order to sell real estate in Virginia, you must first obtain permission from a licensed broker to connect with his or her agency.
- It is the responsibility of the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation to issue licenses in the state.
- If your application is granted, you will be able to work as a real estate agent in Virginia.
- After your first closing, you will be compensated for the real estate school tuition and book fees you paid.
- Obtaining your driver’s license is merely the beginning of your journey.
- Because of this, selecting a brokerage that provides all you need to progress beyond the fundamentals, or, if you’re moving from another brokerage, everything you need to further your career is extremely crucial.
- By beginning your real estate career with LongFoster, you will be establishing a connection between your company and one of the most well-known and renowned real estate brands in the Northeast and Mid-Atlantic.
- No other brokerage in our areas brings together as many buyers and sellers as we do, and our agents get the benefits of our global network.
- If this seems like something you’d be interested in becoming a part of, please contact us to learn more.
- When working with LongFoster, a real estate profession entails much more than simply showing homes and negotiating transactions.
LongFoster. It’s all for the love of home. Take a look at the advantages of being a LongFoster Real Estate agent and learn about the contributions you’ll make as part of the LongFoster team.
How to Get a Real Estate License in Virginia
To pursue a real estate profession in Virginia Beach, Norfolk, Chesapeake, Richmond, Arlington, or any other city in the state, you must first get a Virginia real estate license. To get a Virginia real estate license, you must be at least 18 years old, complete 60 hours of authorized coursework, pass the Virginia salesperson licensing test, submit to fingerprints and a background check, and submit an application for a state license. As a real estate agent, you must follow a procedure that is similar in most states, but each state has its own set of processes that must be followed.
Step 1: Be at Least 18 Years of Age
You must be at least 18 years old, a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted immigrant, and possess a high school diploma or its equivalent.
Step 2: Register and Complete the 60 Hours of Required Education
You must finish 60 hours of Real Estate Principles courses that have been authorized by the DPOR Board. On the DPOR’s website, you may get further information. Choose the Virginia Salesperson Licensing Package that is most appropriate for your needs from our extensive collection of Virginia Salesperson Licensing Courses.
View Licensing Packages
If you do not have a license in another state, you must apply to take the national and state components of the examination. You may learn more about how to register by visiting the Candidate Information Bulletin provided by the Board’s vendor. Students studying Real Estate Education at Kaplan may be certain that they will be well-prepared for the test when they complete their studies. It is recommended that you prepare using our Virginia Exam Prep packages if your registration does not include exam preparation.
Step 4: Complete Your Fingerprinting and Background Check
All candidates for a Virginia real estate license are required to submit to fingerprinting. You must go to one of the PSI Virginia locations and get your electronic fingerprints taken. If your license application is complete, it must be received by the Real Estate Board within 45 calendar days after submission. For more information, please see www.psiexams.com. Thank you for your interest.
Step 5: Apply for Your Virginia Real Estate Salesperson Licensing
Printing, signing, and mailing your application (which may be accessed on the Department of Public Works’s website) is the final step to complete the process. A license cannot be awarded unless your application is 100 percent correct and full, with all questions completed and all documents and fees attached, as well as a background check that is no more than 45 days old, among other requirements. The Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation website has detailed information on the licensure application procedure, which may be found at the following address:
FREE eBook: Launching Your Real Estate Career
If you could sit down with a room full of accomplished real estate experts and ask them for career guidance, wouldn’t it be fantastic? We asked numerous established real estate professionals what they wished they had known before earning their license and beginning their careers, as well as what they believe all aspiring real estate professionals should know.
We received a lot of great responses. We compiled all of their suggestions into a comprehensive eBook that is filled with value. E-book available for free download
Virginia State Requirements: Salesperson
Pre-licensing hours required by the state of Virginia are 60 hours. Real Estate Express Virginia Course Hours Available: 60 hours Total Course Time: 60 hours APPLY RIGHT NOW! The following are the prerequisites for obtaining a Virginia real estate license as specified by the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation Real Estate Board:
- To qualify, you must be at least 18 years old and possess a high school certificate or GED.
Step 2.Complete a 60-hour Virginia real estate pre-license course that has been approved by the state. Obtain a passing score of 70 percent or higher on the national component of the Virginia real estate license test and a score of 75 percent or higher on the state portion of the examination to complete Step 3. The fourth step is to submit fingerprints for a criminal background check. Step 5: Submit an application for a Virginia salesperson’s license. Step 6.Complete a minimum of 30 hours of authorized post-licensing education.
How long does it take to get a Virginia real estate license?
Time required to obtain a Virginia real estate license varies depending on the pace at which you complete the 60 hours of pre-licensing coursework and pass your licensing examination, the amount of time required to complete the application process, and the amount of time required to complete the background check and application processing.
What kind of information will I learn to help me get a real estate license in Virginia?
All Real Estate Express Courses have been authorized by the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation Real Estate Board, which is the state’s licensing authority. The Virginia Real Estate License Exam will be available to you once you have finished the course requirements. According to Real Estate Express rules, students have six (6) months to finish each course inside the company. Once you have gained access to your course, you have six months to complete it. Your course final exam must be proctored according to state regulations.
Please see this link for more information on the proctoring procedure.
EXPLORE THE COURSES AND PACKAGES
How do I apply for and take the Virginia Salesperson licensing examination?
You can register for your examination and plan a time for it at www.psiexams.com. Once Real Estate Express has submitted your data to PSI, you will be notified. You may register for and arrange an examination on the Internet at any time of day or night. You will be prompted to pick the examination and input the ID number that Real Estate Express has provided to you. To be eligible to apply for licensure, you must pass both components of the test by answering a minimum of 56 questions correctly on the national portion and 30 questions correctly on the state portion of the exam.
Please see this link for more information on the proctoring procedure.
If all papers and payments are not submitted within one (1) year of the original examination date, you will be required to repeat the component or portions of the test that have expired.
How do I submit my fingerprints for the background check?
A set of fingerprints must be submitted to the Virginia Central Criminal Records Exchange before an application for a Virginia real estate license may be submitted for the purpose of completing a state and national fingerprint-based criminal history record check. At one of the PSI Virginia locations during regular testing hours, you will be fingerprinted using an electronic device. As soon as the fingerprinting is completed, the license application must be received by the Board within 45 days after receipt of the fingerprint results, otherwise the applicant will be required to pay for another fingerprinting session before a license may be awarded.
How do I submit my Virginia Salesperson application?
Within one (1) year of completing the licensure examination, you must submit a completed application together with the appropriate cost to the Commission. A license cannot be given unless all of the following requirements have been met:
- All of your queries have been answered
- All required documents, as well as the price, is attached. a background check that is no more than 45 days old
Does Virginia require post-licensing education?
The completion of authorized 30 hours of post-licensing education by all current new salesperson licensees within one (1) year of receiving their license must be completed by the last day of the month in which the license was issued in order to maintain active status. Failure to complete these 30 hours of post-licensing education within one (1) year of receiving the license will result in the license being placed on inactive status automatically. New salespeople are not obliged to participate in continuing education during their initial two-year licensing term.
- Fair Housing, the Americans with Disabilities Act, and Civil Rights (2 hours)
- Real Estate Law and Regulations (6 hours)
- Ethics and Standards of Conduct (3 hours)
- Current Industry Issues and Trends (2 hours)
- Agency Law (3 hours)
- Contract Writing (6 hours)
- Risk Management (3 hours)
- Escrow Requirements (3 hours)
- Real Estate-Related Finance (2 hours)
- Fair Housing, the Americans with Disabilities Act, and Civil Rights (2 hours)
Course completions are submitted twice a week, on Tuesdays and Fridays, as part of the course roster process. We report completions on Tuesdays, starting with the preceding Friday and continuing through the following Monday. On Fridays, we report completions from the preceding Tuesday through Thursday of the prior week. Get started right away with Real Estate Express’ 30-hour post-license training in Virginia. CHECK OUT AFTER-LICENSE EDUCATION
Does Virginia offer reciprocity?
Applicants for a salesperson license must meet the following requirements:
- Possess a valid salesperson’s license in another jurisdiction
- Obtain a license by mail or fax, and then complete and pass the state component of the test. Submit documentation demonstrating successful completion of the 60-hour pre-license training. Obtain certification from other jurisdictions where you are licensed and submit it to us
Licensure certification from another state must be dated fewer than 60 days from the date the completed application is received in order to be considered. Certifications of licensure are necessary from all states in which the applicant is now or has previously had a real estate broker’s license.
Certificate of Course Completion: Upon successful completion of the course, Real Estate Express will present you with an electronic certificate of completion that will be accessible on your account dashboard. Because course completion dates are recorded in Central Standard Time, the time shown on your certificate will be the same as the time shown on your certificate. The course completion roster is updated following proctor verification and within 5 days after the course’s conclusion.
Roster Every 1 day, a message is sent. Call the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation Real Estate Board at 804-367-8500 or 866-350-7849 or visit their website. Address: 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233EN, United States GET STARTED RIGHT NOW
How to Become a Realtor in Virginia
Learn more about real estate license and take advantage of exclusive discounts. Especially in Virginia, where real estate agents earn more money than the typical American agent, real estate is a widely sought-after professional choice. The advantages of working as a real estate agent include the ability to choose your own hours and the satisfaction that comes from assisting your neighbors in finding their ideal homes. There are just a few job options that have an endless earning potential without the need for a college degree to pursue them.
As a result, we want to demonstrate what it takes to begin your new job.
What Is a Realtor®?
Despite the fact that the phrases “real estate agent” and “Realtor” are sometimes used interchangeably, they are not the same thing. A real estate agent is someone who holds a state-issued license to conduct real estate sales transactions. As a member of the National Association of Realtors, a realtor represents buyers and sellers in real estate transactions (NAR). However, not every Realtor is a real estate agent, and not every real estate agent is a Realtor.
Why Become a Realtor?
A Realtor is similar to a real estate agent on the next level. The RealtorCode of Ethics, which involves higher ethical standards and practices, is something that they are dedicated to in addition to being licensed by the state to practice real estate. The most significant advantage of being a Realtor is that knowledgeable buyers and sellers prefer to work with Realtors rather than real estate salespeople. Agents who wish to demonstrate to prospective customers that they are serious about real estate take the extra step of joining the National Association of Realtors (NAR) and becoming an official Realtor.
Is There a Downside to Becoming a Realtor?
The annual fees associated with being a Realtor are a disadvantage. The advantages described above are not given away for free! Because local Associations determine their own dues levels, the overall sums vary from area to region. For the year 2020, every Realtor in Virginia will pay $180 in National Association of Realtors dues, plus $170 in Virginia Association of Realtors dues, plus whatever dues the local Association imposes.
Is Being a Realtor Mandatory?
It is totally up to you whether or not you choose to pursue a career as a Realtor. A license to practice real estate in Virginia, on the other hand, is required for those who desire to work in the industry. To begin, let’s speak about how to become a licensed Virginia real estate agent before getting into the specifics of how to become an agent in the state of Virginia.
Before You Become a Realtor, You Must Become a Virginia Real Estate Agent
Achieving the status of licensed Virginia real estate agent puts you approximately 95% of the way toward being a licensed Realtor in Virginia. The following are the seven stages you’ll need to complete in order to obtain your Virginia real estate license. 1. Comply with the fundamental qualifying standards Completing your pre-licensing course is step two.
Step three is to apply for your test. 4. Pass the examination 5. Locate a broker. 6. Have your fingerprints taken 7. Submit an application for a Virginia Salesperson License. Each stage will be discussed in further detail below.
Step 1: Meet the basic qualification requirements
Individuals who wish to become licensed as a Virginia real estate agent must meet a few basic qualifications set out by the state’s Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR). To be eligible, you must meet the following requirements:
- To qualify, you must be at least 18 years old and possess a high school certificate or GED. Be a citizen of the United States or have the legal right to live and work in the United States
- Be a person of high moral integrity
Providing you can check those boxes, you can on to studying more about your new field of expertise.
Step 2: Complete your pre-licensing education
It is not essential to have a college degree in order to become a Virginia real estate agent, but you must finish 60 hours of real estate education via an accredited source recognized by the Virginia DPOR Board. Your curriculum will address the fundamental real estate ideas and practices that you will need to grasp in order to be successful in the real estate industry. Several factors should be considered while selecting an educational provider, including the following:
- Is it possible to take classes online? Online courses allow you to learn at your own pace and on your own time. Is the content going to be sufficient to prepare you for the exam? AceableAgent, for example, is so certain in their material’s ability to prepare you for the test that they give a “Ace or Don’t Pay Guarantee.” AceableAgent will reimburse your education expenditures if you do not pass the test after three attempts. Does the company provide you with fair value for your money? You may receive a simple electronic textbook from some suppliers, whilst others may supply you with entertaining video content and free practice exams. Costs and curriculum should be compared. What level of accessibility does the coursework have? Is it necessary to remain at home in front of your computer to study, or can you learn on the move using your smartphone? Before making a decision, spend some time comparing different service providers.
Step 3: Apply for your exam
After completing your schooling, you’ll be ready to start thinking about taking the real estate licensing exam. PSI Exams Online is responsible for administering the Virginia real estate licensing examinations. Before you may sit for your test, you must first submit an application to sit for the exam. By making an account on the PSI website, you will be able to apply for your exam, pay the $60 exam cost, and schedule your exam in real time. In some cases, processing applications for the test might take up to two weeks.
This bulletin even informs you of the number of test questions that will be asked from each area, which may assist you in focusing your study time!
Step 4: Pass the exam
The Virginia real estate salesperson license test consists of 120 questions (40 state-specific questions and 80 national questions), which must be completed in 150 minutes (you have up to 45 minutes to finish the state section and up to 105 minutes to complete the national portion of the exam). Exams are available in Charlottesville, Richmond, Roanoke, Vienna, and Virginia Beach, among other cities. The Virginia real estate licensing examination is not straightforward! In fact, approximately 55% of those who attempt the exam fail it.
Before you sit for your exam, you’ll want to put in a lot of practice time.
You have the option to reapply to take the test again.
Step 5: Get fingerprinted
Another fast errand: applicants for a Virginia real estate license must be fingerprinted at a PSI site in order to be subjected to a criminal history check. Even if you have a felony conviction on your record, you are not automatically disqualified from receiving your driver’s license. Before deciding whether or not to accept or decline your application, the DPOR will very certainly require further information concerning your conviction. If it is more convenient for you, you can have your fingerprints taken at the exam location while you are there for your test.
There is no need to make an appointment; you may simply stroll in.
Just remember that once you’ve submitted your fingerprints, you’ll be put on a timer. Because these fingerprints are only valid for 45 days, you’ll want to finish the rest of the license application procedure before they become invalid.
Step 6: Find a broker
Once you have passed your test, the most difficult portion is behind you! You may now devote your time and energy to your next real estate endeavors. When it comes to becoming a Virginia Realtor, one of the most crucial decisions you’ll make is which broker to work with. Real estate salespeople in Virginia are expected to operate under the supervision of a Virginia real estate broker who is licensed to do business in the state. But there’s more to it than that. Your broker will also serve as a mentor to you while you learn how to operate your new company.
Learn about the office culture, broker expectations, whether or not training is offered, and the structure of the commission splits before applying.
Make sure you are not automatically selecting the broker that gives the best commission split.
Step 7: Apply for your Virginia Salesperson License
After you’ve chosen your broker, you’ll be able to submit your application for your Virginia real estate salesperson license. Then, together with your needed papers and the $170 application fee, you must submit the Virginia DPOR Real Estate Salesperson License Application. To ensure that your application is handled and your license is issued on time, please allow up to three weeks. While you’re waiting for your real estate license, you might want to start building your network so that you can get started right away once you have it.
There is no restriction on your ability to represent buyers and sellers in real estate transactions and earn a fee for your services.
Taking the Extra Step to Become a Realtor
All of the hard work has been completed! All that is left for you to do to become an official Virginia Realtor is to become a member of your local chapter of the National Association of Realtors. Simply complete the application for membership and pay your new membership dues to become a member. By becoming a member of your local association, you will instantly become a member of the Virginia Realtors as well as the National Association of Realtors (NAR). Congratulations, you are now officially licensed as a Realtor in Virginia!
retains ownership of all intellectual property rights.
How to Get a Real Estate License In Virginia
Documentation Download Documentation Download Documentation Virginia real estate is a diversified market, with seaside houses, rural farms, and high-rise condominiums outside of Washington, D.C. among the options available to buyers.
Sales professionals who are interested in earning a real estate license in Virginia have a plethora of possibilities. Get your Virginia real estate license by completing the needed courses, passing the real estate test, and furthering your education in the field of real estate brokerage.
- 1 Become familiar with the criteria. You should be aware that each state has its own set of regulations for those who wish to become real estate agents in Virginia before you can begin the application process. In order to become a real estate agent in Virginia, you must meet the following requirements:
- You must be at least 18 years old. Have a high school diploma or an equivalent qualification, such as a GED
- Completing the state and national PSI examinations, which are administered by the Virginia real estate board’s testing service
- Have satisfactorily completed 60 hours of course work on the concepts of real estate, which has been authorized by Virginia’s Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation
- Have submitted an application and paid the required fee
- 2 Locate and enroll in courses that have been authorized. It is necessary to complete 60 hours of specified study before you can sit for the real estate test and have a chance of passing it.
- Check with the DPOR, the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, to ensure that the course you plan to enroll in has been approved. If this is not the case, the 60 hours you have completed will not qualify you to sit for the PSI test. The course should make it clear that it has been approved by the Department of Public Safety, and you may check the DPOR website for a list of approved curriculum. If you are still undecided, call the DPOR during business hours and inquire about the course you are contemplating
- The courses you enroll in will offer you with a fundamental understanding of real estate practices, rules, and policies, as well as the fundamentals of sales, negotiations, and closings. Aside from that, you’ll learn real estate terminology and arithmetic
- You can choose to attend classes online or in person, depending on your desire. On the one hand, online courses can save time and money, but on the other hand, they need more self-motivation than in-person classes. In-person classes are sometimes more expensive and time-consuming to attend, but many people think that face-to-face interactions are the most beneficial in a learning setting.
- s3 Acquire hands-on experience in the field. While you’re completing the necessary courses, which might take a long time, you should aim to gain some practical experience in the sector. This will provide you with an insight into the business, allowing you to determine whether it is the best fit for you before beginning your career.
- Take a real estate internship or office position with a real estate business. This way, you may create a connection in your profession – which may lead to future employment opportunities – and acquire a sense for the real estate industry. Inquire with a real estate agent about the possibility of shadowing them for a day or a week. As a result, you may gain essential on-the-job experience that will help you further your professional goals.
- 4 Participate in the preparation for the test. The chances are that you will feel underprepared for the test even after you have completed your training. The test is thorough and follows a precise structure, and understanding the format might be just as important as learning the subject itself in order to pass.
- Prepare for the exam by doing research. The chances are that you will feel underprepared for the test even after completing your training are high. Learning how to navigate the exam’s extensive and unique structure might be just as important as knowing the subject itself in order to pass it effectively.
- 1 Submit an application to sit for the exam. First and foremost, you must be approved by the Real Estate Board in order to enroll in a state-certified PSI test. A minor application fee, normally in the range of $50 to $60, will be needed of you in order to ensure that the course work you completed was authorized by the Department of Public Instruction (DPOR).
- In Virginia, there is no application deadline for taking the exam because exams are conducted on a daily basis. Approximately two weeks will be required to complete the processing of your application.
- 2 Arrange for a time and location for your exam. Once your application has been accepted, you will be able to sit for the real estate examination. Exams for the Professional Standards Institute (PSI) are conducted on a daily basis at several sites around Virginia. To contact the PSI center, which is available 24 hours a day, dial 1-800-733-9267. The PSI center will assist you in determining a time and place that is convenient for you and your schedule. The following are the locations:
- Charlottesville, Falls Church, Richmond, Roanoke, Tyson’s Corner, Virginia Beach, Johnson City, TN, and Salisbury, MD are just a few of the cities on the list.
- 3 Be familiar with the exam’s procedure. What you may and cannot do during the real estate examination is governed by strict guidelines. Before you enter the exam room, be sure you are familiar with the regulations.
- You should plan to be at the exam center at least 30 minutes before the scheduled time. This additional time is utilized for sign-in and identification purposes alone. You must supply two kinds of identification that are both current and valid. During the exam, personal electronic devices, personal goods such as notebooks and bags, as well as headgear and visors, are not permitted. During the test, there is no time for conversation. All that is permitted are non-programmable calculators that are both quiet and battery driven. During the exam, you are not permitted to leave the room. During the exam, you are not authorized to smoke, eat, or drink anything.
- 4 Take the Virginia Real Estate Exam to find out if you qualify. Both the national real estate examination and the Virginia examination will be administered. You’ll need to get passing ratings on both tests.
- If you already have a valid real estate license from another state, you can skip the Virginia component entirely. Expect around 120 questions, all of which must be answered in approximately 2.5 hours. Before you begin the test, you will be shown a quick tutorial that will teach you how to operate the computer during the examination. You were given a maximum of 15 minutes to view the tutorial. That time does not count against your total time spent taking the exam, so be sure to thoroughly follow the instructions. Multiple choice questions have four potential answers, and each question has four possible responses.
- 1 Achieve a passing grade on your examination. Passing the test is required in order to be qualified to apply for a license
- Otherwise, you will not be eligible.
- A passing score on the national component of the test is a minimum of 56 points, and a minimum of 30 points on the state portion is also required. If you take the exam on a computer, you will receive your score very immediately after finishing it. A notice indicating you have passed will be sent out to you if you have passed. If you do not pass, you will receive a notification that you did not pass, as well as diagnostic information about your strengths and weaknesses that you may use to prepare for a retake of the examination. You have the option to arrange retesting at any time. If you choose to take the exam on paper, you will be given an official report at the examination center
- Otherwise, you will not be given an official report.
- 2Submit to a background check and fingerprinting procedure. Before you may apply for your license, you must submit to a fingerprint and criminal background check. Electronic fingerprinting should be performed at one of the testing locations, and after this is completed, as well as the subsequent background check, the fingerprints are valid for 45 days after they are taken. Make use of this opportunity to submit your application. 3Submit an application for your license. Once you have passed the test and completed the background check, you must submit an application to the Board of Real Estate in order to get an official license to practice real estate in your state. Alternatively, you can acquire an application in person by visiting your local branch of the board, or you can obtain an application online by visiting the DPOR website. To apply, you must complete and submit an application. Application must be filed within one year after completing the test, but the sooner the better because your background check and fingerprinting are only valid for 45 days after passing. Advertisement
- 1 Be aware of your rights and obligations in this situation. Licensed real estate agents in Virginia are permitted to join a variety of real estate boards around the state, have access to special databases for real estate brokers, and are authorized to advertise properties for sale as well as purchase and sell them for a profit. It is necessary, however, that you adhere to the norms of behavior established by the real estate board.
- During the application procedure, as well as while renewing your license, you must disclose any felony or misdemeanor convictions. Establish and maintain an honest, sincere, and fair-dealing reputation
- 2 Enroll in a pre-licensing course approved by the board within your first year of practice. Within one year of acquiring their license, all new salespeople are required to attend a 30-hour board-approved training course. This package has eight classes, which are as follows:
- Current industry issues and trends (2 hours)
- Agency law (3 hours)
- Contract writing (6 hours)
- Risk management (3 hours)
- Escrow requirements (3 hours)
- Fair housing, the Americans with Disabilities Act, and civil rights (2 hours)
- Fair housing, the Americans with Disabilities Act, and civil rights (2 hours).
- 3 Completion of 16 hours of continuing education is mandatory. Once you’ve been in the game for a while, you’ll be expected to complete 16 hours of continuing education in order to maintain your license when the time comes to renew your license. Eight of those credit hours are optional, while the remaining eight must be chosen from among the following options:
- Ethical and professional standards of conduct (3 hours)
- Fair housing (2 hours)
- Legal updates and emerging trends (one hour)
- Real estate agency (1 hour)
- Real estate contracts (one hour)
- And other topics.
Create a new question
- Question Even if I’ve been found guilty of a crime, am I still eligible to obtain a real estate license? The board waived the criminal conviction of a person I am acquainted with. He only needed a realtor-mentor to oversee his work for the first two years
- After that, he was on his own. Question If I pass one portion of the test but fail the other, do I have to retake both sections or only the section that I failed to pass the first time? You simply have to retake the portion in which you failed the first time. The charge, on the other hand, is reassessed each time you sit for the test, regardless of whether you take both sections or simply one
- Question If I currently hold a real estate license in another state, what procedures do I need to do in order to obtain a license in Virginia as well? In the event that you already hold a real estate license in Virginia, you must sit for the state’s licensing test.
Inquire about something There are 200 characters remaining. Include your email address so that you may be notified when this question has been resolved. SubmitAdvertisement
- If you hold a real estate license from another state, you should contact the Virginia Real Estate Board. You will only be required to sit for one section of the test. A Virginia license is preferred by many agents in Maryland, Pennsylvania, and Washington, D.C. since the metro D.C. area encompasses a large number of states. As soon as you make the decision to pursue a career in Virginia real estate, you should register with a local broker or agency. When you work for an agency, you will not only receive assistance with studying for and passing the exam, but you will also have a place to work once you have your license.
About This Article
You must be at least 18 years old and possess a high school diploma or GED in order to be eligible for a real estate license in Virginia. When you have met all of the above prerequisites, you should enroll in the appropriate real estate courses that have been approved by the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR). The Virginia real estate board requires that you pass both the state and national tests once you have finished 60 hours of education. If you pass the exam, you will be able to fill out an application and submit it to the state to obtain your real estate license.
Did you find this overview to be helpful?
Did this article help you?
- You must be at least 18 years old. Be in possession of a high school diploma or a certificate of equivalent
- Complete a 60-hour license course that has been authorized
- Clearing the Virginia State Licensing Examination
- Fill out the application
- There is a $170.00 application fee
- Applicants for initial licensure are required to submit to a background investigation. Submit your application within 45 days of receiving the results of your background check.
- (800) 733-9267
- $60 exam fee
- National and State portions
- Exam [email protected] (800) 733-9267
- It is the final day of the month in which their license was granted that their license will expire, which is two (2) years. When renewing their licenses for the first time, salespersons are obliged to complete 30 hours of post-licensing education, regardless of whether their licenses are currently active or inactive. Continuing Education is required of all active salespeople throughout each licensing period, and a total of 16 hours must be completed. There are 8 needed hours in each of the disciplines listed below out of the total of 16 hours:
- 3 hours – Ethical and Professional Standards of Conduct
- 2 hours will be devoted to Fair Housing
- 1 hour will be devoted to Legal Updates and Emerging Trends. Time commitment of 1 hour – Real Estate Agency. 1 hour – Contracts for Real Estate
Requirements – Act Web Real Estate School
Here is a super-short description of the fundamental prerequisites for obtaining a real estate license in the Commonwealth of Virginia. You must be at least 18 years old and possess a high school diploma or an equivalent qualification. You must finish and pass a pre-license course that has been approved by the state. Then you must pass the salesperson licensing test, which is given by PSI Exams, to obtain your license. After passing the PSI test, you would meet with a broker of your choosing and submit your license application to the Real Estate Board together with the broker.
- This is a simple description of the situation.
- You are not need to reside in Virginia in order to obtain a real estate license.
- Please let us know if you have any queries.
- It has reading sections, unit assessments (practice examinations) for each topic in both the national and Virginia state parts, as well as a summary page for each subject in the national and Virginia state parts.
- Our teacher can meet with you in a library near you or at his office in Reston, Virginia, to complete this task.
- After that, you must register with a broker of your choosing in order to obtain your license.
- You are now qualified to work as a Virginia real estate agent.
Paul Hartke, our licensed teacher, is also a broker (in Virginia, Maryland, and DC) and a lawyer in the state of Virginia.
The rules and regulations are shown below.
The following is the whole legislation, which includes all of the qualifications to become a real estate agent in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
VAC 135-20-30 (VAC 18) Every applicant for an individual salesperson’s or broker’s license who submits an application to the Real Estate Board must meet the following requirements: 1.
Obtaining a passing grade in all needed courses of 54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia prior to the time the applicant sits for the licensing examination and applies for licensure is sufficient proof of compliance with the current educational standards.
The applicant must be in good standing as a licensed real estate broker or salesperson in every jurisdiction in which he or she is licensed, and the applicant must not have held a license as a real estate broker or salesperson that has been suspended, revoked, or surrendered in connection with a disciplinary action, or that has been the subject of discipline, in any jurisdiction, prior to applying for licensure in Virginia.
A criminal record that includes all felony convictions throughout his life.
If a court issues a record of a conviction, the record should be considered as prima facie evidence of a conviction or judgment of guilt.
Note from the instructor: On the license application, you must identify specific sorts of crimes that you have committed within the last five years.
The decision is made by the Real Estate Board based on the information you provided.
Within 12 months after submitting a completed application for a license, the applicant must have successfully completed a written examination administered by the board or a testing organization operating on the board’s behalf.
This is a distinct course from any pre-licensing requirements.
Failure to adhere to all of the procedures specified with regard to conduct at the examination may result in the application being turned down for consideration.
Applications for licensing that do not fulfill the standards of subdivisions 3 and 4 of this section may be authorized for licensure after the board has given them due consideration.
Okay, so the fundamentals are as follows: complete the online course, pass the course exam, and then sit for the PSI exam.
Please get in touch with us if you have any fundamental inquiries about your qualifications.
He is available to answer any questions or address any additional problems.
The Virginia Real Estate Board may be reached by phone at 804-367-8526.
More information about the online pre-license course may be found here. Alternatively, you may visit the registration pages to register and begin the course. Act Web Real Estate School is located in Reston, Virginia and can be reached at 703-476-1747.